We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal B&B in NOLA” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chimes Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chimes Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #13 of 138 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
princeton, nj
2 reviews
“Ideal B&B in NOLA”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

I had been on the road for a week - the return run from driving my son to college in TX from NJ - by the time I got to The Chimes. To save me from having to drive back alone, a friend met up with me in TX for the drive home. We decided to spend a couple of days in NOLA rather than pounding home in three straight days. I wanted to make it a nice stay since she was doing me a HUGE favor, and because it was my only 2 days of true vacation for the summer. Our accommodations needed to provide space and comfort. The Chimes definitely delivered.

I called to reserve the loft room, but that had been taken just an hour before my call. Jill assured me that there was another room that would be fine for us, but a regular had already booked it. Jill went to the trouble of contacting the guest to see if she could free up that room for us. Luckily the guest was gracious enough to take another (single) room. We had a queen bed and a day bed, which was perfect. The small space connecting the main room with the bath room added just enough breathing space for us to not feel crowded in. Plus the garden was just outside our door if we wanted privacy. The only negatives of the room are the a/c blowing directly onto the daybed, and there is no door separating the little "room", so light will shine into the main room.

The house is decorated beautifully. Definitely a period house, but with touches that make it fresh. Our bathroom was spacious and looked like it had been updated fairly recently. There was some mold on the caulk in the shower, but I imagine that is just life in a place like New Orleans. The room was very clean.

Jill is a very visible hostess. She made sure we were acclimated to the area, so finding restaurants and transportation was easy. She puts out a nice variation of food for breakfast, pastries, fruit, eggs, and once again she went above and beyond by making sure she had gluten-free bread on hand for me. Breakfast starts at 6:00a.m., so you can get an early start to the day, though the day we went at 6:00, not all the food was ready for the table. Once breakfast is set, she comes to the table for conversation.

The neighborhood is great. It's quiet but a three minute walk to life on Magazine Street. It felt very safe.

I highly recommend The Chimes.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ljml34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    17
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
67
160
20
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
nz
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

I have already recommended chimes b and b to my friend who will travel to new Orleans next year. gill made us feel welcome from the first email contact we made and she made our stay there amazing.
the rooms and the courtyard are just beautiful and the area was very close to transport which made exploring new Orleans easy.
everyone should make this place their home in new Orleans - thanks gill

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mari a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nolarain, Owner at Chimes Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Chimes with your lovely daughter and giving us a hearty "thumbs up"!!
Hope to see you again one day, maybe in Australia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

I could not have chosen a better 'home away from home' while in New Orleans.
Jill and Charles are welcoming and friendly. Jill's knowledge of the local area, restaurants, attractions etc was extremely helpful.

The rooms are lovely and the breakfasts are great - not only because of the wonderful food - but because of the interesting conversations with fellow guests. The location is excellent only a few blocks from the trolley car on St. Charles Avenue in one direction and Magazine Street, a lovely restaurant/gallery area, a few blocks in the other direction.

The courtyard is a lovely place to relax with a glass of wine. Little extras such as the guests fridge (based on an honesty system) and the restaurant guides in each room which contain Jill''s recommendations on local restaurants make The Chimes a hidden gem in New Orleans.

Definitely one of the best B&B's anywhere.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margot N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nolarain, Owner at Chimes Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you so much for appreciating our City and the Chimes. I'll be in your territory soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverview, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

We just returned from our first stay at the Chimes. Our room had just been renovated and was quite beautiful and very comfortable. Jill was a wonderful host and so knowledgeable on all aspects of New Orleans, her advice and recommendations were spot on! We flew in to town and did not rent a car. The trolley was just a few blocks from the Chimes and was great for getting around town, we did use taxi's a couple of times for some late evenings. It was so nice to be able to come back to such a quiet neighborhood after being downtown! There are several great restaurants within walking distance. Really enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nolarain, Owner at Chimes Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for posting such a nice review of the Chimes. We, too, enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

We just finished our third stay at The Chimes and each stay has been better than the next. In fact, we are bringing our two kids back in November for a fourth visit. It's great for a romantic visit, or for a family.

We love the location, love the rooms (which were nice before, but even better now recently renovated), love the food (bread and pastries from the best bakery in NOLA), and love our hosts.

Jill & Charles are great hosts who are eager to customize your stay to whatever you need/prefer. We look forward to seeing them almost as much as staying at The Chimes.

It's located in the beautiful garden district, close to the street car, or a rental car, or scooter rental (our preference - they're fun). Also close to some amazing places to eat - they'll give you great reccomendations.

Each room is different and has its own unique charm.

Can't reccomend The Chimes enough.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pnz400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

I just returned from my second visit to NOLA and once again The Chimes Bed and Breakfast did not disappoint it was lovely, that's two for two on the scorecard.
The breakfast is spot on, offering something for everyone from French pastries, cheeses, granola, fresh fruit, whole grain breads, jams, and even Marmite! Each room has it's own personal touch, the decor is lovely, the bed is very comfortable and the rooms are spotless. Jill suggested a few new restaurants which are within walking distance, Dominiques more of an upscale establishment with white tablecloths,a bit of NY flair and an interesting herb garden to Dat Dog a very creative hot dog venue with a good beer list both on tap and in bottles, both were great. If you're into cycling Mike's Bikes, a bike rental shop is just within a few blocks of the B&B, no need to go into town to rent a cruiser for a few hours. Without hesitation I would highly recommend this property. Jill and Charles are wonderful hosts, the location is perfect, it's quiet, relaxing, and all in all you will not be disappointed. I most certainly would book this property in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lacuoca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Maybe our expectations were just too high, but after reading all the 5-star ratings of this B&B, we expected it to be much nicer than it was! Yes, Jill was very helpful and is a wonderful host, and the breakfast was nice and tasty - delicious bread and pastries from a nearby bakery, fresh cut fruit, cheese, coffee & tea. It was close to the trolley stop (about 4 blocks to walk), but other areas around it (depending on the direction you walk) are a little "shady", so we didn't feel comfortable walking too far from the main path.

The room was not what we would call "well decorated", however. It did seem clean (linens and bathroom), but it is not maintained like it should be. The porch rail was not fastened at all on one end, and when I barely leaned against it, I almost fell! The street-side porch was not fixed up at all and a table was "stored" in the corner by the door (trashy looking - no chairs with it). The room needs some electrical repairs - the switch on the lamp does not work properly, the dimmer switch on the bathroom wall was hanging out (not sure if it even worked - I was afraid to touch it for fear of being electrocuted) and the lights over the bed do not go out completely when turned off (probably bad wiring), as they glowed all night, one more than the other. The furniture was all very old and two of the rugs are so worn that it looks like they are just plain dirty. After dinner, we tried to enjoy the courtyard, but within a minute, the mosquitos attacked (I realize - no fault of the B&B - but still annoying), so we were forced to go back inside and spend the evening inside the room.

We have stayed in many B&B's in the past, and I am sorry to say that I would have to rate this one as one of the worst. We couldn't wait to leave and do not plan on returning here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dlts123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nolarain, Owner at Chimes Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Debbie, we always appreciate constructive advise on improvements we can make at the Chimes B&B. We are actually closed for a month renovating our guest rooms and improving the spaces. We will take all your suggestions seriously. We wish you would have asked about the lights. It was unfortunate that you slept with them on when the switch was there along with the dimmer. If you want to give us another try in the future we would like the opportunity to make up for your disappointing experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Garden District
Henry Howard Hotel
Henry Howard Hotel
#2 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Garden District
Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District
Garden District
Best Western Plus St. Charles Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#3 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,884 reviews
Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast
#9 of 138 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
Garden District
Maison Perrier
Maison Perrier
#20 of 138 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chimes Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chimes Bed and Breakfast

Property: Chimes Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1146 Constantinople St., New Orleans, LA 70115-2759
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 138 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chimes Bed and Breakfast has been serving guests since 1986. The five individual guest rooms, with private entrances opening on to a tropical New Orleans style brick courtyard, are well appointed and comfortable. The Chimes is located in the residential Garden District/Uptown neighborhood where restaurants, coffee houses and shops are within walking distance. The owners are on site offering advise on restaurants,music and venues, tours, workout facilities and specific detailed information you need. Come home to the Chimes in New Orleans. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chimes b&b
Chimes Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing