We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“special place”
Review of Soniat House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Soniat House
Ranked #92 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
nyc
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“special place”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Yes there are people who will relate to this lovely place and people who won't. Staying here hints at what it might feel like to live in NO. It's very homey. There aren't the same amenities that you would find in larger newer hotels but it is a wonderful beautiful environment. The staff could not be more helpful and the breakfast biscuits were the best I've ever had. An afternoon cocktail in the garden while playing with the cat - it's heaven! I can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathryn k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
soniat1133, Owner at Soniat House, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
We can't wait to have you back. Please come soon. We will all be delighted to see you, especially Claire.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    57
    34
    15
    19
See reviews for
27
181
18
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

First you will be very well impressed looking this old facility with a unforgettable garden, and very friendly staff to receive you. Then as you walk in the city you will realize that are lots of hotels as pretty as this are. It’s very well located because is near Frenchmen street, Royal and Bourbon. The problem is that our room got shiny in very early morning. They simply do not have any black out curtains and the sun shine enter inside the bedroom in a way that you will just wake up, and believe me you will need to rest in a town that nobody sleeps early. Anyway try to avoid the rooms located in the front of the hotel. It’s been our case… The breakfast has good news and bad news. It’s free of charge, but they ask half hour advance to serve you some warm bread, jelly, juice and a coffee. And that’s all… I left the bed to walk on street in early morning trying to find some food to make an effort to come back to sleep. It was Tuesday and most of the stores were closed. Even the bakery…

Room Tip: Avoid rooms in front!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Schiphorst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
soniat1133, Owner at Soniat House, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
As anyone who reads my responses knows it saddens us very much to ever hear that someone was not pleased with their stay at Soniat House. This guest was from South America and obviously not taken with our rather famous buttermilk biscuits. They are made in house and baked to order so we can't possibly serve any faster than 1/2 hour after we receive the order.
As to the curtain situation I am completely mystified. There is not one drapery in the Soniat House which is not just lined but interlined with a "blackout" fabric. Subsequent to this review the manager has personally checked each one to be sure.
Buildings built in 1830 New Orleans were designed to avoid sunlight. the front rooms which are the only rooms which get lots of light are the most requested. For those guests who might find themselves in those rooms and not like so much daylight the draperies are definitely "lined."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

The hotel is in a great location in the French Quarter. The staff are very friendly and there is a very comfy lounge with an honesty bar, and cat! Our room was on the top floor which we accessed via an elevette - a quirky lift/elevator. The room was very spacious with a large bathroom. Very clean and well looked after. The one disadvantage was that breakfast was not included and consisted of one thing, scones/biscuits with strawberry jam - delicious but no variety and 12 dollars. The coffee was excellent!

Great place to stay and lots of choice for breakfast elsewhere

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claireandpaulLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Helena, California
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

If you are looking for the ultimate cultural experience in the French Quarter of New Orleans, consider booking a room at this outstanding Grand Dame of a hotel. But don't misunderstand -- if you prefer elaborate room service menus, big TVs and soundproof rooms book elsewhere. However if you want to feel as if you've moved into the city then consider this hotel a don't miss.

Checking in is like being welcomed to the home of an old friend, and from the moment the door opens onto one of the enclosed garden patios behind the jade green doors you can absolutely imagine yourself whisked into another time and frame of mind. Be warned. Having stayed here you'll be hard pressed to stay anywhere else in this crazy wonderful town.

Beautifully decorated rooms and suites, several looking out onto the street, have the kind of patina newer hotels seek but cannot reproduce. Wide plank pine floors, high ceilings and heavy drapes compliment period chandeliers and artfully selected antique furnishings. The history of the hotel shines through in every detail so be sure and ask about it.

The staff is outstanding and no request is too tall with enough notice. The concierge can help you book a table, arrange for a carriage ride or direct you to one of the many wonderful clubs. We even managed to marry discreetly in an upstairs suite (no guests, plenty of champagne).

Although there is no food service per se, the coffee in the morning is delivered in tall silver pots and the biscuits are kept warm in clever baskets by hot bricks -- what more could you need to sustain you until you can make the short walk to any number of outstanding restaurants nearby?

In this town, this hotel is a little piece of history that you can actually rent for the night and keep in your heart forever. I highly recommend it as the place for a romantic dalliance in old NOLA.

Room Tip: Splurge on one of the upper rooms or go all out for a suite. You only live once and sleeping in is p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tori750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
soniat1133, Owner at Soniat House, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
I hope you won't change your opinion of Soniat House when you return and find that all of the televisions are larger, flat screens and in many cases mounted on the wall.
We promise not to change anything else.

Please come back soon. We love to welcome our faithful guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

I just spent four nights here over the course of my wedding weekend and absolutely loved it. It is an incredibly beautiful, special place and being there feels like stepping back in time. Moments like having the most delicious buttermilk biscuits in the lush courtyard, a glass of wine in the intimate reception room where the house cat sleeps on the sofa and classical music plays in the background, and interaction with the staff who are so attentive and kind makes this a wonderful place to stay. Every room is different and recalls a bygone era of New Orleans in this quiet location in the French Quarter. I stayed in room 19 for two nights, and the grand suite 64 for two nights - both beautiful!
If you are a traveler who wants/expects nespresso coffee makers, heated swimming pools, elaborate minibars, room service dinners, matching bedrooms and impersonal service go find yourself a chain hotel in the CBD. This place is full of character and any imperfections only add to that.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank innocentsabroad30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana, United States
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

Some people get it....some people don't. I must say....the people who have left reviews saying the Soniat House is old and dusty....they are among those who DO NOT get it. To those, may I recommend the Holiday Inn or the Hyatt where you will find new buildings and staff who are just there for a shift to earn a buck? The Soniat House is true to its roots...kept in the style of the "old" New Orleans." The staff and management treat you like family. When you walk into the courtyard, you feel as if you are stepping into the home of an elite 19th century southern aristocrat. If you do not appreciate this lifestyle, then don't waste your time. If you are looking for a unique, truly New Orleans experience, the Soniat House is the best you will get!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Like the famous NO soup with all its mysterious ingredients and cooking times, this historical hotel has a lot of things going on to give it flavor, which makes a straightforward review complicated. First of all, the place is charming, quaint, welcoming. Second, the people who work here are good at what they do and are very pleasant (still I wondered about the stark division of tasks, since when I asked for help moving my suitcase or a second pillow, the front desk said: " Oh, I'll ask so-and-so to do it.") Third, not all rooms are quiet (try not to stay in room 10 or 11, which are big rooms with somewhat worn rugs that are in the "back" of the house that faces Chartres Street; consequently when there's noise--not much but enough-- on the street, there is noise in your room, plus noise when guests enter or leave the hotel because the hotel exit/enter door is near the rooms , and the balcony on the second floor is over the 10-11 rooms so voices talking up there pass right through the ceiling into your ears.)

We spent one night in room 11 and asked to have our room changed to a more private and quiet room in the interior. The front desk graciously accommodated our request.

I have stayed in many high rated boutique hotels around the world and this one is a bit under par in comparison. For example the towels are not new and fluffy, the TVs are very very small --in some rooms not even flat screen but I suppose you don't go to NO to watch TV!--and in one room the numbers on the old TV remote were worn off. The bathrooms needed updated. The lighting in the bathrooms were overhead recessed lights, which do not flatter a face but shadow the face and prevent good shaving and/or make-up application. One bathroom had a whirlpool tub that didn't work. Piping on the stuffed chair was worn through.

The location is great; not in the thick of the French Quarter action but readily accessible to everything, including Frenchman Street on the other side of Esplanade. The bellman is helpful and wonderful, the flowers in the common room are beautifully arranged, the cat Clare is cute as can be, the courtyard is lovely, they have classical music in the common area. The beds and bedding are good. There's a honor system for getting wine and cocktails from the common room. I heard the breakfast bisquits were delicious but we preferred the cafe around the corner where they had fruit, croissants and espresso.

Would I stay here again?If it were $50-$75 less a night, yes & without hesitation.

Room Tip: ask for room on inner courtyard if you want quiet or are a light sleeper. they have passes for NO A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
soniat1133, Owner at Soniat House, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
It sounds like you all really appreciate the authentic New Orleans. Please come back soon. There is always a band in the street and most of them do pass under our veranda.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Cornstalk Hotel
Cornstalk Hotel
#32 of 163 in New Orleans
569 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Maison de Ville
Hotel Maison de Ville
#106 of 163 in New Orleans
132 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#6 of 163 in New Orleans
4,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#19 of 163 in New Orleans
2,554 reviews
French Quarter
Inn on Ursulines
Inn on Ursulines
#34 of 163 in New Orleans
426 reviews
French Quarter
W New Orleans - French Quarter
W New Orleans - French Quarter
#62 of 163 in New Orleans
977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soniat House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soniat House

Property: Soniat House
Address: 1133 Chartres St, New Orleans, LA 70116-2593
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#68 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#70 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Soniat House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Soniat House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soniat House Hotel New Orleans
Soniat Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing