We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Our favorite hotel in New Orleans, historic, great location and affordable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Place d'Armes Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Place d'Armes Hotel
Ranked #40 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Haines City, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Our favorite hotel in New Orleans, historic, great location and affordable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

My family and I lived in the region (Diamondhead, MS for people who know the area) for a short time and always enjoy visiting NOLA. We usually visit NOLA 2 times a year and (unless it's sold out) always stayed at Place d'Armes. We almost always stayed here when we would visit growing up so it feels weird to visit and not stay there.

The biggest plus to Place d'Armes is, simply put, its location. You will be hard pressed to find a better location, right next door to Jackson Square, 2 blocks (if you want to call it that) from Bourbon Street, 1 block from Royal Street, 1 block from Cafe Du Monde and the French Market and very convenient to the rest of the French Quarter, Fauborg Marigny (where Frenchmen Street is location), the Central Business District and the Warehouse District. With that said, while it is right in the middle of the action, it is a very secluded hotel. You are very close to Bourbon Street but while you are in the hotel you would never know it, so it is a great choice for those who want to be in the middle of everything but yet still have a relaxing atmosphere.

The hotel is very unique in that it is composed of several old buildings that use to be a school (the hotel is supposedly one of the most haunted in New Orleans but I've never seen anything weird), so you get a variety of rooms. Some rooms have balconies with views of Jackson Square and Chartres Street, some rooms face some of the various courtyards and/or the pool area, and other rooms are interior rooms. All of them are nice but have a different room layout and feel to them. I have stayed in all three types and enjoy all of them. The Interior Rooms are good if you are looking to save money, the Balcony rooms make you feel like you are right in the middle of the action and let you see the French Quarter (well a few blocks in each direction, lol) without leaving your room (these rooms would be great during Carnival season), and the Courtyard rooms simply have a nice relaxed atmosphere and great views.

That takes me to the next point of the hotel, the courtyards, Place d'Armes has 2 courtyard areas (the main courtyard and a side courtyard) and they are some of the most beautiful courtyards in New Orleans. It is simply great to be outside in the morning enjoying your breakfast or having some beignets listening to the fountains and the church bell of St. Louis Cathedral. The pool area is small but has a quaint and very tropical feel to it (it's a pool area you would most likely find at a boutique hotel). I will warm adults with small kids that the pool does go very deep on one end (around 7 feet if I remember correctly), deeper than most chain hotel pools, but the other end is very kid friendly.

The hotel does offer a basic breakfast with free USA Today and Times Picayune newspapers. The breakfast consists of crouissants, bagels, a variety of pastries, milk and orange juice. It's nothing spectacular but it can still save you some costs for breakfast, if you want to eat breakfast again you are right in the middle of the French Quarter so there are plenty of places to eat. The staff is very good and are more than ready to help you with recommendations regarding attractions and dining in New Orleans. We have always had great service from the bell staff getting our bags to and from our room as well. The only very minor negative aspect of the hotel is that check in is at 4 p.m. and they pretty much mean it. I think the earliest our room has ever been ready is at 2:30 p.m. or 3 p.m. Now this isn't a complaint because the rooms are not guaranteed until 4 p.m., but it's not like most hotels where they can usually get you in by Noon or 1 p.m. if you get there at that time. If you do arrive to the hotel early just be prepared to put your bags in storage and have fun taking in the sites until your room is ready.

The best thing for most people about Place d'Armes is that despite its location you can pretty decent rates during non-event weekends and in the off season. During Carnival, Jazz Fest and other events this hotel is always sold out or ridiculously expensive. If you go in late spring or summer though I have seen rates for interior rooms go down as low as $75 and Courtyard rooms as low as $95, so the hotel is very affordable despite the location.

To sum it all up, if you want a hotel that truly embodies the spirit of New Orleans this is a great hotel to consider. This hotel is by no means a Ritz Carlton, Westin or JW Marriott, and if that is what you are looking for do not book this hotel. But if you are looking for an affordable non-chain hotel that is very convenient to most of the tourist spots and has a New Orleans feel to it, Place d'Armes is definitely a place you should consider.

Room Tip: Interior and Courtyard Rooms will be a little quieter but Deluxe/Balcony Rooms are great as well for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank gatorcard83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,087 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    975
    781
    183
    84
    64
See reviews for
390
904
83
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (591)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Prospect, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

The hotel is very charming, with lots of twists and turns in the layout. The pool is small, but beautiful - lots of foliage makes you feel like you're lounging in a jungle. We chose an interior room to save money, so it didn't have windows. We knew this, but it was still startling - very cold and dark, although that was refreshing after long days in the New Orleans sun! It was also hard to wake up as there was no daylight at all. There were some candy wrappers on the floor in our room, which wasn't a big deal until you wondered if they missed those, what else did they miss cleaning? That was the only negative though. The staff was wonderful, everyone from the cleaning crew to the front desk to the bellhops. Very friendly and talkative. Just a short walk to anywhere in the French Quarter, which was great - if you got tired or hot, not too far of a walk to get back home to refresh. I don't know the history of the hotel, but we did have a few weird moments in the night. I was traveling with a friend, and we both experienced what felt like a person sitting down on the edge of the bed and then lightly bouncing for a few minutes, then it stopped. We both felt it on different nights. The once she heard someone walking around at the foot of the beds and thought it was me trying to get to the bathroom until she heard me roll over in my sleep. Could've been anything, but we're choosing to believe it was something spooky to add to our vacation memories. :)

Room Tip: Interior rooms are cheaper, but very dark and kind of damp. Rooms that opened to the courtyard look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JodiDeniseHawks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Location, location, location. Old world Charm, Charm, Charm. This hotel was absolutely beautiful. The courtyard was amazing. Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful in any way they could. Location couldn't have been any better. I would stay here again and again and would recommend this hotel to anyone who is wanting to stay in the French Quarter. Breakfast was excellent, fresh pastries and coffee. Room was clean. Shower head was a little outdated but worked excellent. Only a block away from Jackson Square. Only 2 blocks away from Bourbon Street. Plenty of shopping, dining and sightseeing within comfortable walking distance from the hotel. Valet service was excellent. Price was great. We arrived a day early and they were able to get us a room and moved our bags for us the next day to our reserved room.

Room Tip: Courtyard view rooms are spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titahi Bay, null, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We were looking for a hotel that was in the French Quarter that had a sense of old world charm to it. The Place d'Armes certainly measured up to it. It is a quaint little hotel with a lovely courtyard and pool area. The location in the French Quarter was central and with easy walking distance to the lovely nearby parks and many restaurants. The room was large and spacious, the TV a little dated, but we weren't here to watch the TV. The staff were very friendly. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky USA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 1 night only on June 5. I wish it had been for longer. The check in was easy. They held our bag while we explored the French Quarter until our room was ready. It was very clean, extremely quiet which was needed after trudging Bourbon Street and the price was great. The only drawback was the continental breakfast... a little stale, but then again that's not the reason I came here. Café du monde was only 2 blocks away. Will I stay here again? Oh Yes!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mgrauch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Check-in was easy and nice. We had to have an attendant take us to our room because unbeknownst to us it opens into a beautifufl courtyard/pool and it has all these random stairs and balconies and snaking room assignments. We would have been walking around bewildered looking for our room. Not the best view and the room was dingy. The bathroom was tiny but at least there was air conditioning. However it was in a perfect location right off of Jackson square and for the time we spent in the room it was perfectly adequate. Don't stay there if you're wanting a luxurious hotel room but if want something coincidently located, not too expensive and nicely staffed then it's great! Also breakfast is very subpar but it's what you expect for a continental breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Missyalh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shippensburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Place d'Armes is our favorite hotel in the country. We love the staff, the decor, and the courtyards. They always try to give us our favorite room (I won't tell you which one it is - we'd never be able to get it again.) It has so much of the "French Quarter" atmosphere, it's even been rumored to be haunted, but we've never seen or heard anything unusual. It's very close to St. Louis Cathedral and Cafe du Monde and an easy walk to all the French Quarter sights and sounds. We've stayed there at least 10 times and can't wait to return.

Room Tip: If driving, stop at the Visitors Center and book your room. There are phones set up to connect you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janell L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#15 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 949 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#7 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 4,151 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#22 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 2,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Bienville House
Bienville House
#41 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 1,420 reviews
French Quarter
Cornstalk Hotel
Cornstalk Hotel
#20 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 480 reviews
French Quarter
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
#35 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 2,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Place d'Armes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Place d'Armes Hotel

Property: Place d'Armes Hotel
Address: 625 Saint Ann St, New Orleans, LA 70116-3287
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#38 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#39 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Place d'Armes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Hotel situated in center of French Quarter & comprised of 9 restored 18th century buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Place d'Armes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Place d Armes Hotel
Hotel Place d Armes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing