We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in our favorite city”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chimes Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 139 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Baton Rouge, LA
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great stay in our favorite city”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Our two night stay at the Chimes was the perfect weekend get-away. Our room was cozy and the hospitality was second to none. This B&B is a safe 3-block walk to the St. Charles streetcar line and the quaint shops and restaurants on Magazine Street. The inn was clean and very well decorated. Kudos to Jill! We will definitely stay again on our next trip to wonderful New Orleans.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GloweBatonRouge_LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    17
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
73
167
21
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Spent 3 nights staying with Jill and Charles in their wonderful garden courtyard rooms. The bedroom was beautiful, the hosts generous and full of excellent advice about places to go and things to see. Loved the family-style breakfasts each morning (especially the almond croissants) and it felt like we were being welcomed into our own New Orleans home from home. Lots of lovely thoughtful touches (candy in the rooms, a drinks fridge in the courtyard, Jill's warm welcome and loan of a map and guidebook...) make this place very special. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jmtj87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nolarain, Owner at Chimes Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for that very nice review of the Chimes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biarritz, France
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

This was actually my second stay at Chimes and it was another lovely visit. After more than a decade of living in New Orleans, I moved abroad, but come back to visit every couple of years. It's a whirlwind of running around to meet people, so I prefer to stay in a hotel instead of bothering friends with my late comings and goings.

Chimes reminds me of my old apartment and it actually feels like staying in a friend's fabulous guestroom instead of a somewhat impersonal hotel experience. The location is great and the prices are even better.

I'll definitely be looking them up the next time that I visit NOLA.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patriciae206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nolarain, Owner at Chimes Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for considering us like "your home" in New Orleans. We appreciate you too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We loved our room. It was clean and cozy. The location is good and there are a lot of shops and restaurants within walking distance. Plus public transport is available. The breakfast were excellent and included fresh baked breads, fresh fruit and cheeses. We highly recommend this place and looking forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 9, 2013

My daughter and I stayed three nights, I could not have wished for a better place. We stayed in the room inside the house, and we felt like we were right at home only with all the amenities that were included. The owner and staff were so helpful and pleasant. I am so glad that we stayed in this charming neighborhood and experience the city from this point of view. I recommend the Chimes without exception!

Room Tip: Any room would be a. Good choice, for my daughter and I the room next to the kitchen was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nolarain, Owner at Chimes Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
It was great having you and your well traveled daughter stay at the Chimes B&B. Keep traveling together and having fun! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

This is the perfect place to stay in NOLA if you want to experience the city like a local, but have a respite from the hustle and bustle. It's conveniently located; no need to a car, you can walk or take the streetcar just about anywhere. Jill makes really great suggestions, whether it's restaurants or tours. Seriously, it's almost like you're home when you're there, but you're still treated like a guest! I really love this place and will stay there anytime I go to the Big Easy.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tx2tz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Last week I stayed at The Chimes B&B in New Orleans. A co-worker stays there frequently and she recommended it. This was such a nice treat for someone used to staying in generic business hotels at higher prices! It was perfect for our quick trip. Each of the three rooms we occupied was decorated beautifully and was very comfortable. Jill is the perfect hostess and had great recommendations for dinner and drinks. I can't wait to go back with my husband or a group of friends! The courtyard looks like the perfect place to have a glass of wine at the end of the day. I'm looking forward to doing that on my next trip!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eistanbulluoglu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Garden District
Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District
Garden District
Henry Howard Hotel
Henry Howard Hotel
#2 of 163 in New Orleans
242 reviews
Garden District
Best Western Plus St. Charles Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Pontchartrain Hotel
#5 of 163 in New Orleans
319 reviews
Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast
#9 of 139 in New Orleans
932 reviews
Garden District
Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast
Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast
#21 of 139 in New Orleans
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chimes Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chimes Bed and Breakfast

Property: Chimes Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1146 Constantinople St., New Orleans, LA 70115-2759
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 139 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where you stay in New Orleans, matters. The Chimes is a hidden gem just off St. Charles Avenue in the residential Garden District/Uptown neighborhood. Restaurants, coffee houses and shops are within walking distance of this unique, private spot. The owners are on site with a singular goal: to make you feel comfortable and at home in their city. Five private guest rooms open to a courtyard that is beautiful, quiet and speaks of historic New Orleans. Queen size beds, shiny hard wood floors, private bathrooms, full breakfast, no stairs, French doors, stocked refrigerator and oh, so much more. New Orleans has cachet and when you stay at the Chimes Bed and Breakfast, you will feel it. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chimes b&b
Chimes Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing