We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Place d'Armes Hotel
Ranked #35 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Perfect Spot”
Reviewed July 12, 2005

Couldn't ask for a better location. We paid only $100 per night, no windows, but who cared... good for someone who doesn't like to wake up to light, as it's pitch black if no lights are on. Only negative was a loud air conditioner, but that's petty compared to all the great things about this place... Simple yet delicious continental breakfast, gorgeous courtyard and pool, and ideal location and price make this hotel one we'll return to.

While you're visiting NO, check out the 5 course dinner at the Gumbo Shop, as well as the Crabcakes at Crescent City Brewhouse. Also don't leave without a praline. Finally, I bought a package of Bananas Foster mix which was simple to make and absolutely delicious.

If you're looking for good jazz/blues or a more laid back atmosphere than Bourbon, you'll find it all on Decatur Street.

Beware though, it was hot and humid as anything in New Orleans in June. You'll be sweating all day from June through August!

Stayed June 2005
Helpful?
4 Thank amtrakjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,075
    837
    194
    91
    66
See reviews for
433
975
92
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (646)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 11, 2005

Me and a group of colleagues made reservations to stay at this hotel. Within two days of our visit a member of our party contracted a highly infectious staph infection and we had to cancel. In lieu of cancelling I rescheduled. I was told that the charge for the two rooms, due to cancelling within the 72 hour period, would be applied to the next stay. When that time came it turned out that I was charged for the first night's stay on both rooms and NONE of that money would apply to a future room. I finally, after many, many calls spoke to a manager who was rude and diffiult to work with and the best he would do was give us one night credit on a slow night but not a weekend night unless we PAID for the other weekend night. Like they didn't have enough of my money?

I have stayed at many hotels and on occassion I have had to cancel at the last minute and NEVER have I had to forfeit $300.

They must think they are the only hotel in the French Quarter.

Stayed June 2005
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Managing Partner at Place d'Armes Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2005
This guest was well aware and informed of deposit policies and procedures and is merely irritated that we enforced a well-documented policy. The scenario described by the guest is inaccurate.

Because the hotel suffered a revenue loss as a result of the late cancellation, the guarantee policy was enforced. Even though the hotel is under NO OBLIGATION, we regularly allow late cancelled reservation deposits to be credited to future stays when no loss of revenue is suffered.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 7, 2005

The Place D'Armes is so wonderful we almost want to keep it for ourselves and our friends that visit New Orleans. The courtyard welcomes you to sit and simply relax - a wonderful place to read a book or chat with the other guests. The hotel personnel were always friendly and ready to help. This hotel is on a quiet street in the heart of the French Quarter within a block or two of the Cafe du Monde and Bourbon Street. Jackson Square is right across the street. We could walk to everything including the carriage rides, steamboats, streetcars, and more restaurants and shops than we could count. The Place D'Armes has romance and charm and you truly experience New Orleans at its finest!

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 3, 2005

A delightful little hotel, an oasis of calm and tranquility, yet slap bang in the middle of the action. The courtyard is delightful and the staff very friendly and helpful. If Julie is on reception when you go, make sure to take her up on her restaurant suggestions!

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 30, 2005

My wife & I stayed for 2 nights at the Place d'Armes and were extremely satisfied with our stay. The staff was friendly and helpful. The accommodations were comfortable and aesthetically pleasing. We would stay there again in a heartbeat. I have already recommended the Place d'Armes to my two daughters who occasionally travel to New Orleans.

W. J. Sundburg

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California Hot Springs, California
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2005

My husband is in the military and is stationed in Louisiana. Over the past three years, we have fallen in love with New Orleans and all that the city has to offer. Two weeks ago, my sister decided that she would come for a visit, and I knew that I just HAD to show her New Orleans.

I made reservations for the Place D'Armes because of its location and historic atmosphere. It is about a block from Bourbon Street and a block from Jackson Square. It's ideal for wandering the city during the day as it is close to the French Market and all the little shops so that you don't have to lug your shopping finds all over town. It's close to The Court of the Two Sisters (a MUST for any NO trip) and the antique and art stores on Royal. And it's only one block away from infamous Bourban Street with all its clubs and nightlife. It's also only about four blocks from Frenchman Row where the best live music from jazz to reggae can be found.

The hotel itself is beatiful in a classic New Orleans way. It's not fancy and flashy...rather it's charming and understated in its old-world elegance. The hotel is made up of nine connecting buildings that surround a courtyard so beautiful that we could have never left the hotel and still had a wonderful stay.

There was a slight problem upon our check-in as the room we had reserved (with a balcony) was not the room we were given (with a shared terrace). Julie at the front desk was upset to find the mistake and more upset that since the hotel was at full occupancy, there was no way she could move us to another room. The hotel sent a complimentary bottle of chamgagne to our room with a hand-written note of apology, and the next day the supervisor reduced the rate of our room and comped the parking for us to make up for the inconvenience.

If you are afraid to stay in the French Quarter because you want a quiet relaxing stay not a party atmosphere, this is the hotel for you. It has the location, the atmosphere, the charm, and the gracious staff to give you a peaceful, romantic (if you're not with your sister!) stay.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank kyra_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helotes, TX
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2005

My wife, son and I stayed at Place D'Armes in late June 2005. Everything was to our expectations and more. The directions to the hotel (we drove from Texas) on their website were perfect and led us directly to the parking garage. The valet parking and attendants were extremely courteous and helpful as was the desk clerk and Concierge. In fact, my wife had asked for a listing of book stores in the quarter and the next morning, we had a list that was good to go.

The room was very nice. Clean and comfortable, plus it was very quiet. Our room faced the courtyard and I would recommend that you get a room that has the courtyard view. It is worth the small additional amount.

The continental breakfast was excellent as well.

When we travel to New Orleans again, we will stay at Place D'Armes.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank DGFHelotes_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#20 of 163 in New Orleans
1,276 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#19 of 163 in New Orleans
2,555 reviews
French Quarter
Olivier House Hotel
Olivier House Hotel
#16 of 163 in New Orleans
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Prince Conti Hotel
Prince Conti Hotel
#53 of 163 in New Orleans
1,631 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#8 of 163 in New Orleans
3,154 reviews
French Quarter
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
#42 of 163 in New Orleans
3,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Place d'Armes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Place d'Armes Hotel

Property: Place d'Armes Hotel
Address: 625 Saint Ann St, New Orleans, LA 70116-3287
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#38 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#39 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Place d'Armes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Hotel situated in center of French Quarter & comprised of 9 restored 18th century buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Place d'Armes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Place d Armes Hotel
Hotel Place d Armes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing