We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in an excellent location!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Place d'Armes Hotel
Ranked #27 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 12, 2012

My husband and I booked this hotel based on location and previous excellent reviews. This is a hidden gem close to everything you will want to see in the French Quarter.

The courtyard is gorgeous and the staff is helpful. We stayed in one of the inside windowless rooms (which have benefits for sleeping). The room was small but well appointed, and good value compared to other hotels we looked into. A great spot to be close to the action but far enough away that there is no worries about being bothered by all night partying!!
Would definitely return to this hotel for any future New Orleans visits!!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cubs13909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,419)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,302 - 1,308 of 2,419 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2012

The location of this hotel is fabulous. You are only one minutes walk to Jackson Square and the Cathedral. All the main French Quarter attractions are within an easy walk.

The hotel is built into several old buildings that run along The corner of St Ann and Chartes street. I had booked a balcony room and our balcony was the closest one to the corner in Chartres street. Lovely outlook onto the street below, great for people watching.

The room itself was large with plenty of room for 2 queen beds, the desk was located around the corner In a little bay. The beds were comfortable. Because the rooms are converted from an old building the bathrooms had to be added in. Ours had the sink and wardrobe behind one double set of louvre doors and the bath/toilet were in another room beyond that, also with louvre doors. This means there were no solid doors between the toilet/bath and the main room which might be a bit uncomfortable for you if you are travelling with friends instead of family.

The central courtyard area of the hotel is a lovely oasis of green plants and trees with fountains and the pool . There are several tables and chairs to sit and enjoy breakfast or an evening drink.

The breakfast is an adequate continental breakfast, muffins, bagels, pieces of fruit (no fruit salad) coffee/tea juice. Not fancy but enough to start the day.

We used the valet parking which was similarly priced to other hotels in the area. Access to the parking is easy, the garage door is immediately beside the hotel entrance.

There are only two drawbacks of the hotel. It's location means that you hear all the street noise if you have a balcony or street facing room. We were woken by garbage trucks very early in the morning as well as the cathedral bells at 7.30 am. We stayed mid week and the evening noise from restaurant and bar patrons wasn't too bad but it could be a nuisance at the weekend. However this is the price you pay for being so central. If it going to bother you, you may be better off in one of the inner courtyard facing rooms.

The other drawback is that the walls are very thin. We were woken by someone receiving an early morning wake up call next door and also when the bellman arrived to collect their bags their conversation was easily heard in our room.

However, despite the noise issue we would stay there again.

Room Tip: The balcony rooms are great for people watching.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Andona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

This was our first experience in New Orleans, what a great wasy to explore the French Quarter.

The staff was excellent and were always friendly and helpful, the hotel was charming. We had a room without a balcony which was very quiet and having no sunlight we were able to sleep in after the nights out on Bourbon Street which was only 2 blocks away.

Would highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: We chose the inside room as this was cheaper, we were out all day and night so this was a good choic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruth w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

This beautiful hotel made up of several restored original buildings is conveniently situated on St Ann Street in the centre of the French Quarter with easy access to all of the key attractions.
The hotel has a central inner courtyard tropical style garden with a small swimming pool, seats and tables within trees, potted shrubs and a water fountain feature. The rooms are on three floors served by a lift and stairs to each of their own front doors and windows. Each room is quite large including a writing desk, armchair, TV, double bed, bath/shower room with washbasin. A hair dryer, iron/board, coffee maker, internet access are provided in each room together with the use of the internet and printer in the lobby. As the air-con can be noisy there is also a ceiling fan to cool the bedroom. Each balcony room has its own chairs and table outside. A buffet breakfast is provided in the small dining room or guests can take their food to the garden tables and chairs around the beautiful petit swimming pool. Car parking is provided from the street level by lifts to park within the building via a valet service at a reduced public per day tariff. The Place d’Armes provides all requirements for visitors to New Orleans.

Room Tip: The balcony rooms have the advantage of a view either into the hotel courtyard or to the street toge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charles s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed there during our first trip to New Orleans. The location was perfect since it's right in the French Quarter. Nearly everything we had planned was walking distance from the hotel. If we bought something that we didn't want to carry around we would just stop by the hotel and drop it off.

Our room was clean and the staff was very friendly. It had a beautiful courtyard as well. We didn't want to stay at a chain hotel but somewhere that had the local feel, which was exactly what it had! I hope we can go back to New Orleans someday and if we do I know we will definitely book this hotel again!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank MovieTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

This was my second visit to NOLA & my first time to stay at the Place de Armes.
It is a cozy hotel in a great location right next to Jackson Square. We had a balcony room which met all of our needs. The courtyard is beautiful and the service was awesome!
I was even impressed with the shower. Since this is an older building, I wasn't expecting much, but the water was always hot and had great pressure. Very clean and we will most definitely stay here on future visits to New Orleans!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Whitney Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

As other reviewers have noted, this hotel has a great location. Depending on the purpose of your visit to NoLa I would say perfect location. Easy walk to Frenchmen street (real music scene unlike Bourbon Street), just a few steps to Jackson Square, Cafe Du Monde and the French Market. Close enough to Bourbon Street, but still quiet. Hard to imagine a better location really.

The central courtyard is really very lovely... nice place to have a coffee in the morning, or an evening nightcap. There's even a small pool if you feel like a swim.

Other aspects are average or mixed. The staff is mostly friendly, but at times not particularly enthusiastic (with the notable exception of one bellhop ... a lady whose name I can't remember ... she's fantastic). The rooms are small and dark as you would expect in the French Quarter, and while our room was not shabby, it was a bit drab, and the bathroom could use an update. Bed, linens and pillows are not great. The A/C was very loud.

Overall though, no major complaints, and the price is reasonable, especially when you consider the overall atmosphere of the hotel and the location.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank headin_on_out
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#15 of 167 in New Orleans
1,487 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#8 of 167 in New Orleans
6,628 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#17 of 167 in New Orleans
2,821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Maison Dupuy
Maison Dupuy
#45 of 167 in New Orleans
2,356 reviews
French Quarter
Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#9 of 167 in New Orleans
3,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Place d'Armes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Place d'Armes Hotel

Address: 625 Saint Ann St, New Orleans, LA 70116-3287
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#15 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#38 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#39 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $131 - $313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Place d'Armes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Hotel situated in center of French Quarter & comprised of 9 restored 18th century buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Place d'Armes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Place d Armes Hotel
Hotel Place d Armes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing