We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Place d'Armes Hotel
Ranked #32 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 20, 2008

Charming, lovely, and more than I ever expected. This place is perfection.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank wind2730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,313)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,978 - 1,984 of 2,313 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2008

This is the most perfect hotel in New Orleans.Everything about Place d' Armes is the best! I had an interior room on the 3rd. floor and it was NOT dark, NOT moldy, NOT small. We spent minimal time in the room anyway. You could of ate off the floor it was squeaky clean every day. Maid service is top notch.We spent most of the time at the hotel outside in the fabulous courtyard.Terrific pool and landscaping also. The location is the best in the center of the FQ.The entire staff ( front desk-bell hop-housekeeping-maintenance-breakfast lady-painter etc.....) were friendly and helpful plus interesting to chat with. I can't say enough about this hotel and I've been to New Orleans 20 times in 16 years so I consider myself an expert :) Special thanks to Dionne, Nate, Frank, Carlos, the 2 sweet guys helping out the housekeeping staff and their superiors. We can't wait to return!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank missnmsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2008

This was our 15th visit to the French Quarter - We love the food and atmosphere of the Quarter and have always enjoyed ourselves while visiting. We always stay in or near the quarter for the convience of walking to all the local spots. This trip we reserved our room at the Place d'Armes hotel- our room was dark but clean and had a great almost private courtyard access. However upon check out - which took nearly 35 minutes- we were brought our vehicle from the onsite parking garage - the passenger's side door had a huge dent! We waited another 20 minutes to see the manager and fill out claim work given to us by the manager. Several photos of the dent and a video of the manager looking at the damage were also taken. After several phone call and emails we began getting a huge run around from the manager. We were NOT compensated for the damages. A year later we have not heard from the hotel or manager and he will not return our phone/emails any longer.

Stayed: May 2007
4  Thank tripwork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2008

The Place d' Armes has one of the best locations in the French Quarter, but I had an interior room with no windows and it felt dark and musty. Once outside my hotel room, however, the hotel had character and atmosphere.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fellowtraveler101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2008

The location of this hotel is great... Cafe'de Monde right down the street, far enough from Bourbon so you will not get the nightlife... Clean and accomodating. However, make sure you ask about your room first.. Ours had No windows, which was strange, but they immediatly found us another room with windows... The courtyard is very cute, and it probably is the best to get a room facing the courtyard... it really is very pretty. It is a small hotel, do not expect big hotel stuff!! No restaurant, but they serve a perfecly ok continental.. Would stay there again.

Stayed: April 2008
1  Thank heidiAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2008

Decided to try Place d'Armes.
Negatives:
Room had no window. Very dark. Small room. Dirty bedsheet. Bathroom had some mold.
Saggy bed.
Floor felt icky.
A bit on the dirty side.
Positives:
Great location.
Fairly cheap.
Nice enough staff.
Overall: Be sure you get a room with a window. Otherwise you will be in a very dark room.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank siroblio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2008

I just came back from a visit to New Orleans-my third trip and second stay at the Place d'Armes. The hotel has a beautiful courtyard with a pool, great atmosphere, and a wonderful, friendly staff. My best friend and I were there for a literary conference and our four days were packed with events, dining and shopping. The Place d'Armes is on St., Ann, next to the St. Louis Cathedral, and is so convenient to everything the French Quarter has to offer. One block to Cafe du Monde! Muriel's on the corner! (Try the Sunday Jazz Brunch). One block to Royal Street and two blocks from Bourbon. Request a courtyard balcony room, and you will not be disappointed. It is definitely my hotel of choice in all of New Orleans.

Thank TnChik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#22 of 166 in New Orleans
1,373 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#18 of 166 in New Orleans
2,697 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 166 in New Orleans
6,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne
French Quarter
Maison Dupuy
Maison Dupuy
#45 of 166 in New Orleans
2,113 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#21 of 166 in New Orleans
4,868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Place d'Armes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Place d'Armes Hotel

Address: 625 Saint Ann St, New Orleans, LA 70116-3287
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#38 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#39 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $110 - $326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Place d'Armes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Hotel situated in center of French Quarter & comprised of 9 restored 18th century buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Place d'Armes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Place d Armes Hotel
Hotel Place d Armes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing