We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (350)
Filter reviews
350 results
Traveler rating
219
61
36
15
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
219
61
36
15
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshonor barchartres streetfrette linensbreakfast biscuitswarm biscuitsmolton brown toiletriesjunior suitesitting roomfrench quartersmall hotelsantique furnishingsold world charmboutique hotelsouthern hospitalityfirst floorsmall bathroomroom number
Filter
Updating list...
221 - 226 of 350 reviews
Reviewed March 8, 2013

If you appreciate the French Quarter for all that it is.... and not just the drinking on Bourbon Street (which we all love), but the true historic appeal and charm of the old buildings, the uneven walkways, the hospitality and genteel manner and the relaxed poise of graceful imperfection, then this is a MUST stay. This is how I imagine living in the Quarter feels.

This was less a hotel stay and more like staying with friends.... I know others have written the same, but it's all true so it bears repeating.

Bill at the front desk was awesome and more than helpful, the porters were absolute gentlemen. My room was immaculate and appointed well.

A few words to those who actually read these reviews when looking for a place....

This place was built in 1830. And it's meant to show it. I saw some reviewer complain that there was no elevator and the cobblestone courtyard was uneven.... Seriously?

I like the crisp, modern, and perfect hotels too - and the barrage of modern amenities & electronics, lobby bars and pools, and glitz etc. as much as the next guy. And I stay in places like that when I choose to. And if that's really what you are after when booking, (not trying to be snarky) do yourself a favor and don't stay at a place like the Soniat, as you will not be satisfied. And in particular, if this isn't your cup of tea but you stay here anyways and then write unflattering reviews, that is patently unfair.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank island-time-ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stayed at the Soniat House 12 years ago and had a fabulous time. We have raved about it ever since, and looked forward to revisiting what was once called one of the top 10 boutique inns in America.
While the staff are gracious, charming and accommodating, and the location in the French quarter is great, the property has been allowed to really go downhill. We stayed in a "junior suite" this time, and were disappointed by the fact that there was no desk where one could use a laptop comfortably, no bathrobes provided, not enough pillows (three are not enough for two people to be able to sit in bed comfortably and read), and the heating system, such as it is, was very noisy. We had to make a choice between being kept away by noisy fans, or being cold. The wifi was very spotty, and our friends in the room below us could hear our every step and flush... The rooms are in definite need of updating and its time for new blankets...
This is not an inexpensive place to stay, so its not unreasonable to expect some level of comfort and indulgence....

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CMBBSMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
soniat1133, Owner at Soniat House, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

I do wish that you had called the Reception Desk so that we could have made your visit more enjoyable. For there to not be two bathrobes in your suite was simply an oversight. That is no excuse but we could have sent them over had you notified us. We have dozens of extra pillows both down filled and hypo-allergenic. Again we would have been delighted to send you as many as would have made you comfortable. We would also have been happy to check the WIFI antennas and the fan on your HVAC for you. We even have extra small tables available.
. We have never had a complaint about a blanket before. As housekeeping always triple sheets the beds the blankets are not usually seen but we see them and they have all been replaced as have all of the bed covers.
Should your travels bring you back to New Orleans again please give us another try. If everything is not to your liking just dial "O" and we will have it corrected. We hate to disappoint anyone and especially our return guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We had a very nice stay at the Soniat House but it's worth reading the reviews. It isn't your modern fancy hotel, it's really like staying at a friend's nice place, very homey. As mentioned, the staff is really great, Bill was on duty our first night and he was extremely helpful and sent us to some nice restaurants. The location is very good, our room was nice and spacious and very quiet. The garden area is very pretty and I wish it had been warmer and we could have spent more time there. Good coffee with warm milk along side is available in the morning downstairs and a nice honor bar sitting area is a great way to prepare for the evening.

Overall a nice stay, but not all the rooms have gotten the large screen tv's if that matters to you.

Room Tip: you might prefer the second floor during the warmer months in case people are out in the garden area but everyone is very respectful and noise wasn't an issue while we were there.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LS_52_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We initially checked into another hotel in New Orleans but were immediately turned off by the condition of our (not inexpensive) room...digging deep for a plan B, I recalled that a friend had mentioned that they always stay at the Soniat House. I called and was fortunate enough to be greeted on the other end of the line by Ervin who agreed to hold a room for us till we could schlep our bags across town. When we walked thru the grand green front doors we were thrilled to find a lovely central courtyard/garden and were welcomed immediately. Our room (#33) was charming, filled with character....clean and bright with a large well equipped bathroom, we felt so lucky to have found this gem in the French Quarter.....as my boyfriend said, "THIS is what I envisioned New Orleans to be"....we felt at times as though we were in another country. Big thanks to Bill in the main office/reception who provided us with spot on restaurant suggestions spanning the spectrum from awesome po boys to top of the line dining. He arranged a wonderful info packed bus tour and even suggested antique shops we might enjoy. Our stay at Soniat House was delightful and we would highly recommend it anyone with an appreciation for beautiful older properties with character and style.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank momscreenname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Yes there are people who will relate to this lovely place and people who won't. Staying here hints at what it might feel like to live in NO. It's very homey. There aren't the same amenities that you would find in larger newer hotels but it is a wonderful beautiful environment. The staff could not be more helpful and the breakfast biscuits were the best I've ever had. An afternoon cocktail in the garden while playing with the cat - it's heaven! I can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathryn k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
soniat1133, Owner at Soniat House, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

We can't wait to have you back. Please come soon. We will all be delighted to see you, especially Claire.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews