We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel, Exemplary Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Place d'Armes Hotel
Ranked #35 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Hotel, Exemplary Service”
Reviewed June 29, 2007

We stayed at the Place d'Armes Hotel for four nights and it was one of the most pleasant hotel experiences we've ever had. Everyone- from the parking attendant to the desk clerk to the breakfast hostess to the groundkeeper were friendly and extremely helpful. The room was beautiful, clean and very comfortable. I particularly enjoyed the quiet patios and gardens for morning coffee.

As for New Orleans itself, I have never felt more safe visiting there and the city has lost none of it's appeal. We are looking forward to going back.

  • Liked — great staff
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Christie1115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,075
    836
    194
    91
    66
See reviews for
433
975
92
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (646)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans
1 review
Reviewed June 28, 2007

This was absolutely the most woderful hotel I've ever stayed at. I was impressed by not only the staff and service, but the hotel location and atmosphere as well. My room was located right across from the Cabildo with the Cathedral bells within earshot. Everyone at the hotel was extremely friendly and helpful as far as my "touristy" questions. I thought the decor gave a great old quarter feel. The price was extremely decent for hotels in this area. I stayed on the third floor and had a balcony overlooking the street. I thought everything was beautiful. Just absolutely wonderful. I would recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bratman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, England
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2007

We paid an amazingly low price for an Interior room. Interior means no windows, but as we were out the whole time the only problem this caused was not knowing what the weather was like each morning until we went down for breakfast! We booked direct and got the room for v low price, when we arrived we couldn't believe how good the location is - 1 minute from Jackson Square/Tourist Office/Waterfront/Museums. Yes the room is a little tired & the breakfast of cinnamon swirls, croissants, T/C & juice is basic - but it's very useful! Free newspapers provided. Excellent air con in the rooms. Showers OK. Parking expensive $22/day, but same all over the city. Some minor noise from revellers in the hotel, but that's part of the charm of New Orleans. Would definitely stay here again. Regarding New Orleans in general - would highly recommend the Grayline Hurricane Katrina Tour, Preservation Hall (awesome brass band on Thursdays) and for good meals The Acme Oyster House (Brits won't believe the price of the oysters!), Fiorella's (we didn't get ill afterward contrary to other reviewers on here). Angeli's was overpriced. Girod's has closed down. The people of NO were very welcoming, please visit now, this helps them to rebuild. THere are lots of good online resources (inc for vouchers) especially cvb.com. We did daytrips out to Angola Prison Museum (fascinating) & McGees Landing (Henderson - for characterful swamp tours). Loved New Orleans, Place D'Armes met our needs, would love to go back. Don't rely on the Rough Guide USA's info - v out of date post-Katrina. Enjoy!

  • Liked — Price, Location
  • Disliked — Parking costs
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Antonia_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2007

Just spent 6 nights at the Place D,armes with my husband and we both loved it. I can see why a few people commented on the cleaning of the rooms as all the light shades were covered in dust (not cleaned for a long time) and balcony was in bad need of repair but they are the only negative things I can say.Now for the good. We had a HUGE room with a hugh balcony, the bedding and carpets were always clean as was the bathroom. The shower pressure was fine. Every morning i went down to the breakfast room and got us some coffee, we sat on our balcony listening to the chimes of St. Louis Cathedral (that alone was worth the money). The courtyards are beautifull and so relaxing and staff are so helpful. We originally booked for 3 nights but stayed longer. If you want spotless forget it- if you want New Orleans charm, beautiful courtyards and a balcony this is the place for you. For the price we paid and the location this hotel is excellent, will definatley stay there again.

  • Liked — Courtyards/location
  • Disliked — could have been slightly cleaner - it wasn,t filthy though so not the end of the world
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank paulinen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsboro, AL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2007

Great location at edge of Jackson Square. Staff very pleasant and helpful. Can walk anywhere in the French Quarter from here. Parking in the building. Multiple courtyards with pool and fountain, very relaxing. Hadn't been back to New Orleans since Katrina and didn't know really what to expect, but was pleasantly surprised. The Quarter, CBD and uptown are pretty much back to normal. Really enjoyed our stay and plan to return soon.

  • Liked — Staff and location
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank GB42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boles, Ark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2007

I have never been dissappointed while staying at the Place D Armes, and again it was a most rewarding stay. This is the only place we will stay in New Orleans, it's in the center of the French Quarter and t he rooms are always clean and comfortable. The employees are very friendly and courteous and are always willing to help an any way. The courtyard is remarkable and very well kept and the pool is large and always clean and sparkling. If you want to experience real southern hospitality, you need to stay here.

  • Liked — It's location, c;lean rooms and friendly staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank arkywabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
2 reviews
Reviewed June 13, 2007

My stay at this hotel was very pleasant. The staff was very nice and helpful. I recommend this hotel to everyone.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
Thank joaniekentucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#18 of 163 in New Orleans
1,273 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#20 of 163 in New Orleans
2,554 reviews
French Quarter
Olivier House Hotel
Olivier House Hotel
#16 of 163 in New Orleans
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Prince Conti Hotel
Prince Conti Hotel
#53 of 163 in New Orleans
1,631 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#8 of 163 in New Orleans
3,152 reviews
French Quarter
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
#42 of 163 in New Orleans
3,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Place d'Armes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Place d'Armes Hotel

Property: Place d'Armes Hotel
Address: 625 Saint Ann St, New Orleans, LA 70116-3287
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#38 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#39 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Place d'Armes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Hotel situated in center of French Quarter & comprised of 9 restored 18th century buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Place d'Armes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Place d Armes Hotel
Hotel Place d Armes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing