We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Location Makes It Great - Lots of Charm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Place d'Armes Hotel
Ranked #38 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Shawnee, Kansas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The Location Makes It Great - Lots of Charm”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We really enjoyed staying at this hotel and would stay there again if needed. It was exciting to stay in such an old, historic building in the center of the French Quarter. That is, by far, the best reason to stay here. We also liked the small courtyard area since it is blocked from view of the street crowds. Very charming.
Now for the reasons I didn't give it five stars: When checking in we had a little wait till someone came to the front desk. Then, when we entered our room we found it quite dark and gloomy. Even with all the lights on it was still very dim, only one tiny window, and my sister felt so uncomfortable about that that we requested another room. The front desk clerk did switch us to second floor room that was a little brighter but she acted offended by our request. The only other disappointment was the complimentary breakfast. Breakfast is a little danish and a little cup of orange juice.
Stay here when you want the fun of staying in the French Quarter with everything in walking distance. Don't stay here if you're looking for a luxury hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,066
    835
    194
    91
    66
See reviews for
429
972
91
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (642)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

A really excellent location in the heart of the French Quarter. We had a nice balcony room overlooking St Anne Street. All Very clean and comfortable.Didn't bother with the continental breakfast. But the hotel was very enjoyable overall and would definitely recommend.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We booked The Place d'Armes Hotel on line and only had other Trip Advisor reviews to go by, but we really liked this place. It was in the center of it all and the price was great! It has that New Orleans charm we were looking for too. Our room was huge and off the really cute and charming center courtyard, fountain and pool area.

The wi fi worked great. We've been at hotels that charge $20.00 A DAY for wi fi!. It was free here.

The valet parking and luggage guys were extremely friendly, courteous and fast. The woman at the front desk in the morning was very personable, friendly and helpful. The woman at the front desk in the evening was not friendly AT ALL! She was all business and while she was very efficient, she could have, at the very least, smiled and welcomed us to the hotel. She barely looked at us over the 3 night stay we had there. That is my only complaint about this hotel.

The free breakfast was ok really. We've had better at other places and worse, but we were ok with it. The woman that worked in the breakfast room, was really nice and friendly. I had called the Holiday Inn in the area for a reservation before calling Place d'Armes. They usually have free breakfasts, but I was surprised to hear that they didn't at the New Orleans location, so it was a bonus just to get free breakfast at Place d'Armes.

All in all, I give this hotel an excellent review because of cost, location and charm!

Really, for the price, it was excellent!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank veniceexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We went to New Orleans for a Ghost Tour. We enjoyed our stay at Place D' Armes , I enjoyed the relaxing French Garden and coffee and pastries for breakfast. The staff was very helpful on recommendations, I thanked one of them at the front desk for the little bottles of Tabesco,again,thank you for the little bottles of tabesco, its too bad I could not bring the bottles home. I would recommend this as a hotel in New Orleans, you are in walking distance of Jackson Square and the French Market.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justinlawliet77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristiansand, Norway
Level Contributor
122 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

This hotels sells on location! And quite easyli I would guess. This also reflects the poor service level (if any) from the font desk.

Ok rooms and close to Bourbon Street - and 2 blocks up from the same street which gives you a chance to sleep as well.

Not wi-fi in all room!! Going down to first floor for internet access - say no more.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kennethtravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed at this hotel as part of a Superbowl package offered by NFL On Location (we were the high bidders in a charity auction). From what I could tell, all the guests at the time were customers in some form or other of NFL On Location. Let's get right to it:

The room had no windows!! That's right. None. Not small, not dirty, not broken. Non-existent! We asked to switch but were told all the rooms were booked. Though I don't doubt the hotel was sold out, we checked in Friday morning of Superbowl weekend. I'm sure there were many who hadn't checked in yet. We were told by the front desk that each room was specifically assigned to each individual party by NFL on Location. Impossible. I felt like I was sleeping in someone's basement. We drastically limited time spent in our room. The upside was if you could fall asleep on the uncomfortable beds, there was no sunlight to wake you in the morning.

The mattresses were old, squishy and of poor quality. Pillows -- hard and lumpy. The towels were threadbare. The televisions were enormous tube TVs, circa 1991. The shower had very little water pressure and just jumped from freezing to scalding no matter how hard we tried to moderate the temperature. Ladies, there is no conditioner. But ask at the front desk and they will send up three extra bottles of shampoo.

The staff there was not at all helpful, but then again they knew all the rooms were bought and paid for by NFL On Location and probably didn't care that we, the end users, were the ones who bore the actual cost. Personnel were ill-informed of transportation options. They didn't know when taxis were running, when they weren't. They didn't know what streets would be closed or which streetcar and bus lines were running and when. They weren't even friendly. You have to walk by the small front desk area to get to your room. Not once did the people behind the desk even lift their heads to say hello when we would come or go.

The "free" continental breakfast consists of stale pastries and bad coffee. But, as others have noted, the location is fabulous and you can walk to many places for dinner, lunch and breakfast, including the famous Cafe Du Monde. Muriel's next door was excellent. When weather permits, the hotel has a lovely courtyard where you can enjoy your takeout breakfast. You certainly can't enjoy it in a room with no windows (of which there are 30).

Room Tip: I have no idea how to get a good room or if they even exist. Just be sue to ask for one WITH windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank euronovice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotia, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We have been here several times and it is the Best. You can not beat the Location, the Super Staff, Etc. Located in the middle of the French Quarters (Converted Boys School)--Check ou it's Courtyard. This is one great hotel at a modest price--You can't go wrong with this one !

Room Tip: We always get an inside room (very quiet). If you don't mind not having a window, it's a gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ronwilltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#19 of 162 in New Orleans
1,254 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#21 of 162 in New Orleans
2,518 reviews
French Quarter
Olivier House Hotel
Olivier House Hotel
#15 of 162 in New Orleans
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Prince Conti Hotel
Prince Conti Hotel
#56 of 162 in New Orleans
1,622 reviews
French Quarter
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
#41 of 162 in New Orleans
3,152 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
5,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Place d'Armes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Place d'Armes Hotel

Property: Place d'Armes Hotel
Address: 625 Saint Ann St, New Orleans, LA 70116-3287
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#38 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#39 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Place d'Armes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Hotel situated in center of French Quarter & comprised of 9 restored 18th century buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Place d'Armes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Place d Armes Hotel
Hotel Place d Armes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing