We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (350)
Filter reviews
350 results
Traveler rating
219
61
36
15
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
219
61
36
15
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshonor barchartres streetfrette linensbreakfast biscuitswarm biscuitsmolton brown toiletriesjunior suitesitting roomfrench quartersmall hotelsantique furnishingsold world charmboutique hotelsouthern hospitalityfirst floorsmall bathroomroom number
Filter
Updating list...
232 - 237 of 350 reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2012

A trio of galpals wanted character, and we got it at this 19th century home made into a unique accommodation for New Orleans first timers. From the locked grand front entrance, into the lush garden, through the rickety elevator up to the third floor, we felt as though we were in a different world, which is what we wanted. Each room was unique, and we lucked out with anachronistic jacuzzi tubs as an upgraded consequence of plumbing leaks in the rooms we originally booked.

The concierge, Irvin, was intuitive in his suggestions and considerations, all the service folks lived up to and beyond the the notion of Southern hospitality. Our favorite experience was lounging one evening in rattan chairs on a veranda with a brass band below suddenly breaking into "When the Saints Go Marchin In"

Room Tip: the first floor rooms felt a bit dark and dank. make sure the room deodorizers aren't a cover up for other issues.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melanie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We love the Soniat House! This was our second stay at the gorgeous property and we will return on our next visit to New Orleans. We visited for a week in late June/early July for our honeymoon and were upgraded from a junior suite to a suite when we arrived (such a lovely surprise!) The suite was sumptuous; filled with beautiful antiques and a spectacular bathroom that I can only dream about having in real life. We loved sharing coffee and biscuits on the large deck over looking Chartres Street.

The attention to detail at the Soniat House is unsurpassed. The staff is more than kind and gracious and the location is perfect. It is a one of a kind place, filled with art, antiques and a realized appreciation for the beauty of relaxation and just "being". Obviously, it is place of which the proprietors are truly passionate and their staff who seem to regard it similarly.

We can't hardly wait to return.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pghonthegogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
soniat1133, Owner at Soniat House, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

We can hardly wait to have you return, The Soniat House is truly our passion. It is our life and it is certainly not easy but comments from return guests such as yourselves who appreciate what we have here make it worthwhile. Please hurry back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

The best feature of the Soniat House is the staff. From the front desk, to housekeeping and room service, the staff members we encountered were uniformly courteous and helpful. However, the room rates are excessively high for the room accommodations provided. As an earlier reviewer noted, the room decor did remind us a bit of a visit to grandmother's house: antiques and odd pieces of furniture. If you are expecting room furnishings and features available at typical four and five-star hotels, you will be disappointed. This is the first hotel at which I have stayed in years that did not have even a one cup automatic coffee maker in the room (coffee, however, is available from room service for $12). There are much better hotel values in the French Quarter.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

I have read with sadness and chagrin some of the recent comments about Soniat House. Perhaps it is a reflection of our time or a clouding of the lens through which we should see things of value. I have visited Soniat House over the decades, at varied stages of my life, Each visit was , as it should be, reminding me that civility and charm are the arts of hospitality.

The Japanese favor an aesthetic that understands how time enhances beauty. Soniat House has always been wonderfully kept but so careful in its homage to the past. There is, for those wishing to see it, a joy in each shadow and a composition not unlike art. For Soniat, is art of a unique kind. It is a memory but not of the past. It is a reminder of a wonderful life while that life is still in reach.

A final word...The owners love this place. It is not simply on a balance sheet and surely not seeking to be what it should not be. For those who understand what New Orleans means, who savor the sound and scent of history, and who simply melt at the idea of starting the morning with biscuits served on hot bricks outside your door.....Soniat House should call out to you.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Jlevine1675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
soniat1133, Owner at Soniat House, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2012

Thank you so much for your eloquent response to the few unfavorable reviews that Soniat House has received this summer.
As you mentioned Rodney and I truly love the Soniat House. It is our life's work. When we receive a review such as yours we feel that we have succeeded.
Thank you for again for taking the time to write. We appreciate your support.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

This hotel has been around for ever. Apparently so have the rooms, the decoration, the air conditioning and the damp in the rooms

The queen bed was two singles pushed together. The courtyard view was the porthols in the room door - no windows

Be prepared to wear noise cancelling headphones all night if you leave the airconditining on or wake up in a sauna if you don't. Beware room 17. Every little noise from upstairs can be heard very clearly.

The biscuits in the morning however are a real treat.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flyingscalpel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews