We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
$133
$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of $159/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

InterContinental New Orleans(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
$135
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 30% below average rates

The price you found is 30% lower than this hotel's average rate of $192/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hilton New Orleans Riverside(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
$128
$116
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 28% below average rates

The price you found is 28% lower than this hotel's average rate of $160/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$195
$179
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $212/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Royal St Charles Hotel(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
$259
$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Fitness center
Hotel Monteleone(New Orleans)
$199
$157
roomertravel.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 37% below average rates

The price you found is 37% lower than this hotel's average rate of $251/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Omni Riverfront Hotel(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$382
$329
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$219
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Omni Royal Orleans(New Orleans)
$251
$215
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (350)
Filter reviews
350 results
Traveler rating
219
61
36
15
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
219
61
36
15
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshonor barchartres streetfrette linensbreakfast biscuitswarm biscuitsmolton brown toiletriesjunior suitesitting roomfrench quartersmall hotelslovely courtyardantique furnishingsold world charmboutique hotelsouthern hospitalityfirst floorroom number
Filter
Updating list...
222 - 227 of 350 reviews
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stayed at the Soniat House 12 years ago and had a fabulous time. We have raved about it ever since, and looked forward to revisiting what was once called one of the top 10 boutique inns in America.
While the staff are gracious, charming and accommodating, and the location in the French quarter is great, the property has been allowed to really go downhill. We stayed in a "junior suite" this time, and were disappointed by the fact that there was no desk where one could use a laptop comfortably, no bathrobes provided, not enough pillows (three are not enough for two people to be able to sit in bed comfortably and read), and the heating system, such as it is, was very noisy. We had to make a choice between being kept away by noisy fans, or being cold. The wifi was very spotty, and our friends in the room below us could hear our every step and flush... The rooms are in definite need of updating and its time for new blankets...
This is not an inexpensive place to stay, so its not unreasonable to expect some level of comfort and indulgence....

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CMBBSMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
soniat1133, Owner at Soniat House, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

I do wish that you had called the Reception Desk so that we could have made your visit more enjoyable. For there to not be two bathrobes in your suite was simply an oversight. That is no excuse but we could have sent them over had you notified us. We have dozens of extra pillows both down filled and hypo-allergenic. Again we would have been delighted to send you as many as would have made you comfortable. We would also have been happy to check the WIFI antennas and the fan on your HVAC for you. We even have extra small tables available.
. We have never had a complaint about a blanket before. As housekeeping always triple sheets the beds the blankets are not usually seen but we see them and they have all been replaced as have all of the bed covers.
Should your travels bring you back to New Orleans again please give us another try. If everything is not to your liking just dial "O" and we will have it corrected. We hate to disappoint anyone and especially our return guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We had a very nice stay at the Soniat House but it's worth reading the reviews. It isn't your modern fancy hotel, it's really like staying at a friend's nice place, very homey. As mentioned, the staff is really great, Bill was on duty our first night and he was extremely helpful and sent us to some nice restaurants. The location is very good, our room was nice and spacious and very quiet. The garden area is very pretty and I wish it had been warmer and we could have spent more time there. Good coffee with warm milk along side is available in the morning downstairs and a nice honor bar sitting area is a great way to prepare for the evening.

Overall a nice stay, but not all the rooms have gotten the large screen tv's if that matters to you.

Room Tip: you might prefer the second floor during the warmer months in case people are out in the garden area but everyone is very respectful and noise wasn't an issue while we were there.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LS_52_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We initially checked into another hotel in New Orleans but were immediately turned off by the condition of our (not inexpensive) room...digging deep for a plan B, I recalled that a friend had mentioned that they always stay at the Soniat House. I called and was fortunate enough to be greeted on the other end of the line by Ervin who agreed to hold a room for us till we could schlep our bags across town. When we walked thru the grand green front doors we were thrilled to find a lovely central courtyard/garden and were welcomed immediately. Our room (#33) was charming, filled with character....clean and bright with a large well equipped bathroom, we felt so lucky to have found this gem in the French Quarter.....as my boyfriend said, "THIS is what I envisioned New Orleans to be"....we felt at times as though we were in another country. Big thanks to Bill in the main office/reception who provided us with spot on restaurant suggestions spanning the spectrum from awesome po boys to top of the line dining. He arranged a wonderful info packed bus tour and even suggested antique shops we might enjoy. Our stay at Soniat House was delightful and we would highly recommend it anyone with an appreciation for beautiful older properties with character and style.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank momscreenname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Yes there are people who will relate to this lovely place and people who won't. Staying here hints at what it might feel like to live in NO. It's very homey. There aren't the same amenities that you would find in larger newer hotels but it is a wonderful beautiful environment. The staff could not be more helpful and the breakfast biscuits were the best I've ever had. An afternoon cocktail in the garden while playing with the cat - it's heaven! I can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathryn k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
soniat1133, Owner at Soniat House, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

We can't wait to have you back. Please come soon. We will all be delighted to see you, especially Claire.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

First you will be very well impressed looking this old facility with a unforgettable garden, and very friendly staff to receive you. Then as you walk in the city you will realize that are lots of hotels as pretty as this are. It’s very well located because is near Frenchmen street, Royal and Bourbon. The problem is that our room got shiny in very early morning. They simply do not have any black out curtains and the sun shine enter inside the bedroom in a way that you will just wake up, and believe me you will need to rest in a town that nobody sleeps early. Anyway try to avoid the rooms located in the front of the hotel. It’s been our case… The breakfast has good news and bad news. It’s free of charge, but they ask half hour advance to serve you some warm bread, jelly, juice and a coffee. And that’s all… I left the bed to walk on street in early morning trying to find some food to make an effort to come back to sleep. It was Tuesday and most of the stores were closed. Even the bakery…

Room Tip: Avoid rooms in front!
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Schiphorst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
soniat1133, Owner at Soniat House, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

As anyone who reads my responses knows it saddens us very much to ever hear that someone was not pleased with their stay at Soniat House. This guest was from South America and obviously not taken with our rather famous buttermilk biscuits. They are made in house and baked to order so we can't possibly serve any faster than 1/2 hour after we receive the order.
As to the curtain situation I am completely mystified. There is not one drapery in the Soniat House which is not just lined but interlined with a "blackout" fabric. Subsequent to this review the manager has personally checked each one to be sure.
Buildings built in 1830 New Orleans were designed to avoid sunlight. the front rooms which are the only rooms which get lots of light are the most requested. For those guests who might find themselves in those rooms and not like so much daylight the draperies are definitely "lined."

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews