We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“This charming B & B was so lovely and inviting that I just can't wait to return.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Chimes Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chimes Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Chimes Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Ranked #14 of 140 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This charming B & B was so lovely and inviting that I just can't wait to return.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I loved The Chimes. The environment is just so pleasant and restful. So much thought has been put into making sure that the guest are comfortable and happy. The hosts went out of their way to help with directions and information about restaurants, shops and siteseeing.I loved the room and the garden area. I can't wait until my next visit.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catflattery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nolarain, Owner at Chimes Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
We look forward to seeing you again, as well. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    16
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
63
148
16
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Severna Park, MD
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed just one night in room 1 at the Chimes. It was a perfect room and location for 4 of us.
Jill and her husband are great, knowledgable hosts. We parked our cars and didn't need to drive at all. We walked to Magazine Street for dinner. There are plenty of choices there. We took at cab to and from Bourbon St.
The courtyard is beautiful. If we were there for a longer stay, I could see us having happy hour or our morning coffee there.
Our breakfast hit the spot. We enjoyed that before heading out for local cuisine.
We liked the quiet, community location, as this is a welcomed contrast to Bourbon St.
Should we be fortunate enough to visit New Orleans again, we will definitely stay at Chimes!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank betwer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nolarain, Owner at Chimes Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thanks for your appreciation of the carriage house and our offerings. We hope to see you for a longer stay one day soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I'm so glad I found the Chimes. It was cozy, clean and comfortable. Breakfast with the other guests was a great way to start the day. The fresh fruit and pastries also helped! Jill had good advice about places to see and where to eat. Great access to the bus and streetcar. I was there on my own and always felt safe in the neighborhood. If I am ever lucky enough to visit the beautiful city of New Orleans again, The Chimes will be my first stop! Jill was the perfect hostess and made me feel very welcome. I can't thank her enough!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nolarain, Owner at Chimes Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank you for searching us out through all the choices you had in New Orleans! It was fun having you at the Chimes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We recently stayed at The Chimes on my recommendation with two other couples. It couldn't have been better. We each had our room, yet we could gather in the courtyard for a nice glass of wine before going out for the evening. Perfect! Jill was the perfect host, and was always ready if we had a question. The breakfast was delicious every morning and we enjoyed the company.

The rooms were clean, inviting and very nice. We will stay there again!

Room Tip: We stayed in the carriage house which was great...the bath was a little on the small side, but Room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amick1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nolarain, Owner at Chimes Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for your warm review and for your appreciation of the Chimes B&B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, CA.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We booked six nights at the Chimes given its very outstanding reviews. Its location is excellent, in a beautiful part of the Garden DIstrict and it is midway between St. Charles Avenue and the lively Magazine street.

We were however disappointed with other aspects of our stay. Our accomodations were small and not particularly charming. Our room tended to be on the stuffy side with an unpredictable ventilation system. The breakfasts did not compare with other B&B's where we have stayed. There were no hot servings on any of the days.

Jill, the co-owner was very welcoming and helpful in the early part of our stay and we loved New Orleans. We would however not stay again at the Chimes in the future. Other visitors may have loved it but it was not our cup of tea!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nolarain, Owner at Chimes Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
We try our best with all guests... making reservations for them, lending maps with a thorough review, offering directions (multiple times when needed), suggesting restaurants with complete descriptions and even planning a night out like Halloween where the guests can observe Bourbon Street without being in the crowd, yet....we can't expect that everyone will like what we offer. The rooms we have are not huge, maybe not charming to some, but again, we try our best. We are sorry that we failed in this case.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed at The Chimes for five nights, and it could not have been better for us. Located in the Garden District, we felt quite safe walking around at night, and it was close to lots of great eateries and shops on Magazine Street. It was quick and easy to take the streetcar or the bus into the city. The Chimes itself was absolutely lovely, clean and beautifully decorated rooms, with a lovely outdoor courtyard. Jill and Charles, the hosts were beyond lovely - I think our favourite part of the day was sitting down with them and the other guests over breakfast and having a chat about our plans. More than once, Jill pointed us in the right direction for good music, and even helped us to catch up with the second line, which is an experience which will stay with us a lifetime. Could not recommend The Chimes more highly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erica_M123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nolarain, Owner at Chimes Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Your level of appreciation for the culture and music of New Orleans is something rare. We are delighted that you got to visit the Treme neighborhood and experience a second line. And...thank you for the kind review of the Chimes B&B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Thanks so much to Jill for a warm welcome, excellent breakfasts, and an overall terrific stay! My husband and I typically stay in the CBD (most frequently, at International House), but opted for Garden District digs this trip - now, there's really no other option but to stay at the Chimes.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jck0828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nolarain, Owner at Chimes Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
You help to make it all happen by staying at the Chimes B&B and returning...Thank you!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Garden District
Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#2 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,154 reviews
Garden District
BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Charles Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 6,021 reviews
Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast
#9 of 140 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 stars 865 reviews
Garden District
Maison Perrier
Maison Perrier
#19 of 140 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 stars 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chimes Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chimes Bed and Breakfast

Property: Chimes Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1146 Constantinople St, New Orleans, LA 70115-2759
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chimes Bed and Breakfast has been serving guests since 1986. The five individual guest rooms, with private entrances opening on to a tropical New Orleans style brick courtyard, are well appointed and comfortable. The Chimes is located in the residential Garden District/Uptown neighborhood where restaurants, coffee houses and shops are within walking distance. The owners are on site offering advise on restaurants,music and venues, tours, workout facilities and specific detailed information you need. Come home to the Chimes in New Orleans. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chimes b&b
Chimes Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing