We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Overrated!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chimes Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #13 of 142 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We booked six nights at the Chimes given its very outstanding reviews. Its location is excellent, in a beautiful part of the Garden DIstrict and it is midway between St. Charles Avenue and the lively Magazine street.

We were however disappointed with other aspects of our stay. Our accomodations were small and not particularly charming. Our room tended to be on the stuffy side with an unpredictable ventilation system. The breakfasts did not compare with other B&B's where we have stayed. There were no hot servings on any of the days.

Jill, the co-owner was very welcoming and helpful in the early part of our stay and we loved New Orleans. We would however not stay again at the Chimes in the future. Other visitors may have loved it but it was not our cup of tea!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nolarain, Owner at Chimes Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

We try our best with all guests... making reservations for them, lending maps with a thorough review, offering directions (multiple times when needed), suggesting restaurants with complete descriptions and even planning a night out like Halloween where the guests can observe Bourbon Street without being in the crowd, yet....we can't expect that everyone will like what we offer. The rooms we have are not huge, maybe not charming to some, but again, we try our best. We are sorry that we failed in this case.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (345)
There are newer reviews for Chimes Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

229 - 235 of 345 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed at The Chimes for five nights, and it could not have been better for us. Located in the Garden District, we felt quite safe walking around at night, and it was close to lots of great eateries and shops on Magazine Street. It was quick and easy to take the streetcar or the bus into the city. The Chimes itself was absolutely lovely, clean and beautifully decorated rooms, with a lovely outdoor courtyard. Jill and Charles, the hosts were beyond lovely - I think our favourite part of the day was sitting down with them and the other guests over breakfast and having a chat about our plans. More than once, Jill pointed us in the right direction for good music, and even helped us to catch up with the second line, which is an experience which will stay with us a lifetime. Could not recommend The Chimes more highly.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erica_M123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nolarain, Owner at Chimes Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Your level of appreciation for the culture and music of New Orleans is something rare. We are delighted that you got to visit the Treme neighborhood and experience a second line. And...thank you for the kind review of the Chimes B&B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Thanks so much to Jill for a warm welcome, excellent breakfasts, and an overall terrific stay! My husband and I typically stay in the CBD (most frequently, at International House), but opted for Garden District digs this trip - now, there's really no other option but to stay at the Chimes.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jck0828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nolarain, Owner at Chimes Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

You help to make it all happen by staying at the Chimes B&B and returning...Thank you!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

The Chimes was beyond our greatest expectations. Jill and Charles Abbyad and their son's spirited interaction and genuine interest in us and our experience in New Orleans made us feel engaged, grounded and at home. Their restful and immaculate place is decorated in fascinating, whimsical local historical artwork... a treat to the eye. Breakfast is a delicious selection of fresh fruits, breads and pastries from a local bakery. Your day begins with lively morning discussions not only about where to go and what to do (all unique suggestions) but about the culture and history of the diverse "little Europe" of New Orleans. It is no wonder a prominent news organization chose this place as their headquarters during and after Katrina! This is simply a "must stay" if you are going to New Orleans. Oh, and they recommend a wonderful cab driver to bring you from the airport...so many special touches.

Room Tip: Each room is unique, tempting guests to return and try yet another room.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KayleenP99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nolarain, Owner at Chimes Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Thank you for staying with us and enjoying the peaceful side of our city. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

This is a wonderful B&B in the heart of N.O. Nestled between two great areas, Magazine St and St Charles ave. and close to the French Quarter. W the home was emasculate with gracious hospitality. The owner,Jill, was so helpful and nice I felt like I had known her for years. The breakfast was over the top with cheeses, pastries, breads, jam, and fruit. Two courtyards beautifully decorated and perfect to relax. You feel like you are miles away from civilization with the tranquility. We are going back in December which is rare, we usually stay somewhere different each time we come but can't resist coming back here. We have stay in at least 20 B&B and hate it took so long to discover this gem!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank smoody0909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nolarain, Owner at Chimes Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Thank you for falling in love with our city and returning to the Chimes to enjoy it! See you in December!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

The four of us stayed in the carriage house...what a treat...clean beautiful and peaceful...we all loved it...it was a great respite after a crazy day in the French Quarter...Jill offered suggestions for places to eat....gave us a map and guidebook and even booked an exquisite dinner at Arnaud's for us. We could not have been happier....breakfasts were delicious without weighing you down for those walking tours...the breakfast conversations alone were remarkable and it was so nice to speak to others from different parts of the country...and Jills' tale of Hurricane Katrina and how their B&B survived was fascinating...Jill and Charles are wonderful hosts and know how to treat their guests...I would not hesitate to go back their....and would quickly recommend the Chimes to anyone who asks....We will definately return....close to the streetcar and Magazine Street...a real gem......we just can not say enough about our stay......

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nolarain, Owner at Chimes Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2012

Thank you for staying with us and enjoying our B&B and city. We will welcome your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Our friends gave us a night at The Chimes as part of a wedding shower they were throwing for my fiance and I...we lived in New Orleans for many years and will be returning there for our wedding, and our stay at The Chimes provided the perfect balance of feeling at home while also being well taken care of - exactly what you want from a BnB experience.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cynthia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Garden District
Henry Howard Hotel
Henry Howard Hotel
#2 of 166 in New Orleans
255 reviews
The Pontchartrain Hotel
#4 of 166 in New Orleans
348 reviews
Garden District
Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Garden District
Best Western Plus St. Charles Inn
Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast
#9 of 142 in New Orleans
939 reviews
Garden District
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chimes Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chimes Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1146 Constantinople St., New Orleans, LA 70115-2759
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 142 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range: $65 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where you stay in New Orleans, matters. The Chimes is a hidden gem just off St. Charles Avenue in the residential Garden District/Uptown neighborhood. Restaurants, coffee houses and shops are within walking distance of this unique, private spot. The owners are on site with a singular goal: to make you feel comfortable and at home in their city. Five private guest rooms open to a courtyard that is beautiful, quiet and speaks of historic New Orleans. Queen size beds, shiny hard wood floors, private bathrooms, full breakfast, no stairs, French doors, stocked refrigerator and oh, so much more. New Orleans has cachet and when you stay at the Chimes Bed and Breakfast, you will feel it. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chimes b&b
Chimes Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing