We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (351)
Filter reviews
351 results
Traveler rating
220
61
36
15
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
220
61
36
15
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews honor bar chartres street frette linens breakfast biscuits warm biscuits molton brown toiletries junior suite sitting room french quarter antique furnishings boutique hotel southern hospitality first floor small bathroom room number jackson square high ceilings
Filter
Updating list...
231 - 236 of 351 reviews
Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

Some people get it....some people don't. I must say....the people who have left reviews saying the Soniat House is old and dusty....they are among those who DO NOT get it. To those, may I recommend the Holiday Inn or the Hyatt where you will find new buildings and staff who are just there for a shift to earn a buck? The Soniat House is true to its roots...kept in the style of the "old" New Orleans." The staff and management treat you like family. When you walk into the courtyard, you feel as if you are stepping into the home of an elite 19th century southern aristocrat. If you do not appreciate this lifestyle, then don't waste your time. If you are looking for a unique, truly New Orleans experience, the Soniat House is the best you will get!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Like the famous NO soup with all its mysterious ingredients and cooking times, this historical hotel has a lot of things going on to give it flavor, which makes a straightforward review complicated. First of all, the place is charming, quaint, welcoming. Second, the people who work here are good at what they do and are very pleasant (still I wondered about the stark division of tasks, since when I asked for help moving my suitcase or a second pillow, the front desk said: " Oh, I'll ask so-and-so to do it.") Third, not all rooms are quiet (try not to stay in room 10 or 11, which are big rooms with somewhat worn rugs that are in the "back" of the house that faces Chartres Street; consequently when there's noise--not much but enough-- on the street, there is noise in your room, plus noise when guests enter or leave the hotel because the hotel exit/enter door is near the rooms , and the balcony on the second floor is over the 10-11 rooms so voices talking up there pass right through the ceiling into your ears.)

We spent one night in room 11 and asked to have our room changed to a more private and quiet room in the interior. The front desk graciously accommodated our request.

I have stayed in many high rated boutique hotels around the world and this one is a bit under par in comparison. For example the towels are not new and fluffy, the TVs are very very small --in some rooms not even flat screen but I suppose you don't go to NO to watch TV!--and in one room the numbers on the old TV remote were worn off. The bathrooms needed updated. The lighting in the bathrooms were overhead recessed lights, which do not flatter a face but shadow the face and prevent good shaving and/or make-up application. One bathroom had a whirlpool tub that didn't work. Piping on the stuffed chair was worn through.

The location is great; not in the thick of the French Quarter action but readily accessible to everything, including Frenchman Street on the other side of Esplanade. The bellman is helpful and wonderful, the flowers in the common room are beautifully arranged, the cat Clare is cute as can be, the courtyard is lovely, they have classical music in the common area. The beds and bedding are good. There's a honor system for getting wine and cocktails from the common room. I heard the breakfast bisquits were delicious but we preferred the cafe around the corner where they had fruit, croissants and espresso.

Would I stay here again?If it were $50-$75 less a night, yes & without hesitation.

Room Tip: ask for room on inner courtyard if you want quiet or are a light sleeper. they have passes for NO Athletic club.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
soniat1133, Owner at Soniat House, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

It sounds like you all really appreciate the authentic New Orleans. Please come back soon. There is always a band in the street and most of them do pass under our veranda.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

A trio of galpals wanted character, and we got it at this 19th century home made into a unique accommodation for New Orleans first timers. From the locked grand front entrance, into the lush garden, through the rickety elevator up to the third floor, we felt as though we were in a different world, which is what we wanted. Each room was unique, and we lucked out with anachronistic jacuzzi tubs as an upgraded consequence of plumbing leaks in the rooms we originally booked.

The concierge, Irvin, was intuitive in his suggestions and considerations, all the service folks lived up to and beyond the the notion of Southern hospitality. Our favorite experience was lounging one evening in rattan chairs on a veranda with a brass band below suddenly breaking into "When the Saints Go Marchin In"

Room Tip: the first floor rooms felt a bit dark and dank. make sure the room deodorizers aren't a cover up for other issues.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melanie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We love the Soniat House! This was our second stay at the gorgeous property and we will return on our next visit to New Orleans. We visited for a week in late June/early July for our honeymoon and were upgraded from a junior suite to a suite when we arrived (such a lovely surprise!) The suite was sumptuous; filled with beautiful antiques and a spectacular bathroom that I can only dream about having in real life. We loved sharing coffee and biscuits on the large deck over looking Chartres Street.

The attention to detail at the Soniat House is unsurpassed. The staff is more than kind and gracious and the location is perfect. It is a one of a kind place, filled with art, antiques and a realized appreciation for the beauty of relaxation and just "being". Obviously, it is place of which the proprietors are truly passionate and their staff who seem to regard it similarly.

We can't hardly wait to return.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pghonthegogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
soniat1133, Owner at Soniat House, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

We can hardly wait to have you return, The Soniat House is truly our passion. It is our life and it is certainly not easy but comments from return guests such as yourselves who appreciate what we have here make it worthwhile. Please hurry back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

The best feature of the Soniat House is the staff. From the front desk, to housekeeping and room service, the staff members we encountered were uniformly courteous and helpful. However, the room rates are excessively high for the room accommodations provided. As an earlier reviewer noted, the room decor did remind us a bit of a visit to grandmother's house: antiques and odd pieces of furniture. If you are expecting room furnishings and features available at typical four and five-star hotels, you will be disappointed. This is the first hotel at which I have stayed in years that did not have even a one cup automatic coffee maker in the room (coffee, however, is available from room service for $12). There are much better hotel values in the French Quarter.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews