We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Charming hotel in the French Quarter” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Place d'Armes Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Place d'Armes Hotel
Ranked #38 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Coteau-du-Lac, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Charming hotel in the French Quarter”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel has all the charm you would expect to find in the french quarter of New Orleans. The location is perfect close to all the activities and yet in a quiet enough setting to allow a restful stay. We had and interior room that was very clean and fonctionnal with enough space for two persons. The bathroom was equally clean and had a bath/shower combo that serve its purpose. The personnel was really friendly and helpful in all aspects. The included continental breakfast was a nice touch to get you started in the morning. The area for improvements are the noise level through the door which is rather high and annoying wheb you try to sleep and people circulate in the corridor. The room could also do with a fresh coat of paint. Overall a good place to stay to enjoy NOLA and the French Quarter thanks to the location, the charm and the personnel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacknife1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,068 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    966
    772
    182
    84
    64
See reviews for
386
897
81
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (582)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brunswick
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Location was excellent and I felt very safe there. The staff was very nice and informative. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Only downside to my stay was that I couldn't get wifi in my room, but I could get it in the hallway. Will certainly be staying at this hotel again.

Room Tip: I will ask for a room with a window next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

My husband and I LOVE this hotel! We stay there every time we come to New Orleans, even on our honeymoon! The staff is always friendly and accommodating, the rooms are always clean and well decorated, and there is a lot of neat history about the building. It's set in the heart of the quarter, within perfect walking distance for everything! We have the valet park our vehicle and never use it until we leave! That's how convenient the location is! We always look forward to our next trip back!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CD4508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparta, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Stayed in October 2012. From check in, the staff and service were great. The location CANNOT be beat. The room we had is authentic New Orleans. Great bed and bathroom, courtyard was a perfect place to relax, have a drink and make plans for the day. have been to NOLA many times over the years and it will be next to impossible to get me to stay anywhere else from now on. And if you need a great burger the next day to help, Yo Mommas is one of the best I have ever had the pleasure of eating.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CBG26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a few days in mid-December. Totally worth it. Our room was quite spacious and the balcony was adorable. Lots of fun to people watch. The staff was very nice especially the bell staff and Dionne at the front desk. They were extremely helpful giving advice from everything from places to see, tours to take, places to eat and the best transportation options. The breakfast was quite nice too even though most days we ate out. Close to all the attractions. If you are looking for being out all night and sleeping in you might want to ask for an interior or courtyard room as the street cleaning crews/trash can be a bit loud but that couldn't be helped. Look forward to staying here again

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank leahdahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Loved the whole concept. It is located in the center of town, you can walk anywhere. I hesitate to call it a hotel because it is more like a cottage. The rooms are spacious and quaint. I actually felt like I was living in a home in New Orleans. The grounds are beautiful, bring your camera. I truly hesitate to say anything negative but a traveler needs to known is that the continental breakfast is that. They serve a breakfast roll, coffee and juice. That's it! I wished it would have been expanded a little. Overall, beautiful!

Room Tip: Chose an inside garden room, best value!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

First of, the hotel is beautiful. Very nice courtyard, old but nice rooms.
But all this was ruined by the downright arrogant staff (except for the parking attendants, they were very helpful and were treated very poorly by the receptionists)
No good morning, just "name?" No directions to the rooms..i wish i could remember their names, but those 2 women ruined my stay. And after i checked out I saw that they charged me 31$ too much (we arranged the stay via the Louisiana Visitor Center and just had to pay parking for the second day, not the first) so I emailed them, thinkin they probably made a mistake. But no, they said this was the right amount. I emailed back, even took the trouble to attach a bank statement on which you can see they charged too much because it was 2 days later, but to no avail. My contact was Debra McGil. It shouldn't surprise me if this was the same rude woman as the receptionist.

All in all, this is my first review because I have never had a problem with a hotel EVER!

Do
Not
Stay
Here!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Tthart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#15 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 919 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#20 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 2,035 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#8 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
#32 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 2,404 reviews
French Quarter
Bienville House
Bienville House
#40 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 1,390 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel St. Marie
Hotel St. Marie
#57 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 1,720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Place d'Armes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Place d'Armes Hotel

Property: Place d'Armes Hotel
Address: 625 Saint Ann St, New Orleans, LA 70116-3287
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#38 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#39 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Place d'Armes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Hotel situated in center of French Quarter & comprised of 9 restored 18th century buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Place d'Armes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Place d Armes Hotel
Hotel Place d Armes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing