We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (351)
Filter reviews
351 results
Traveler rating
220
61
36
15
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
220
61
36
15
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews honor bar chartres street frette linens breakfast biscuits warm biscuits molton brown toiletries junior suite sitting room french quarter antique furnishings boutique hotel southern hospitality first floor small bathroom room number jackson square high ceilings
Filter
Updating list...
226 - 231 of 351 reviews
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Yes there are people who will relate to this lovely place and people who won't. Staying here hints at what it might feel like to live in NO. It's very homey. There aren't the same amenities that you would find in larger newer hotels but it is a wonderful beautiful environment. The staff could not be more helpful and the breakfast biscuits were the best I've ever had. An afternoon cocktail in the garden while playing with the cat - it's heaven! I can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathryn k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
soniat1133, Owner at Soniat House, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

We can't wait to have you back. Please come soon. We will all be delighted to see you, especially Claire.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

First you will be very well impressed looking this old facility with a unforgettable garden, and very friendly staff to receive you. Then as you walk in the city you will realize that are lots of hotels as pretty as this are. It’s very well located because is near Frenchmen street, Royal and Bourbon. The problem is that our room got shiny in very early morning. They simply do not have any black out curtains and the sun shine enter inside the bedroom in a way that you will just wake up, and believe me you will need to rest in a town that nobody sleeps early. Anyway try to avoid the rooms located in the front of the hotel. It’s been our case… The breakfast has good news and bad news. It’s free of charge, but they ask half hour advance to serve you some warm bread, jelly, juice and a coffee. And that’s all… I left the bed to walk on street in early morning trying to find some food to make an effort to come back to sleep. It was Tuesday and most of the stores were closed. Even the bakery…

Room Tip: Avoid rooms in front!
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Schiphorst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
soniat1133, Owner at Soniat House, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

As anyone who reads my responses knows it saddens us very much to ever hear that someone was not pleased with their stay at Soniat House. This guest was from South America and obviously not taken with our rather famous buttermilk biscuits. They are made in house and baked to order so we can't possibly serve any faster than 1/2 hour after we receive the order.
As to the curtain situation I am completely mystified. There is not one drapery in the Soniat House which is not just lined but interlined with a "blackout" fabric. Subsequent to this review the manager has personally checked each one to be sure.
Buildings built in 1830 New Orleans were designed to avoid sunlight. the front rooms which are the only rooms which get lots of light are the most requested. For those guests who might find themselves in those rooms and not like so much daylight the draperies are definitely "lined."

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

The hotel is in a great location in the French Quarter. The staff are very friendly and there is a very comfy lounge with an honesty bar, and cat! Our room was on the top floor which we accessed via an elevette - a quirky lift/elevator. The room was very spacious with a large bathroom. Very clean and well looked after. The one disadvantage was that breakfast was not included and consisted of one thing, scones/biscuits with strawberry jam - delicious but no variety and 12 dollars. The coffee was excellent!

Great place to stay and lots of choice for breakfast elsewhere

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank claireandpaulLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

If you are looking for the ultimate cultural experience in the French Quarter of New Orleans, consider booking a room at this outstanding Grand Dame of a hotel. But don't misunderstand -- if you prefer elaborate room service menus, big TVs and soundproof rooms book elsewhere. However if you want to feel as if you've moved into the city then consider this hotel a don't miss.

Checking in is like being welcomed to the home of an old friend, and from the moment the door opens onto one of the enclosed garden patios behind the jade green doors you can absolutely imagine yourself whisked into another time and frame of mind. Be warned. Having stayed here you'll be hard pressed to stay anywhere else in this crazy wonderful town.

Beautifully decorated rooms and suites, several looking out onto the street, have the kind of patina newer hotels seek but cannot reproduce. Wide plank pine floors, high ceilings and heavy drapes compliment period chandeliers and artfully selected antique furnishings. The history of the hotel shines through in every detail so be sure and ask about it.

The staff is outstanding and no request is too tall with enough notice. The concierge can help you book a table, arrange for a carriage ride or direct you to one of the many wonderful clubs. We even managed to marry discreetly in an upstairs suite (no guests, plenty of champagne).

Although there is no food service per se, the coffee in the morning is delivered in tall silver pots and the biscuits are kept warm in clever baskets by hot bricks -- what more could you need to sustain you until you can make the short walk to any number of outstanding restaurants nearby?

In this town, this hotel is a little piece of history that you can actually rent for the night and keep in your heart forever. I highly recommend it as the place for a romantic dalliance in old NOLA.

Room Tip: Splurge on one of the upper rooms or go all out for a suite. You only live once and sleeping in is practically a requirement in this town.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tori750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
soniat1133, Owner at Soniat House, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

I hope you won't change your opinion of Soniat House when you return and find that all of the televisions are larger, flat screens and in many cases mounted on the wall.
We promise not to change anything else.

Please come back soon. We love to welcome our faithful guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

I just spent four nights here over the course of my wedding weekend and absolutely loved it. It is an incredibly beautiful, special place and being there feels like stepping back in time. Moments like having the most delicious buttermilk biscuits in the lush courtyard, a glass of wine in the intimate reception room where the house cat sleeps on the sofa and classical music plays in the background, and interaction with the staff who are so attentive and kind makes this a wonderful place to stay. Every room is different and recalls a bygone era of New Orleans in this quiet location in the French Quarter. I stayed in room 19 for two nights, and the grand suite 64 for two nights - both beautiful!
If you are a traveler who wants/expects nespresso coffee makers, heated swimming pools, elaborate minibars, room service dinners, matching bedrooms and impersonal service go find yourself a chain hotel in the CBD. This place is full of character and any imperfections only add to that.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank innocentsabroad30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews