We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place -”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Place d'Armes Hotel
Ranked #34 of 165 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 16, 2007

Stayed 2 nights..
great Place .clean and very personal
New Orleans is not what the news claims to be ...come one come all. great place ..French Quarters where never touched by the Floods..took at tour and looks like New Orleans was agreat place to vacation

Stayed: September 2007
Thank hmich45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,285)
There are newer reviews for Place d'Armes Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,022 - 2,028 of 2,285 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2007

Booked a superior King through the website - decided to spend a bit of extra money for a nice room - sure was worth it! We had a lovely room on the 3rd floor that overlooked the pool and courtyard and was massive . Air conditioning worked well and was quiet. Bathroom was simple but functional and had the added bonus of having a separate powder room area and wardrobe. The staff are charming (especially Frank who works the night shift) and provided us with endless information about things to do and restaurant recommendations. Ladies who serviced the rooms were lovely and even asked me if I needed anything when they discovered I was sick. Hotel is perfectly located if you want to be close to all the action - but avoid the noise of Bourbon Street. The photos of the pool area and courtyard don't do it justice - it really is superb and the pool is a welcome relief on those sticky afternoons and evenings. There is no room service or restaurant on site - but there are several snack machines and drink machines on the ground floor, plus the complementary breakfast they supply every morning (croissants, danishes, tea and coffee). I can't recommend this hotel enough. It was an utter bargain and very intimate and pretty. Loved every minute of it and will certainly stay again when we return to NOLA.

Stayed: September 2007
3  Thank msmegmog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2007

I have been coming back to the French Quarter since 6 months after Katrina. With each trip I am impressed with how much better the town looks and how upbeat the people are. I'm not sure I could handle half of what these people and this town have gone through the last few years. If you haven't been back, you really need to go! I stay at the Place d armes at 625 St. Ann street when I go. The hotel is perfectly located, very clean and the employees are great. Most lost everything in the hurricane, but when you arrive they make you feel like you are their only concern.

Now go on and get back down there, they need your support.

Stayed: August 2007
Thank 360DegreesStLouis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2007

My wife an I stayed at Place d'Armes Hotel from @23AUG07 to @26AUG07. But, our stay was so great that we stayed for one extra night.
The people in New Orleans are fantastic. Plus the ambience of the city is great for food , drinks , shopping. There is a lot to see in New Orleans, even tho some parts of the city itself looks bad. But, it will take time to get back on its feet.
But, I still recommend for ev'rybody to visit New Orleans once in ther lifetime. For mi its like a second home. I'll be back next year an the one after that. Going to Place d'Armes Hotel feel like family an so helpful. Thank you.

Jr. Santana-DeJesus.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank dejesusscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2007

Have passed this hotel many times when in town and finally gave it a try. I booked on the hotel website and got a great rate . I requested a "deluxe" room so i would have a window. I arrived 2 hours before the stated check-in time. The friendly staff at the front desk did their best to get my room ready in 15 minutes. What a room it was! I never expected a room with a private balcony overlooking Chartres Street. The room had a king sized bed, a desk, table and chairs and a large bathroom. It was clean and fresh smelling but I admit I spent more time on the balcony then in the room. Sippping wine and glancing down the street to see what was happening in Jackson Square was my idea of a relaxing time. It is a group of old buildings so the occasional noise from rooms above or next door were heard but never a problem. The pool was clean and the courtyard was swept daily. The breakfast room was bright and cheerfull but the donuts and croissants, while fresh, weren't the best. However, any place that has orange marmalade gets my vote! All in all, a nice weekend.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank FrugalTraveler50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2007

My boyfriend and I have just returned from a six week tour around the USA. New Orleans was the last stop on our tour (I had been there last year and HAD to go back I loved it so much), and we had an absolute BLAST - thanks in part to our gorgeous hotel. The Place d'Armes Hotel was cheap in comparison to most of the hotels in its vacinity so I was a little apprehensive. When we arrived I realised there was no need to worry, it was perfect. The rooms surround a cute garden courtyard with a small swimming pool in the centre. Some rooms have balconys and some have views... ours had neither (I chose the cheapest), but it didn't need it. Our king room had a large lounge area with fold out bed sofa, large TV, and lots of mirrors giving it light. We walked through to the bedroom area which was furnished with a king bed (very romantic with iron look headboard) and cute side tables. The bathroom was large and clean with a clean bath (very difficult to come across from our experience). We were two blocks from Bourbon Street (five blocks from our favorite club 'The Dungeon') and a few blocks from the mighty Mississippi River. We WILL be staying here next time we go to my beloved New Orleans.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Globalkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2007

After many searches found this hotel and glad we did. Very nice, clean hotel. Very close to all attractions, within walking distance to everything. Will definetely stay there again. Can't wait to go back. Staff is very friendly and kind.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vacationeeder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#22 of 165 in New Orleans
1,334 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#21 of 165 in New Orleans
2,630 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#10 of 165 in New Orleans
3,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 165 in New Orleans
5,965 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#16 of 165 in New Orleans
4,716 reviews
French Quarter
Maison Dupuy
Maison Dupuy
#48 of 165 in New Orleans
1,917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Place d'Armes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Place d'Armes Hotel

Address: 625 Saint Ann St, New Orleans, LA 70116-3287
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#38 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#39 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $121 - $355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Place d'Armes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Hotel situated in center of French Quarter & comprised of 9 restored 18th century buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Place d'Armes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Place d Armes Hotel
Hotel Place d Armes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing