We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous historic New Orleans charm”
Review of Soniat House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Soniat House
Ranked #91 of 164 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Gorgeous historic New Orleans charm”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

I just spent four nights here over the course of my wedding weekend and absolutely loved it. It is an incredibly beautiful, special place and being there feels like stepping back in time. Moments like having the most delicious buttermilk biscuits in the lush courtyard, a glass of wine in the intimate reception room where the house cat sleeps on the sofa and classical music plays in the background, and interaction with the staff who are so attentive and kind makes this a wonderful place to stay. Every room is different and recalls a bygone era of New Orleans in this quiet location in the French Quarter. I stayed in room 19 for two nights, and the grand suite 64 for two nights - both beautiful!
If you are a traveler who wants/expects nespresso coffee makers, heated swimming pools, elaborate minibars, room service dinners, matching bedrooms and impersonal service go find yourself a chain hotel in the CBD. This place is full of character and any imperfections only add to that.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank innocentsabroad30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    57
    34
    15
    19
See reviews for
27
183
18
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana, United States
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

Some people get it....some people don't. I must say....the people who have left reviews saying the Soniat House is old and dusty....they are among those who DO NOT get it. To those, may I recommend the Holiday Inn or the Hyatt where you will find new buildings and staff who are just there for a shift to earn a buck? The Soniat House is true to its roots...kept in the style of the "old" New Orleans." The staff and management treat you like family. When you walk into the courtyard, you feel as if you are stepping into the home of an elite 19th century southern aristocrat. If you do not appreciate this lifestyle, then don't waste your time. If you are looking for a unique, truly New Orleans experience, the Soniat House is the best you will get!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Like the famous NO soup with all its mysterious ingredients and cooking times, this historical hotel has a lot of things going on to give it flavor, which makes a straightforward review complicated. First of all, the place is charming, quaint, welcoming. Second, the people who work here are good at what they do and are very pleasant (still I wondered about the stark division of tasks, since when I asked for help moving my suitcase or a second pillow, the front desk said: " Oh, I'll ask so-and-so to do it.") Third, not all rooms are quiet (try not to stay in room 10 or 11, which are big rooms with somewhat worn rugs that are in the "back" of the house that faces Chartres Street; consequently when there's noise--not much but enough-- on the street, there is noise in your room, plus noise when guests enter or leave the hotel because the hotel exit/enter door is near the rooms , and the balcony on the second floor is over the 10-11 rooms so voices talking up there pass right through the ceiling into your ears.)

We spent one night in room 11 and asked to have our room changed to a more private and quiet room in the interior. The front desk graciously accommodated our request.

I have stayed in many high rated boutique hotels around the world and this one is a bit under par in comparison. For example the towels are not new and fluffy, the TVs are very very small --in some rooms not even flat screen but I suppose you don't go to NO to watch TV!--and in one room the numbers on the old TV remote were worn off. The bathrooms needed updated. The lighting in the bathrooms were overhead recessed lights, which do not flatter a face but shadow the face and prevent good shaving and/or make-up application. One bathroom had a whirlpool tub that didn't work. Piping on the stuffed chair was worn through.

The location is great; not in the thick of the French Quarter action but readily accessible to everything, including Frenchman Street on the other side of Esplanade. The bellman is helpful and wonderful, the flowers in the common room are beautifully arranged, the cat Clare is cute as can be, the courtyard is lovely, they have classical music in the common area. The beds and bedding are good. There's a honor system for getting wine and cocktails from the common room. I heard the breakfast bisquits were delicious but we preferred the cafe around the corner where they had fruit, croissants and espresso.

Would I stay here again?If it were $50-$75 less a night, yes & without hesitation.

Room Tip: ask for room on inner courtyard if you want quiet or are a light sleeper. they have passes for NO A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
soniat1133, Owner at Soniat House, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
It sounds like you all really appreciate the authentic New Orleans. Please come back soon. There is always a band in the street and most of them do pass under our veranda.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

A trio of galpals wanted character, and we got it at this 19th century home made into a unique accommodation for New Orleans first timers. From the locked grand front entrance, into the lush garden, through the rickety elevator up to the third floor, we felt as though we were in a different world, which is what we wanted. Each room was unique, and we lucked out with anachronistic jacuzzi tubs as an upgraded consequence of plumbing leaks in the rooms we originally booked.

The concierge, Irvin, was intuitive in his suggestions and considerations, all the service folks lived up to and beyond the the notion of Southern hospitality. Our favorite experience was lounging one evening in rattan chairs on a veranda with a brass band below suddenly breaking into "When the Saints Go Marchin In"

Room Tip: the first floor rooms felt a bit dark and dank. make sure the room deodorizers aren't a cover u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melanie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We love the Soniat House! This was our second stay at the gorgeous property and we will return on our next visit to New Orleans. We visited for a week in late June/early July for our honeymoon and were upgraded from a junior suite to a suite when we arrived (such a lovely surprise!) The suite was sumptuous; filled with beautiful antiques and a spectacular bathroom that I can only dream about having in real life. We loved sharing coffee and biscuits on the large deck over looking Chartres Street.

The attention to detail at the Soniat House is unsurpassed. The staff is more than kind and gracious and the location is perfect. It is a one of a kind place, filled with art, antiques and a realized appreciation for the beauty of relaxation and just "being". Obviously, it is place of which the proprietors are truly passionate and their staff who seem to regard it similarly.

We can't hardly wait to return.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pghonthegogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
soniat1133, Owner at Soniat House, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
We can hardly wait to have you return, The Soniat House is truly our passion. It is our life and it is certainly not easy but comments from return guests such as yourselves who appreciate what we have here make it worthwhile. Please hurry back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Alabama
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

The best feature of the Soniat House is the staff. From the front desk, to housekeeping and room service, the staff members we encountered were uniformly courteous and helpful. However, the room rates are excessively high for the room accommodations provided. As an earlier reviewer noted, the room decor did remind us a bit of a visit to grandmother's house: antiques and odd pieces of furniture. If you are expecting room furnishings and features available at typical four and five-star hotels, you will be disappointed. This is the first hotel at which I have stayed in years that did not have even a one cup automatic coffee maker in the room (coffee, however, is available from room service for $12). There are much better hotel values in the French Quarter.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
quebec and northampton mass
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

I have read with sadness and chagrin some of the recent comments about Soniat House. Perhaps it is a reflection of our time or a clouding of the lens through which we should see things of value. I have visited Soniat House over the decades, at varied stages of my life, Each visit was , as it should be, reminding me that civility and charm are the arts of hospitality.

The Japanese favor an aesthetic that understands how time enhances beauty. Soniat House has always been wonderfully kept but so careful in its homage to the past. There is, for those wishing to see it, a joy in each shadow and a composition not unlike art. For Soniat, is art of a unique kind. It is a memory but not of the past. It is a reminder of a wonderful life while that life is still in reach.

A final word...The owners love this place. It is not simply on a balance sheet and surely not seeking to be what it should not be. For those who understand what New Orleans means, who savor the sound and scent of history, and who simply melt at the idea of starting the morning with biscuits served on hot bricks outside your door.....Soniat House should call out to you.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jlevine1675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
soniat1133, Owner at Soniat House, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Thank you so much for your eloquent response to the few unfavorable reviews that Soniat House has received this summer.
As you mentioned Rodney and I truly love the Soniat House. It is our life's work. When we receive a review such as yours we feel that we have succeeded.
Thank you for again for taking the time to write. We appreciate your support.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Cornstalk Hotel
Cornstalk Hotel
#34 of 164 in New Orleans
572 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Maison de Ville
Hotel Maison de Ville
#107 of 164 in New Orleans
135 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#6 of 164 in New Orleans
4,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#18 of 164 in New Orleans
2,586 reviews
French Quarter
Chateau Hotel
Chateau Hotel
#109 of 164 in New Orleans
842 reviews
French Quarter
Inn on Ursulines
Inn on Ursulines
#46 of 164 in New Orleans
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soniat House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soniat House

Property: Soniat House
Address: 1133 Chartres St, New Orleans, LA 70116-2593
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#68 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#70 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Soniat House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic small inn in the quiet residential section of the French Quarter. Three townhouses built in 1830 by the Soniat family now operated as a hotel. Exquisitely furnished. Lush tropical courtyards. The hotel has 20 suites and 10 rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Soniat House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soniat House Hotel New Orleans
Soniat Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing