We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Place d'Armes Hotel
Ranked #38 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Ambler, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“What a great surprise”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Didn't realize the incredible location until we arrived. 1.5 blocks to Cafe Du Monde, 1.5 blocks to Bourbon Street, 0.5 blocks from Jackson Square - in the middle of everything. Went with the balcony room - morning coffee sitting above Chartres Street with a clear view of Jackson Square & St. Louis Cathedral's spires. Beautiful rooms & huge, wonderful courtyard with helpful staff. Would absolutely return!

Room Tip: Balcony or courtyard, without a doubt!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmcm19002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,065
    835
    194
    91
    66
See reviews for
428
972
91
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (642)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, NY
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Unbelievable location - right in the middle of everything! Just steps to Jackson Square and Bourbon Street, and close to all the French Quarter restaurants and attractions.Pay the extra money and get the courtyard room, it's well worth it! The courtyards are just beautiful, and plenty of seating to relax and unwind among the fountains and tropical foliage. We spent a lot of time relaxing in the courtyards. The only negative I could recall would be that the front desk clerks were not especially outgoing or ambitious. Everything, and everyone else was just great though!

Room Tip: Defintely get a courtyard room, if it's within your budget!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stormbringer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

This hotel comes with a rather large price, and I'm not quite sure if it's worth it. Overall, the hotel is quite old and outdated. The ambience is OK, but there's really nothing differentiating it from other, less expensive hotels close by. Breakfast only consisted of Danishes, juice, and coffee. The room that I stayed in had no window, a large brick wall, and was incredibly dark and gloomy. The service and location was good, but next time I will find somewhere cheaper that offers more.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachykeen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

This is a charming little hotel with the best location in the French Quarter - only a few steps from Jackson Square! The staff are friendly, knowledgeable, and very accommodating. (Special thanks to Kore, who transferred our luggage from the hotel to a cab near Cafe' du' Monde when St. Ann Street was closed.) The continental breakfast is adequate (good pastries). The courtyard and small pool are quite picturesque. Our interior room was small but the beds were comfortable and the bathroom was nice. I really enjoyed my stay and plan to return!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VirginiaAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
80 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

The location of this hotel is amazing, its in the middle of the French Quarter, and within safe walking distance of Bourbon Street and Frenchman Street with out any of the noise!
The staff are lovely and the hotel is exactly what you would expect a New Orleans Hotel to look like!
Our room was spacious and clean, however, we did not have a window, so at times, it was very dark, and hard to tell what time of the day it was without looking at a clock - we did however know that when we booked and the price probably reflected it! Wouldn't change are stay though, as the hotel is great and the rooms are great too - location could not be better!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ohsmartymarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 12, 2012

My husband and I booked this hotel based on location and previous excellent reviews. This is a hidden gem close to everything you will want to see in the French Quarter.

The courtyard is gorgeous and the staff is helpful. We stayed in one of the inside windowless rooms (which have benefits for sleeping). The room was small but well appointed, and good value compared to other hotels we looked into. A great spot to be close to the action but far enough away that there is no worries about being bothered by all night partying!!
Would definitely return to this hotel for any future New Orleans visits!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cubs13909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

The location of this hotel is fabulous. You are only one minutes walk to Jackson Square and the Cathedral. All the main French Quarter attractions are within an easy walk.

The hotel is built into several old buildings that run along The corner of St Ann and Chartes street. I had booked a balcony room and our balcony was the closest one to the corner in Chartres street. Lovely outlook onto the street below, great for people watching.

The room itself was large with plenty of room for 2 queen beds, the desk was located around the corner In a little bay. The beds were comfortable. Because the rooms are converted from an old building the bathrooms had to be added in. Ours had the sink and wardrobe behind one double set of louvre doors and the bath/toilet were in another room beyond that, also with louvre doors. This means there were no solid doors between the toilet/bath and the main room which might be a bit uncomfortable for you if you are travelling with friends instead of family.

The central courtyard area of the hotel is a lovely oasis of green plants and trees with fountains and the pool . There are several tables and chairs to sit and enjoy breakfast or an evening drink.

The breakfast is an adequate continental breakfast, muffins, bagels, pieces of fruit (no fruit salad) coffee/tea juice. Not fancy but enough to start the day.

We used the valet parking which was similarly priced to other hotels in the area. Access to the parking is easy, the garage door is immediately beside the hotel entrance.

There are only two drawbacks of the hotel. It's location means that you hear all the street noise if you have a balcony or street facing room. We were woken by garbage trucks very early in the morning as well as the cathedral bells at 7.30 am. We stayed mid week and the evening noise from restaurant and bar patrons wasn't too bad but it could be a nuisance at the weekend. However this is the price you pay for being so central. If it going to bother you, you may be better off in one of the inner courtyard facing rooms.

The other drawback is that the walls are very thin. We were woken by someone receiving an early morning wake up call next door and also when the bellman arrived to collect their bags their conversation was easily heard in our room.

However, despite the noise issue we would stay there again.

Room Tip: The balcony rooms are great for people watching.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Andona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#21 of 162 in New Orleans
1,252 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#19 of 162 in New Orleans
2,512 reviews
French Quarter
Olivier House Hotel
Olivier House Hotel
#15 of 162 in New Orleans
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
#40 of 162 in New Orleans
3,145 reviews
French Quarter
Prince Conti Hotel
Prince Conti Hotel
#56 of 162 in New Orleans
1,620 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
5,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Place d'Armes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Place d'Armes Hotel

Property: Place d'Armes Hotel
Address: 625 Saint Ann St, New Orleans, LA 70116-3287
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#38 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#39 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Place d'Armes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Hotel situated in center of French Quarter & comprised of 9 restored 18th century buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Place d'Armes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Place d Armes Hotel
Hotel Place d Armes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing