We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rare find!”
Review of Soniat House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Soniat House
Ranked #90 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Rare find!”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Staying at the Soniat House is a special treat. Great hospitality and beautiful rooms; Fabulous coffee and homemade biscuits for breakfast; Romantic setting in the heart of the French Quarter. Everything you'd want in a small, luxurious hotel.

Room Tip: Any room in the hotel is special and unique!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bbjones123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    57
    34
    15
    19
See reviews for
27
181
18
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Island, NY
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

If you appreciate the French Quarter for all that it is.... and not just the drinking on Bourbon Street (which we all love), but the true historic appeal and charm of the old buildings, the uneven walkways, the hospitality and genteel manner and the relaxed poise of graceful imperfection, then this is a MUST stay. This is how I imagine living in the Quarter feels.

This was less a hotel stay and more like staying with friends.... I know others have written the same, but it's all true so it bears repeating.

Bill at the front desk was awesome and more than helpful, the porters were absolute gentlemen. My room was immaculate and appointed well.

A few words to those who actually read these reviews when looking for a place....

This place was built in 1830. And it's meant to show it. I saw some reviewer complain that there was no elevator and the cobblestone courtyard was uneven.... Seriously?

I like the crisp, modern, and perfect hotels too - and the barrage of modern amenities & electronics, lobby bars and pools, and glitz etc. as much as the next guy. And I stay in places like that when I choose to. And if that's really what you are after when booking, (not trying to be snarky) do yourself a favor and don't stay at a place like the Soniat, as you will not be satisfied. And in particular, if this isn't your cup of tea but you stay here anyways and then write unflattering reviews, that is patently unfair.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank island-time-ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stayed at the Soniat House 12 years ago and had a fabulous time. We have raved about it ever since, and looked forward to revisiting what was once called one of the top 10 boutique inns in America.
While the staff are gracious, charming and accommodating, and the location in the French quarter is great, the property has been allowed to really go downhill. We stayed in a "junior suite" this time, and were disappointed by the fact that there was no desk where one could use a laptop comfortably, no bathrobes provided, not enough pillows (three are not enough for two people to be able to sit in bed comfortably and read), and the heating system, such as it is, was very noisy. We had to make a choice between being kept away by noisy fans, or being cold. The wifi was very spotty, and our friends in the room below us could hear our every step and flush... The rooms are in definite need of updating and its time for new blankets...
This is not an inexpensive place to stay, so its not unreasonable to expect some level of comfort and indulgence....

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CMBBSMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
soniat1133, Owner at Soniat House, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
I do wish that you had called the Reception Desk so that we could have made your visit more enjoyable. For there to not be two bathrobes in your suite was simply an oversight. That is no excuse but we could have sent them over had you notified us. We have dozens of extra pillows both down filled and hypo-allergenic. Again we would have been delighted to send you as many as would have made you comfortable. We would also have been happy to check the WIFI antennas and the fan on your HVAC for you. We even have extra small tables available.
. We have never had a complaint about a blanket before. As housekeeping always triple sheets the beds the blankets are not usually seen but we see them and they have all been replaced as have all of the bed covers.
Should your travels bring you back to New Orleans again please give us another try. If everything is not to your liking just dial "O" and we will have it corrected. We hate to disappoint anyone and especially our return guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We had a very nice stay at the Soniat House but it's worth reading the reviews. It isn't your modern fancy hotel, it's really like staying at a friend's nice place, very homey. As mentioned, the staff is really great, Bill was on duty our first night and he was extremely helpful and sent us to some nice restaurants. The location is very good, our room was nice and spacious and very quiet. The garden area is very pretty and I wish it had been warmer and we could have spent more time there. Good coffee with warm milk along side is available in the morning downstairs and a nice honor bar sitting area is a great way to prepare for the evening.

Overall a nice stay, but not all the rooms have gotten the large screen tv's if that matters to you.

Room Tip: you might prefer the second floor during the warmer months in case people are out in the garden area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LS_52_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We initially checked into another hotel in New Orleans but were immediately turned off by the condition of our (not inexpensive) room...digging deep for a plan B, I recalled that a friend had mentioned that they always stay at the Soniat House. I called and was fortunate enough to be greeted on the other end of the line by Ervin who agreed to hold a room for us till we could schlep our bags across town. When we walked thru the grand green front doors we were thrilled to find a lovely central courtyard/garden and were welcomed immediately. Our room (#33) was charming, filled with character....clean and bright with a large well equipped bathroom, we felt so lucky to have found this gem in the French Quarter.....as my boyfriend said, "THIS is what I envisioned New Orleans to be"....we felt at times as though we were in another country. Big thanks to Bill in the main office/reception who provided us with spot on restaurant suggestions spanning the spectrum from awesome po boys to top of the line dining. He arranged a wonderful info packed bus tour and even suggested antique shops we might enjoy. Our stay at Soniat House was delightful and we would highly recommend it anyone with an appreciation for beautiful older properties with character and style.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank momscreenname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Yes there are people who will relate to this lovely place and people who won't. Staying here hints at what it might feel like to live in NO. It's very homey. There aren't the same amenities that you would find in larger newer hotels but it is a wonderful beautiful environment. The staff could not be more helpful and the breakfast biscuits were the best I've ever had. An afternoon cocktail in the garden while playing with the cat - it's heaven! I can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathryn k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
soniat1133, Owner at Soniat House, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
We can't wait to have you back. Please come soon. We will all be delighted to see you, especially Claire.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

First you will be very well impressed looking this old facility with a unforgettable garden, and very friendly staff to receive you. Then as you walk in the city you will realize that are lots of hotels as pretty as this are. It’s very well located because is near Frenchmen street, Royal and Bourbon. The problem is that our room got shiny in very early morning. They simply do not have any black out curtains and the sun shine enter inside the bedroom in a way that you will just wake up, and believe me you will need to rest in a town that nobody sleeps early. Anyway try to avoid the rooms located in the front of the hotel. It’s been our case… The breakfast has good news and bad news. It’s free of charge, but they ask half hour advance to serve you some warm bread, jelly, juice and a coffee. And that’s all… I left the bed to walk on street in early morning trying to find some food to make an effort to come back to sleep. It was Tuesday and most of the stores were closed. Even the bakery…

Room Tip: Avoid rooms in front!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Schiphorst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
soniat1133, Owner at Soniat House, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
As anyone who reads my responses knows it saddens us very much to ever hear that someone was not pleased with their stay at Soniat House. This guest was from South America and obviously not taken with our rather famous buttermilk biscuits. They are made in house and baked to order so we can't possibly serve any faster than 1/2 hour after we receive the order.
As to the curtain situation I am completely mystified. There is not one drapery in the Soniat House which is not just lined but interlined with a "blackout" fabric. Subsequent to this review the manager has personally checked each one to be sure.
Buildings built in 1830 New Orleans were designed to avoid sunlight. the front rooms which are the only rooms which get lots of light are the most requested. For those guests who might find themselves in those rooms and not like so much daylight the draperies are definitely "lined."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Cornstalk Hotel
Cornstalk Hotel
#30 of 163 in New Orleans
569 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Maison de Ville
Hotel Maison de Ville
#106 of 163 in New Orleans
132 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#6 of 163 in New Orleans
4,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#20 of 163 in New Orleans
2,554 reviews
French Quarter
Inn on Ursulines
Inn on Ursulines
#34 of 163 in New Orleans
426 reviews
French Quarter
W New Orleans - French Quarter
W New Orleans - French Quarter
#63 of 163 in New Orleans
977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soniat House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soniat House

Property: Soniat House
Address: 1133 Chartres St, New Orleans, LA 70116-2593
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#68 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#70 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Soniat House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Soniat House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soniat House Hotel New Orleans
Soniat Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing