We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Girlfriend Get-Away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Charles Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Charles Inn
Ranked #47 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Girlfriend Get-Away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We couldn't have asked for a more peaceful and relaxing location...great hotel breakfast bar, beautiful homes in the area, nice restaurants within walking distance, wonderful new Fresh Market grocery right down the street and a drug store. The desk clerk, Janea was an absolute doll and so very helpful!!! We all thought she was just the best!!! I have to say we did smell a slight "cooking odor" when we entered the hallways on arrival...but it never really bothered us. People need to get over themselves...I can't believe they would mark this great hotel down just because of that!!! Get real!!! We will definitely stay here again!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    136
    40
    17
    11
See reviews for
136
140
26
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, TX
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Came to New Orleans for our Anniversary trip. So glad we decided on the St. Charles Inn. Great location, beautiful neighborhood, easy trolley ride to Canal St and anywhere along St. Charles St. Nice restaurants, bars close. Had a nice run on the trolley tracks on morning. Hotel was older but well maintained and clean. Staff was courteous, breakfast was good. Gated, free parking was nice. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Evalou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

This hotel has a great location and all of the amenities to make my stay comfortable. Special thanks to the night staff with my late arrival and early morning cab to the airport! I was in town for a wedding and was able to get a reasonable rate on a very busy weekend. Keep it up!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bestwesternpdmanager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

First impression - WOW!, Upon arrival the staff couldn't have been more friendly, helpful, and courtious. The staff new enough about the city they could suggest places to visit and places to eat. The hotel is located in what they call "UP TOWN", and is a very nice area, joggers, bikers, etc. The trolley stop is a half block away. Parting impression - WOW!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank davisvaughn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

The hotel is located in an interesting area of ​​New Orleans, with easy travel across town to a tourist region. At the time we went to town, the trams were not moving to the center (do not understand why). The hotel has good facilities but a bit outdated, but the service is far from receptive. This must be taken into account, especially if you're in a city where people expect joy and welcome. A good score is in the gated parking and secure the power options and a few blocks from the hotel. The rooms are basically four people comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Marcopa59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

This place was a perfect spot due to its location. It was right in front of the trolley that you can take to the zoo or french quarter. It seems to be in a safe area we never once felt threatened. They have gated parking that only has 23 spots so get there early! We didn't and had to park around the corner at a hospital parking garage which they (Hotel) paid for. They have a restaurant right next door if you don't wanna go to far to grab a bite. They also have a wine bar a block away if that's your thing. The area is also very nice to take a stroll or go jogging down St. Charles. The room we stayed in wasn't very big, but fine just for us. They did have a microwave and mini fridge which helped us out. Beds were comfortable and the room was very clean no issues. The safe in the room got locked by my little girl and we didn't know the code to unlock it and we called the front desk and she came up to unlock it for us at 10:30 at night which I thought was very nice of her. The elevators were tiny, but fast. They had a awesome breakfast which was included in the hotel price which was very good with lots of variety eggs, sausage, toast, waffles, cereals and more. Lots of juices, coffee and milk. Kids really enjoyed it. I wouldn't hesitate recommending this hotel to anyone coming to visit New Orleans! Loved it!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dewey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

My husband, young adult daughter and I visited NOLA in July, 2012 and spent 3 nights at this Best Western on St. Charles Ave. Our adjoining rooms were clean and cool. Off street parking was secure and free. Staff members that we interacted with were friendly. The street car stop was convenient enough that our car never moved! (This might not be for everyone, but we enjoyed the novelty.) The Superior Grill next door (Mexican) was very good, and YES -- you can get margaritas to go if you choose. Free breakfast at the BW was rather mediocre, but it's hard to complain when it's free. We had a great time would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kjrn_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Garden District
Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District
Garden District
Prytania Park
Prytania Park
#81 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 731 reviews
Central Business District
BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Garden District
Henry Howard Hotel
Henry Howard Hotel
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 stars 92 reviews
French Quarter
BEST WESTERN PLUS French Quarter Landmark Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Charles Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Charles Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Charles Inn
Address: 3636 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70115-4690
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#26 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#42 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#58 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Charles Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming New Orleans Garden District hotel is located on historic St. Charles Avenue and provides convenient access to the French Quarter, the Super Dome, The WWII Museum, and the Aquarium of the Americas. Situated in historic uptown New Orleans near the beautiful Garden District, the Hotel is an easy streetcar ride away from Audubon Zoo and is the closest hotel to Tulane and Loyola Universities. The BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Charles Inn is the ideal getaway destination.Enjoy convenient access to many local attractions when staying at this Louisiana hotel such as the New Orleans Art District, the French Quarter and several nearby museums. Hotel guests will also be close to a variety of outdoor activities such as biking, horseback riding, golf, hiking and fishing. Each of the 40 well-appointed guest rooms comes equipped with refrigerators, microwaves, cable television and wireless high-speed Internet access. Hotel guests are welcome to a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast each morning. Other hotel amenities include a state-of-the-art exercise facility, business center, and free parking. The BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Charles Inn is conveniently located directly on the streetcar line to provide convenient transportation to other areas of Louisiana. Take a ghost tour of some of the many historical cemeteries nearby or spend an afternoon in the City Park. Families especially will enjoy visiting the Audubon Park & Zoo or the Aquarium of the Americas. Both Tulane University and Loyola University are within one and a half miles of the hotel, making the BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Charles Inn ideal lodging for those visiting students. New Orleans also hosts a variety of events year round such as JazzFest, Mardi Gras and several major sporting events ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Charles Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus St. Charles Hotel New Orleans
Best Western New Orleans
New Orleans Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing