We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chimes Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 138 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Amherst, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent B&B”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We enjoyed the warmth and good company at Jill's breakfast table for 5 days. The fresh baked goodies from a local bakery, fresh fruit and coffee were delicious and were an excellent way to start the day. The Chimes is located in a wonderful quiet neighborhood. Thank you Jill and Charles -- we hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moicling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nolarain, Owner at Chimes Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Thank you for your very kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    17
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
71
164
21
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Zachary, Louisiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

My husband and I were fortunate to stay at the Chimes Bed and Breakfast in Uptown New Orleans. It 's location was perfect and the room and amenities were best to say the least.
The night before we had stayed on the coast at a large name casino resort only to be sadly disappointed. The Chimes was a pleasant end to our celebration!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Libby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed at the Chimes B & B for four days over Christmas 2012. We had one room and a second large room was for our daughter and her family, including twin 17 year-old boys. It was an excellent experience, with hostess Jill providing marked local maps that were helpful and delicious breakfasts. Jill also provided restaurant information which proved quite helpful, as well as suggestions on places to go for jazz. The rooms were very good and everything worked well. I highly recommend the Chimes and would stay there again if we come back to New Orleans. We also found the location to be very convenient for our purposes. There was a parking place for us which helped a lot since we did quite a bit of driving.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debanded_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nolarain, Owner at Chimes Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
And, your family of musicians were most appreciative of the Chimes and our city. Thank you for staying with us during the holidays. Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We had a lovely weekend at Chimes, thanks to Jill and the beautiful Garden District setting. She had great tips for us on the music scene, and Magazine Street options (Tipitina's, La Petite Grocery) are in walking distance. Looking forward to a return visit sometime in the future!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travler90210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 20, 2012

I loved The Chimes. The environment is just so pleasant and restful. So much thought has been put into making sure that the guest are comfortable and happy. The hosts went out of their way to help with directions and information about restaurants, shops and siteseeing.I loved the room and the garden area. I can't wait until my next visit.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catflattery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nolarain, Owner at Chimes Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
We look forward to seeing you again, as well. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severna Park, MD
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed just one night in room 1 at the Chimes. It was a perfect room and location for 4 of us.
Jill and her husband are great, knowledgable hosts. We parked our cars and didn't need to drive at all. We walked to Magazine Street for dinner. There are plenty of choices there. We took at cab to and from Bourbon St.
The courtyard is beautiful. If we were there for a longer stay, I could see us having happy hour or our morning coffee there.
Our breakfast hit the spot. We enjoyed that before heading out for local cuisine.
We liked the quiet, community location, as this is a welcomed contrast to Bourbon St.
Should we be fortunate enough to visit New Orleans again, we will definitely stay at Chimes!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank betwer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nolarain, Owner at Chimes Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thanks for your appreciation of the carriage house and our offerings. We hope to see you for a longer stay one day soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

I'm so glad I found the Chimes. It was cozy, clean and comfortable. Breakfast with the other guests was a great way to start the day. The fresh fruit and pastries also helped! Jill had good advice about places to see and where to eat. Great access to the bus and streetcar. I was there on my own and always felt safe in the neighborhood. If I am ever lucky enough to visit the beautiful city of New Orleans again, The Chimes will be my first stop! Jill was the perfect hostess and made me feel very welcome. I can't thank her enough!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nolarain, Owner at Chimes Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank you for searching us out through all the choices you had in New Orleans! It was fun having you at the Chimes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Garden District
Henry Howard Hotel
Henry Howard Hotel
#1 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Garden District
Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District
Garden District
Best Western Plus St. Charles Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Pontchartrain Hotel
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#5 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,120 reviews
Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast
#10 of 138 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chimes Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chimes Bed and Breakfast

Property: Chimes Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1146 Constantinople St., New Orleans, LA 70115-2759
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 138 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where you stay in New Orleans, matters. The Chimes is a hidden gem just off St. Charles Avenue in the residential Garden District/Uptown neighborhood. Restaurants, coffee houses and shops are within walking distance of this unique, private spot. The owners are on site with a singular goal: to make you feel comfortable and at home in their city. Five private guest rooms open to a courtyard that is beautiful, quiet and speaks of historic New Orleans. Queen size beds, shiny hard wood floors, private bathrooms, full breakfast, no stairs, French doors, stocked refrigerator and oh, so much more. New Orleans has cachet and when you stay at the Chimes Bed and Breakfast, you will feel it. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chimes b&b
Chimes Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing