We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our 2nd Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Place d'Armes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Place d'Armes Hotel
Ranked #38 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
CLAY CENTER
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Our 2nd Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

We've just returned from our 3rd visit to New Orleans and our 2nd stay at the Place d'Armes Hotel. We just love this hotel!! Our rooms this time were a special treat. While they didn't have a window (except for the one in the door), our room did open onto a very, very nice sitting area, which opened onto a balcony overlooking the beautiful courtyard. We absolutely loved the room (#209) and found everything to be exceptional. That includes all the hotel personnel we met during our stay. Every single one of them were very friendly and helpful. Place d'Armes is THE place to stay if you're going to New Orleans. We've stayed at a more "modern" hotel, but really love staying in a hotel that's more "French Quarter". By the way....it's said the Place d'Armes is haunted on the 2nd and 5th floor, but the only little boy haunting the hotel this weekend was the 7 year old boy we brought with us.

Room Tip: Give it a try...you'll love it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jfmayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,033
    815
    188
    90
    66
See reviews for
414
947
88
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (624)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Crowley, Louisiana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

This quaint little hotel is near every attraction in the French Quarter and within walking distance to the Arts District and convention center. Yes, it is a bit old but that is the charm of the city. The rooms are done is the New Orleans decor and just charming. The room we stayed in overlooked the courtyard and added to the charm. The staff suggested places to visit and tours to take which were helpful. The continental breakfast was nice for an early start to the day as the local restaurants were quite busy. My grand daughter was looking forward to a haunting but I think we may have slept through it!!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the annex overlook the courtyard...great view and just charming
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brenda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
79 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

This was in the perfect location right in the middle of new orleans, but a few streets away from bourbon street so we couldnt hear all the noise! I really couldn't imagine staying in a hotel on that street it's crazy. All the rooms here are a little different and had great details like a brick wall. My room was a pretty good size, and the bathroom was average size. I thought it really fit in with the theme that is the city. I found the people nice that worked here, though our room wasn't ready until the last second. Would definitely stay here again! Also, this hotel is NOT wheelchair friendly, the ramps look scary.

Room Tip: We had a courtyard room which was nice to look out. We were in the back corner, which is near a musi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LOBSTERStravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, Louisiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

We've stayed here once a year over the past 5 years, and wont be back...regardless of price. It is one of the oldest buildings in America (litterally) and smells like it. very musty. We paid extra for a courtyard room near the pool, which was so full of leaves that no one used it. Carpet was so old and stained that we wouldnt take off our socks. And once we got into bed, I couldnt stop sneezing. I turned the lights on, and looked behind the headboard to find DUST AN INCH THICK! To make matters worse, the door had NO locks on it besides the card swipe handle. So any employee with a pass key can come into your room in the middle of the night. GREAT! The stale crouisants in the morning made us seek breakfast in the Quarter. Now, the location is superb, but there are so many better places in the quarter.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank terry m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

My husband and I just returned from 2 nights in New Olreans. Place d'Armes was recommended to us by a relative of a friend. If you like old and quaint, this is a great place and the location is perfect! We stayed in Room 118. The room was clean and comfortable but small. We did not encounter any hauntings! LOL Dislikes: Pool is VERY small. The TV was only a 20". It was very hard to see from the bed. There are no refrigerators in the room. No soap dish at the sink. The showerhead is very old and needs replaced.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelFriend_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

This hotel is where we stayed on our very first trip to New Orleans. It is a beautiful hotel, rich in history and culture, and is exactly New Orleans. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. The courtyard is lovely and romantic. The location couldn't be better if you want to be close to Bourbon Street without all of the noise, not to mention walking out the front door and be half a block from Jackson Square. We have recommended this hotel to many of our friends, all of which not only loved it, they stay every visit.

Room Tip: If you like to sleep late, definitely choose an interior room. With no windows, the only way to tell...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mounds View, Minnesota
Level Contributor
305 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

This was our 2nd trip to New Orleans and tried a different hotel than last time. We were here for 4 nights. We had a courtyard room (#128) and absolutely loved it. The hotel is located in the middle of the French Quarter - half a block from Jackson Square & 1 1/2 blocks from Bourbon Street. The lobby was neat, clean and well organized. All the staff members we dealt with were personable and helpful (especially Trevor). They have valet parking, so your car isn't accessible unless you go thru the valet. (Actually, they take your car up in an elevator to a parking ramp next door.) The room we had was clean, spacious, beautifully decorated. The beds were comfortable with 4 pillows on each bed. The large flat screen TV had 40+ channels. There were 2 luggage racks. There was no work desk only end tables with chairs. We had to set up our laptop on the end table. The wifi wasn't working the first night, but it was fixed the next day and worked the rest of our stay. Also, there was no refrigerator or microwave (having them would have been nice so you could bring back restaurant leftovers). There was a coffeemaker. The bathroom was large and very clean due to the excellent housekeepers. Our location was very quiet. The upstairs portion over our room is privately owned and not part of the hotel. Breakfast was a little sparse - coffee, juice, croissants, & pastries (but there are lots of restaurants nearby that serve breakfast ). Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Our courtyard room was very private and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MNroadtrippers66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#16 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,168 reviews
French Quarter
Bienville House
Bienville House
#48 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,566 reviews
French Quarter
Olivier House Hotel
Olivier House Hotel
#15 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#18 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,391 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel St. Marie
Hotel St. Marie
#55 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,854 reviews
French Quarter
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
#41 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Place d'Armes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Place d'Armes Hotel

Property: Place d'Armes Hotel
Address: 625 St Ann Street, New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#38 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#39 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Place d'Armes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Hotel situated in center of French Quarter & comprised of 9 restored 18th century buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Place d'Armes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Place d Armes Hotel
Hotel Place d Armes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing