We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Place d'Armes Hotel
Ranked #27 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

This is such a beautiful hotel! The courtyard is a perfect place to relax. The location is perfect - right in the heart of the French Quarter, but that also means that it is loud. I read other reviews that said it wasn't bad. I disagree with that but would still stay here. Maybe a courtyard facing room would be quieter. But really, this is a great place to stay!

Thank Ashley L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,419)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,265 - 1,271 of 2,419 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2012

We have just spent a great 8 nights at the Place d'Armes Hotel, the location is very central just off Jackson Square and only 2 blocks away from the high life of Bourbon Street. When we arrived we did not get the room we expected ie no wireless Internet but the staff were very helpful and moved us as soon as possible on our third day. We would definitely stay there again.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank PennyL50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

I have stayed at Place d'Armes previously and just spent last night there. The place is in need of a total renovation. I went out early this morning to the Cafe du Monde and had to step over drunks sleeping on the sidewalks in the vicinity of the hotel. The room was very shop worn and I will not stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank RobertBerglin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

This was my first trip to the French Quarter, the front desk staff at this hotel are awful! Ciara and Dionne act like they should be paid for sitting there and doing nothing! Ciara was too busy in the back room or playing on her cell phone to be bothered with customers, and when asked a question, she gave a snotty response; Dionne wouldn't answer direct questions - we had to ask multiple times to get a direct answer; The Bellman service was excellent and the location was great too. But this place is like a Motel6 and doesn't warrant the prices charged. I would not recomment this place!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Todd A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

Great location right in the french quarter. Very cool atmosphere. Our room had a faint odor when we first walked in but didn't notice it after awhile. Toilet/tub room very small. Bed was comfortable and we had a good night's sleep. Church bells at around 7am woke me up but fell right back to sleep no problem. Valet parking was a plus-cost was $28 for the one night we stayed. If you don't want housekeeping to wake you be sure to put your "do not disturb" sign out when you go to bed. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vac2Rest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

This hotel is in a great location! Near the corner of Jackson Square and just a short walk away from beignets and cafe au lait!
Our only real complaint is that the floors are very thin. The room above us had four kids in it that might possibly have been training for Olympic-class gymnastics! We heard every thump and bump from them...some of the thumps shook the walls.
The breakfast is very average. Coffee, juice, and pastries only. We preferred to make the short walk to Cafe DuMonde instead.

Room Tip: I would recommend getting a room on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ekmhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Stayed here from 8 nov for 4 nights, charming hotel in french quarters, bedroom faced into street, was not noisey, it was clean and was bigger then expected with big bed which my other half was delighted with!! Staff were friendly, helpful and unintrusive. Rear garden court yard and pool was really nice and then perfect place to take your continental breakfast( which was adequate) out to and enjoy with the daily newspaper. Very central, a good base to explore the city. Would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Re requested room with window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joannDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#15 of 167 in New Orleans
1,487 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#8 of 167 in New Orleans
6,628 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#17 of 167 in New Orleans
2,821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Maison Dupuy
Maison Dupuy
#45 of 167 in New Orleans
2,356 reviews
French Quarter
Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#9 of 167 in New Orleans
3,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Place d'Armes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Place d'Armes Hotel

Address: 625 Saint Ann St, New Orleans, LA 70116-3287
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#15 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#38 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#39 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $131 - $313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Place d'Armes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Hotel situated in center of French Quarter & comprised of 9 restored 18th century buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Place d'Armes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Place d Armes Hotel
Hotel Place d Armes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing