We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't listen to the Ba-hum-bugs!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Place d'Armes Hotel
Ranked #35 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Don't listen to the Ba-hum-bugs!”
Reviewed June 12, 2005

All I can figure is that some you folks (most notably, yankess) can't be made happy- cause there is absolutely nothing wrong with this place. Place d'Armes is very nice. It couldn't be in a better location (adjacent to the square- see the cathedral out the front lobby), its clean, quiet, and a very nice place to escape the hustle and bustle- while never having to leave the center of it all. Within walking distance to any french quater attraction. Rates during the week are a steal. Request a room overlooking the courtyard.

And about my yankee comment, I work in New Orleans and more often than Southerners they are impatient, pushy, and can be just generally grumpy naysayers. If your gonna come to the big easy, loose the attitude. Relax and stay at Place D'Armes. Laissez Les Bon Temps Roulez!

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,075
    837
    194
    91
    66
See reviews for
433
975
92
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (646)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 12, 2005

my wife and i stayed at the place d'armes june 6 & 7 (for the 4th time),
and we wish to compliment the management on having a first class opera-tion! the employees were very friendly and helpful ( especially the lady
supervising breakfast the morning of the 7th), the inner courtyard is
absolutely beautiful, and the room was spaceous and quite comfortable.
we will be back and also recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
franklin, tn
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2005

Location, location, location. this is a nice old hotel (rooms are updated and clean). it's located just steps from jackson square and a block and a half off bourbon st. the hotel is very quite and private. we loved it. checking in and out may take some time because of the small front desk with one person doing the work. we requested a "balcony" room weeks before arrival but upon checking in...none were available. we ended up in room #222 (biggest room in the house) and it was awesome. the ghost tours stop outside and speak of room #223 being haunted. i would recommend this hotel highly. there are coffee and rolls in the morning, ice and vending machines, no bar or rest.(pleanty of those nearby)....this is a smaller hotel so if you like hotel with all the bells and whistles this place isnt for you. stay here...it's worth it.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank tn_heathen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2005

We stayed at the Place d' armes on June 3-5, 2005. We had a courtyard room with a queen sized bed in room 224. The hotel staff was very courteous and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable. Room 224 is located on one of the side courtyards so there is a brick wall outside the window but it is set far enough away that you still have a courtyard view and plenty of light. The hotel is not a cookie cutter hotel and every room is a little different. We have stayed at alot of other french quarter hotels and this one is our favorite because of the quiet courtyard atmosphere.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KeelyW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 4, 2005

We always stay here if possible. We consider it to be our NO home. The staff is wonderful and knows us by name. The atmosphere is filled with romance, history, and "old French Quarter quaintness".The rates are reasonable, and the complimentary morning continental breakfast is delicious. Each room has its own personality and special touches. My husband complains that I've told too many friends about it! He wants the Place d' Armes all for himself!

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 3, 2005

Place D'Armes Hotel, New Orleans on St Ann's in the French Quarter: We had a wonderful experience with the six rooms we reserved at the Place D'Armes Hotel. All 11 of us were very pleased and enjoyed our stay. A real credit to the management and staff. The garden area is so relaxing and pleasant with a quiet, friendly, and romantic feeling. The rooms were wonderful and part of the traditional New Orleans style. We were exceptionally pleased with the price and quality of the service received.

Continental breakfast with Miss D is worth the stay, and the wonderful people at the desk treated us like family and as special guests. (Also, they know music at the Hotel and directed us to R&B, Gospel, Jazz. We would not have heard the great music if it was not for our stay at the Hotel - an added bonus). The parking is located at the Hotel. (It was a great place to park and to be within walking distance to everything.) The room attendants were helpful, pleasant and devoted to their work. We felt welcome and like family. We noticed gentlemen replacing mats and taking care of items with a smile and greeting us. This was truly a Southern experience.

The Place D'Armes Hotel. We'll be back!

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level 4 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2005

My husband and I just returned from our vacation in New Orleans. This was our first time there and we did a lot of research before we selected a hotel. We ended up staying at the Place D'Armes hotel located near Jackson Square on St. Ann's Street and we can't say enough good things about it. We experienced two rooms at this hotel as the first night we spent on the top floor (5th floor) and then moved to a room with a balcony overlooking the street on the 3rd floor. The reason we moved our room was just so that we could have a balcony if one was available, which it luckily was. The courtyard of this hotel is second to none! Absolutely beautiful and they don't open it up to people on the street...only hotel guests can use it. The courtyard is loaded with beautiful flowers, trees, bistro tables/chairs, lounge chairs, tables with umbrellas surrounding a lovely pool. It is truly a beautiful site to see at any time, but especially during the early morning or evening hours. This hotel truly captures the feeling of being in the French Quarter! Both rooms we stayed in were clean, comfortable, roomy, and well decorated. Both rooms had one wall of brick, which gave the room a very nice look. We stayed in a deluxe room both times for a great price! Every single person that we ran into that worked for the hotel was very pleasant, accommodating, and welcoming! Southern hospitality is very evident here! I don't freely give out good reviews....but I felt compelled to tell everyone looking for a hotel in New Orleans to look no further....this hotel is truly charming, elegant, and everything a hotel in the French Quarter should be. If you want to experience the quaint feeling of being in the south in the beautiful French Quarter....the Place D'Armes is for you!

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DarleneT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#20 of 163 in New Orleans
1,275 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#19 of 163 in New Orleans
2,555 reviews
French Quarter
Olivier House Hotel
Olivier House Hotel
#16 of 163 in New Orleans
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Prince Conti Hotel
Prince Conti Hotel
#53 of 163 in New Orleans
1,631 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#8 of 163 in New Orleans
3,153 reviews
French Quarter
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
#42 of 163 in New Orleans
3,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Place d'Armes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Place d'Armes Hotel

Property: Place d'Armes Hotel
Address: 625 Saint Ann St, New Orleans, LA 70116-3287
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#38 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#39 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Place d'Armes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Hotel situated in center of French Quarter & comprised of 9 restored 18th century buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Place d'Armes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Place d Armes Hotel
Hotel Place d Armes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing