We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Perfect location, excellent service!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Soniat House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Soniat House
Ranked #86 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco Bay Area
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect location, excellent service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We just stayed at the Soniat for 4 nights. The location was absolutely great- 3 blocks from Frenchmen Street with is where you'll find a ton of great local music, usually for the price of one drink. a few blocks from Jackson Square. Quiet area away from the crowds. The rooms were clean and the beds were excellent, with soft, downlike pillows.

The service is also great- they will take care of anything you need and all of the front desk folks are trained concierges. They will provide breaakfast in your room for $12 per person, but we didn't try that. There's an excellent coffee and bakery place around the corner.

The only downside for us was guest noise- we started on the first floor, and you can hear every step of the guests above you because your wooden ceiling is their floor. We are noise-sensitive and this was a problem. Our first room also had a musty odor which they controlled with a dehumidifier in the room.

Also, our room had almost no natural light, because it faced onto the courtyard (it didn't help that the weather was overcast for most of our stay). This seems like it shouldn't be a problem since you're going to be out all day anyway, but that's just us- we really wanted natural light in the morning.

These things can't be helped as this property, along with most others in the French Quarter, are historic buildings with the limitations that brings. The rooms were dark by design to keep the hot sun out in the summer. First floor rooms sometimes have to deal with humidity leaching out of the ground.

That said, they went out of their way to accomodate us- first moving us to another first-floor room which had no odor but was even noisier. Then when we were going to check out early, the owner moved us to an amazing suite up on the 3rd floor where we had lots of light and no noise above us- for the same price we'd been paying. There are lots of 2nd floor rooms which might have been fine but they were all occupied.

So if you want a hotel room in the ugly, noisy southern part of the French Quarter, stay at the Monteleone. But if you want to be where all the good stuff is (except good oyster bars- they are near the Monteleone but still walking distance from Soniat), stay here! I would definitely stay again- I'll just be more careful about my room preferences.

Room Tip: Stay off the first floor if you can. But if you can't, Room 17 had a strong musty odor. Room 10...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mbernhardt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    53
    32
    15
    17
See reviews for
25
155
17
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
College Station, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
105 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is a charming place in the quiet end of the French Quarter. Formerly two homes and now a breakfast only hotel, the front of the house service is excellent especially if you are lucky enough to meet Bill. While we were there, we saw a MAJOR movie star who shall remained unnamed until later since we don't wish to undermine his privacy. The owner, Mr. Smith has some lovely antiques for sale across the street. All in all pleasant experience but if you like the amenities of a full service hotel this is not for you. The one major negative is the beds...not king sized and it is time to buy new firmer mattresses. Minor negatives, noise and room size, but if you are not prepared for both inthe French Quarter then consider a chain in downtown.

Room Tip: If you want a balcony on a street, then this will be one of the quieter options in the French Quarte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ProfD81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Staying at the Soniat House is a special treat. Great hospitality and beautiful rooms; Fabulous coffee and homemade biscuits for breakfast; Romantic setting in the heart of the French Quarter. Everything you'd want in a small, luxurious hotel.

Room Tip: Any room in the hotel is special and unique!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bbjones123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Island, NY
Level Contributor
120 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

If you appreciate the French Quarter for all that it is.... and not just the drinking on Bourbon Street (which we all love), but the true historic appeal and charm of the old buildings, the uneven walkways, the hospitality and genteel manner and the relaxed poise of graceful imperfection, then this is a MUST stay. This is how I imagine living in the Quarter feels.

This was less a hotel stay and more like staying with friends.... I know others have written the same, but it's all true so it bears repeating.

Bill at the front desk was awesome and more than helpful, the porters were absolute gentlemen. My room was immaculate and appointed well.

A few words to those who actually read these reviews when looking for a place....

This place was built in 1830. And it's meant to show it. I saw some reviewer complain that there was no elevator and the cobblestone courtyard was uneven.... Seriously?

I like the crisp, modern, and perfect hotels too - and the barrage of modern amenities & electronics, lobby bars and pools, and glitz etc. as much as the next guy. And I stay in places like that when I choose to. And if that's really what you are after when booking, (not trying to be snarky) do yourself a favor and don't stay at a place like the Soniat, as you will not be satisfied. And in particular, if this isn't your cup of tea but you stay here anyways and then write unflattering reviews, that is patently unfair.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank island-time-ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stayed at the Soniat House 12 years ago and had a fabulous time. We have raved about it ever since, and looked forward to revisiting what was once called one of the top 10 boutique inns in America.
While the staff are gracious, charming and accommodating, and the location in the French quarter is great, the property has been allowed to really go downhill. We stayed in a "junior suite" this time, and were disappointed by the fact that there was no desk where one could use a laptop comfortably, no bathrobes provided, not enough pillows (three are not enough for two people to be able to sit in bed comfortably and read), and the heating system, such as it is, was very noisy. We had to make a choice between being kept away by noisy fans, or being cold. The wifi was very spotty, and our friends in the room below us could hear our every step and flush... The rooms are in definite need of updating and its time for new blankets...
This is not an inexpensive place to stay, so its not unreasonable to expect some level of comfort and indulgence....

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CMBBSMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
soniat1133, Owner at Soniat House, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
I do wish that you had called the Reception Desk so that we could have made your visit more enjoyable. For there to not be two bathrobes in your suite was simply an oversight. That is no excuse but we could have sent them over had you notified us. We have dozens of extra pillows both down filled and hypo-allergenic. Again we would have been delighted to send you as many as would have made you comfortable. We would also have been happy to check the WIFI antennas and the fan on your HVAC for you. We even have extra small tables available.
. We have never had a complaint about a blanket before. As housekeeping always triple sheets the beds the blankets are not usually seen but we see them and they have all been replaced as have all of the bed covers.
Should your travels bring you back to New Orleans again please give us another try. If everything is not to your liking just dial "O" and we will have it corrected. We hate to disappoint anyone and especially our return guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We had a very nice stay at the Soniat House but it's worth reading the reviews. It isn't your modern fancy hotel, it's really like staying at a friend's nice place, very homey. As mentioned, the staff is really great, Bill was on duty our first night and he was extremely helpful and sent us to some nice restaurants. The location is very good, our room was nice and spacious and very quiet. The garden area is very pretty and I wish it had been warmer and we could have spent more time there. Good coffee with warm milk along side is available in the morning downstairs and a nice honor bar sitting area is a great way to prepare for the evening.

Overall a nice stay, but not all the rooms have gotten the large screen tv's if that matters to you.

Room Tip: you might prefer the second floor during the warmer months in case people are out in the garden area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LS_52_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We initially checked into another hotel in New Orleans but were immediately turned off by the condition of our (not inexpensive) room...digging deep for a plan B, I recalled that a friend had mentioned that they always stay at the Soniat House. I called and was fortunate enough to be greeted on the other end of the line by Ervin who agreed to hold a room for us till we could schlep our bags across town. When we walked thru the grand green front doors we were thrilled to find a lovely central courtyard/garden and were welcomed immediately. Our room (#33) was charming, filled with character....clean and bright with a large well equipped bathroom, we felt so lucky to have found this gem in the French Quarter.....as my boyfriend said, "THIS is what I envisioned New Orleans to be"....we felt at times as though we were in another country. Big thanks to Bill in the main office/reception who provided us with spot on restaurant suggestions spanning the spectrum from awesome po boys to top of the line dining. He arranged a wonderful info packed bus tour and even suggested antique shops we might enjoy. Our stay at Soniat House was delightful and we would highly recommend it anyone with an appreciation for beautiful older properties with character and style.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank momscreenname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Le Richelieu in the French Quarter
French Quarter
Cornstalk Hotel
Cornstalk Hotel
#22 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 480 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#21 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 2,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#2 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,222 reviews
French Quarter
Chateau Hotel
Chateau Hotel
#109 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 668 reviews
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#40 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 2,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soniat House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soniat House

Property: Soniat House
Address: 1133 Chartres St, New Orleans, LA 70116-2593
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#68 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#70 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Soniat House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, MrandMrsSmith, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Soniat House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soniat House Hotel New Orleans
Soniat Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing