We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Place d'Armes Hotel
Ranked #33 of 164 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed July 3, 2005

A delightful little hotel, an oasis of calm and tranquility, yet slap bang in the middle of the action. The courtyard is delightful and the staff very friendly and helpful. If Julie is on reception when you go, make sure to take her up on her restaurant suggestions!

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,083
    841
    194
    91
    66
See reviews for
439
977
94
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (647)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 30, 2005

My wife & I stayed for 2 nights at the Place d'Armes and were extremely satisfied with our stay. The staff was friendly and helpful. The accommodations were comfortable and aesthetically pleasing. We would stay there again in a heartbeat. I have already recommended the Place d'Armes to my two daughters who occasionally travel to New Orleans.

W. J. Sundburg

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California Hot Springs, California
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2005

My husband is in the military and is stationed in Louisiana. Over the past three years, we have fallen in love with New Orleans and all that the city has to offer. Two weeks ago, my sister decided that she would come for a visit, and I knew that I just HAD to show her New Orleans.

I made reservations for the Place D'Armes because of its location and historic atmosphere. It is about a block from Bourbon Street and a block from Jackson Square. It's ideal for wandering the city during the day as it is close to the French Market and all the little shops so that you don't have to lug your shopping finds all over town. It's close to The Court of the Two Sisters (a MUST for any NO trip) and the antique and art stores on Royal. And it's only one block away from infamous Bourban Street with all its clubs and nightlife. It's also only about four blocks from Frenchman Row where the best live music from jazz to reggae can be found.

The hotel itself is beatiful in a classic New Orleans way. It's not fancy and flashy...rather it's charming and understated in its old-world elegance. The hotel is made up of nine connecting buildings that surround a courtyard so beautiful that we could have never left the hotel and still had a wonderful stay.

There was a slight problem upon our check-in as the room we had reserved (with a balcony) was not the room we were given (with a shared terrace). Julie at the front desk was upset to find the mistake and more upset that since the hotel was at full occupancy, there was no way she could move us to another room. The hotel sent a complimentary bottle of chamgagne to our room with a hand-written note of apology, and the next day the supervisor reduced the rate of our room and comped the parking for us to make up for the inconvenience.

If you are afraid to stay in the French Quarter because you want a quiet relaxing stay not a party atmosphere, this is the hotel for you. It has the location, the atmosphere, the charm, and the gracious staff to give you a peaceful, romantic (if you're not with your sister!) stay.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank kyra_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helotes, TX
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2005

My wife, son and I stayed at Place D'Armes in late June 2005. Everything was to our expectations and more. The directions to the hotel (we drove from Texas) on their website were perfect and led us directly to the parking garage. The valet parking and attendants were extremely courteous and helpful as was the desk clerk and Concierge. In fact, my wife had asked for a listing of book stores in the quarter and the next morning, we had a list that was good to go.

The room was very nice. Clean and comfortable, plus it was very quiet. Our room faced the courtyard and I would recommend that you get a room that has the courtyard view. It is worth the small additional amount.

The continental breakfast was excellent as well.

When we travel to New Orleans again, we will stay at Place D'Armes.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank DGFHelotes_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 28, 2005

Let me start by saying that the Place D'Armes Hotel is the most romantic place I have ever stayed. I recently took my fiance there to ask her to marry me. Upon arrival, I could not help but see that this place is extremely well cared for! The staff is top notch in all aspects, the room was beautiful, and clean. The staff somehow found out about our special occasion and sent us a bottle of champagne to celebrate with. Talk about unexpected. I had read previous reviews and was a little nervous. I did not see any evidence of what other people had experienced. My fiance and I are now planning on coming back to the hotel for our honeymoon! Hats off to the staff and management of the Place D'Armes Hotel. You all deserve raises! Thank you, thank you, thank you!

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenner california
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2005

June 20-23, 2005: We, a group of 10 friends and family, booked our courtyard rooms at the Place D'Armes over the internet and were pleasantly relieved to find it quite acceptable. The rooms had "old French style" charm, the courtyards and pool were a welcome afternoon retreat, and the morning coffee and croissants (and the friendly woman who maintained the breakfast room) made visits to the crowded and touristy Cafe Du Monde unnecessary. The location can't be beat - one block from Jackson Square and Bourbon Street, but on quiet St. Ann Street. The only drawbacks were the dark bathrooms, the cleaning product and/or musty scent in some of the rooms, and the $20/day parking charge. Don't forget to show your AAA card at check-in. The rate won't be honored at check-out. Front desk staff were also very friendly. We all agreed we'd stay there again.

Helpful?
4 Thank bkb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2005

Let me start off by saying that I was a little unsure about staying here after reading some of the reviews but my fears were quickly put to rest. When we arrived our rooms weren't ready but the front desk staff and bellboys quickly helped us store our luggage. After walking around the square we returned and our room was ready. Our luggage was brought up within 5 minutes. We had an interior room (no window) but didn't miss the window at all. The room was small but I never really felt cramped. Afterall, you don't come to NOLA to stay in the room! The room was exactly as shown on the web page and was also very clean. The courtyard and pool area was great. Extremely quiet even at midnight on a Saturday when Bourbon Street (2 blocks away) was going at full speed. The breakfast consisted of coffee, orange juice, croissants and cinnamon rolls. Nothing too fancy but enough to get you going and back out the door. On checkout day we reserved a cab with the front desk and set out to do more shopping/siteseeing. Upon our return our cab and luggage was waiting for us. My only complaint was our room didn't get housekeeping service one day because they were shorthanded but they did call and ask if we needed anything and quickly brought us some clean towels. All staff members were extremely helpful in giving directions, restaurant suggestions, etc. Anytime we saw an employee they greeted us with a smile and a Good Morning or Good Evening. Can't beat the location and I will stay here everytime I return!!!

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Noahsark99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#22 of 164 in New Orleans
1,307 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#18 of 164 in New Orleans
2,588 reviews
French Quarter
Olivier House Hotel
Olivier House Hotel
#14 of 164 in New Orleans
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#10 of 164 in New Orleans
3,199 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 164 in New Orleans
5,836 reviews
French Quarter
Prince Conti Hotel
Prince Conti Hotel
#53 of 164 in New Orleans
1,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Place d'Armes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Place d'Armes Hotel

Property: Place d'Armes Hotel
Address: 625 Saint Ann St, New Orleans, LA 70116-3287
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#38 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#39 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Place d'Armes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Hotel situated in center of French Quarter & comprised of 9 restored 18th century buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Place d'Armes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Place d Armes Hotel
Hotel Place d Armes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing