We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Place for our Business Trip Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus St. Charles Inn
Ranked #29 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 22, 2011

We were here about 5 nights. The staff was most helpful in steering us around the area and answered all questions the best they could. They were very friendly. The rooms were clean and the linens very fresh, and the beds oh so comfy! The only complaint could be the carpet floors were badly stained and we thought the fridge may have been leaking. The internet worked great. The continental breakfast was one of the best - eggs! It was always clean and nicely stocked. The days were humid and hot and each afternoon when we arrived back at the hotel there was lemonade and tea waiting on us in the lobby. Then cookies as a snack too! There is a patio in the entrance area which was nice to sit and relax at during the off hours. Nice job St Charles Inn!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cyndi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (579)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

519 - 525 of 579 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2011

the help was nice, the room was clean,the television cable connection was terrible, it was a great location on the ST.Charles Line,

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveP69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

My hubby and I stayed here on an extended weekend recently and we absolutely loved it. The employees are great, very friendly and helpful, and the room was so comfortable and cozy. Loved the streetcar line being right in front of the hotel, it took us everywhere we wanted to go without having to deal with parking in the city, which gets expensive and aggravating. And our car remained in their free and secure parking lot the entire time we were there. Won't find that too many places in New Orleans. The hotel offered a free breakfast every morning as well. I can't think of a thing they could do better. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mamasez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2011

This hotel has a very friendly, helpful staff. From the moment I came in to the moment I checked out, the staff was courteous and helpful. They have private parking for guests (free, with your own remote to get into the private lot), and the location is directly on the St. Charles street car line, which takes you to just about anywhere interesting you want to go in New Orleans, including the French Quarter for only $1.25 each way.

I cannot complain about a single thing. Free Wi-Fi, decent selection of TV channels, good bathrooms/showers. Despite what some other reviews said, my room did in fact have a desk (with power outlet for my laptop) and a safe in the closet. My room also had two sinks -- one inside the bathroom and one in the dressing/closet area for a 2nd guest to get ready in the mornings. Great for couples if you are going here for a vacation trip.

Thanks to the street car and readily available taxis in this historic part of town, I never used my car again once I parked it in the private (free) parking lot. Believe me, parking in New Orleans is not easy, so I highly recommend this. Taxis are also not too expensive. The only taxi ride I took cost only about $11. Compare this to $20 or more in many cities. This is thanks to the compact nature of New Orleans, I suppose.

If you want to be right inside the French Quarter with puking college kids, this isn't the place. If you want a quiet, but stylish and beautiful historic neighborhood, St. Charles Garden Inn is the place to stay! I cannot say enough good things about it. The prices are not cheap compared to perhaps other cities or the outskirts of town, but to be right in town, in a quiet, clean room, this is a great place.

I would stay again and recommend to a good friend as well.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ZeroTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

This hotel location is in the Garden District, between Tulane and Loyola Universities and Bourbon/Downtown. It's small and informal, with a nice daily breakfast and fitness room. Housekeeping does not disturb when your sign is up (which was nice as I was on another time zone) and the rooms are quiet. The hotel just added free parking, which is a big plus from the downtown hotels. If you want to be in the middle of Bourbon St hustle and bustle, this is not the right place, but it's close enough to get there and then get away. Be aware that there is no swimming pool or room service at this hotel but easy to use and fast free internet, and there is a restaurant/bar next door that has good food and drink.

Room Tip: Nicest rooms are facing St Charles Avenue!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelingms5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2011

We stayed here one night before a cruise. The accommodations are nice and clean but some things were lacking. Our room was on a corner with two windows. One window faced the west and the afternoon sun. We noticed the room was warm when we checked in so before going to dinner, we set the thermostat on 66 degrees hoping to cool the room down. After returning from dinner it was still much warmer than out in the hallway which was set on 70 degrees. It was almost midnight before the room cooled down. We would have requested another room but found out there were no others available when we had a problem with the toilet. Lacy (front desk) came to the rescue with a plunger. Super Lacy, as she is known, was so courteous, friendly and was willing to help. However upon checkout the next morning the desk clerk on duty was not like Lacy. She did not ask if we enjoyed our stay, if everything was okay or to come back. These are minor issues but things to be aware of if you stay here. The breakfast had a good variety and was very well maintained. Be sure to ask for a room not facing the afternoon sun. We did not eat there but there is also a Mexican restaurant adjacent to the hotel that stayed busy the entire time we were there.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scubakeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2011

This hotel is a great location right off the St. Charles Line Streetcar which is really convenient although the streetcar does fill up on weekends.

The front desk staff was friendly and helpful in giving suggestions or making recommendations.

I thought the room was a good size and it was nice to have two vanities which was great with two girls trying to get ready at the same time. The beds were comfortable. The amenities were fine. The breakfast was decent although at times they did run out of some items. The A/C worked well, although noisy.

We only had the room fully cleaned once, but were able to get towels etc. as the staff still checked in. My only complaint was the room needs a little more thorough cleaning and we looked under the bed in trying to locate a missing item and found both beds had garbage underneath them.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank plaidbagel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Garden District
Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District
French Quarter
Best Western Plus French Quarter Landmark Hotel
The Pontchartrain Hotel
#4 of 166 in New Orleans
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Best Western Plus St. Christopher Hotel
Uptown / Carrollton
Alder Hotel
Alder Hotel
#98 of 166 in New Orleans
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus St. Charles Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus St. Charles Inn

Address: 3636 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70115-4690
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#26 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#38 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#42 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $143 - $357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus St. Charles Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming New Orleans Garden District hotel is located on historic St. Charles Avenue and provides convenient access to the French Quarter, the Super Dome, The WWII Museum, and the Aquarium of the Americas. Situated in historic uptown New Orleans near the beautiful Garden District, the Hotel is an easy streetcar ride away from Audubon Zoo and is the closest hotel to Tulane and Loyola Universities. The BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Charles Inn is the ideal getaway destination.Enjoy convenient access to many local attractions when staying at this Louisiana hotel such as the New Orleans Art District, the French Quarter and several nearby museums. Hotel guests will also be close to a variety of outdoor activities such as biking, horseback riding, golf, hiking and fishing. Each of the 40 well-appointed guest rooms comes equipped with refrigerators, microwaves, cable television and wireless high-speed Internet access. Hotel guests are welcome to a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast each morning. Other hotel amenities include a state-of-the-art exercise facility, business center, and free parking. The BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Charles Inn is conveniently located directly on the streetcar line to provide convenient transportation to other areas of Louisiana. Take a ghost tour of some of the many historical cemeteries nearby or spend an afternoon in the City Park. Families especially will enjoy visiting the Audubon Park & Zoo or the Aquarium of the Americas. Both Tulane University and Loyola University are within one and a half miles of the hotel, making the BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Charles Inn ideal lodging for those visiting students. New Orleans also hosts a variety of events year round such as JazzFest, Mardi Gras and several major sporting events ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Best Western, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Plus St. Charles Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus St. Charles Hotel New Orleans
Best Western New Orleans
New Orleans Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing