We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, amazing building, affordable, friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Place d'Armes Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Place d'Armes Hotel
Ranked #38 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
345 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
“Great location, amazing building, affordable, friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

This is one of the coolest hotels I've ever stayed at. It has so much character! It's located right in the French Quarter, steps from Jackson Square. The rooms have exposed brick and amazing details and the staff is friendly and helpful, especially considering the hotel is so budget-friendly. Our room assignment was mixed up, and our bell-hop literally ran around trying to straighten it out. The pool is gorgeous, breakfast was basic but satisfying, and the hotel is accessible to travelers with disability, which is rare in an old building like this. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in New Orleans.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelsWithRuby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,071 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    968
    772
    183
    84
    64
See reviews for
387
899
81
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (585)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

Have been staying at the Place d"Arms Hotel for the past 8 years and would not stay anywhere else.The location is great and the staff is always friendly. Special kudos to Dionne who is always gracious and helpful. Booked a Junior Suite with a balcony which overlooked the pool which was awesome. Will definitely return to Place d"Arms!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaSuntanned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

Stayed for French Quarter Fest. Unbeatable location. Convenient parking, fast & nice valets. Front desk and bellman super friendly. Beautiful courtyard and pool...tons of character. Rooms are comfortable and have classic NOLA features (exposed brick walls, high ceilings and similar) but aren't luxurious. Continental breakfast is served in a pretty, sunny little room.( The breakfast itself isn't much but who cares.)

This isn't a luxury hotel but it is my favorite place in the whole city and I will return again and again. Love this little hotel soooooo much.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RAS2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

My husband and I have stayed at the PdA four out of our five visits to New Orleans. The only occasion we did not stay here we booked at the Provencial over on Ursulines (the Place d'Armes was already booked full with a convention). On our first visit we were able only to secure an interior room which was dark and damp (pretty recently after Katrina) but perfectly adequate. Our second room was right on the courtyard, and tho a bit noisy on the pool, we had a lovely stay there. The last two visits we've been lucky and have been given a large private "suite" at the back of the hotel, the windows of which face out onto Chartres. We found the room itself lovely, the new bathroom is huge and there was plenty of room for all my shoes. (You think a girl would learn before packing). As for the staff? Absolutely delightful (hey Ryan & Chris, hat's off to you both for making us feel at home).

After reading several of the reviews, it seems the negs are all the same. Bugs (It's New Orleans people), noise outside the windows (um, still in New Orleans, and right in the heart of the Quarter) and age of the facilities. (may I remind y'all that the character of these places is in the history, which means they are OLD buildings?). Kidding aside, if you want a real Old South experience, this is your Hotel. If you would be happier in a slick corporate hotel, know yourself well enough to admit it. Head up to Canal, stay at a Marriott and walk back into the Quarter. You'll be comfortable and the rooms won't have bugs. Of course they won't be in a crazy beautiful historic building, but we all need what we need. I need to be in the heart of things, and Place d'Armes does not disappoint.

The only complaints that seem bizarre, and borderline untruthful, are those about the staff. The bell hops, in particular, have without exception gone out of their way to make our stay easy and comfortable. The idea that they are rude or inattentive is preposterous. I often wonder why some people leave home. Traveling for me is an adventure, a submission to the elements around me and most of all, accepting the culture and friendships offered along the way The gals at the front desk are not overly ebullient, but do they have to be? I found them cordial and willing to get what I needed done. I don't ask more than that.

The Place d'Armes has become a home away from home. We just wouldn't be happy anywhere else. It's a magical place, and yes, there are loud noises on the street at night and early morning. If that bothers you, just do what I did. Have a nice jungle juice cocktail before you go to bed. Everclear and kool-aid does wonders for a nap. Yes, the air is always wet and it gets into the fibers of everything, and I do mean everything. Yes, the rooms can be dark, but they are not at all unclean, as some have stated. The humidity in this part of the country will leave a lingering must in things that are old, like the walls, and it just is what it is. But the staff does their job, and the rooms are clean, the toilets flush and there was plenty of hot water. The breakfast is a continental one, and it's free. I love the "dining reviews" on free food. Really? Because it's not a courtesy?

Sometimes in reading these reviews, I wonder if folks on vacation are looking to be unhappy with things. Traveling is expensive, and spent money can bring a kind of regret that has nothing to do with the hotels in which one stays. But I can make you a promise. In the land of the "big easy life" if you open your heart, slap on a smile, and just say "hey, how y'all doing?" before asking for assistance, you will find that the South will charm you too, especially at the Place d'Armes.

Room Tip: Tell them what you like. If you want quiet, ask for it. If you want to be in the center of things...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Mzscahlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wausau, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
51 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

Make sure when you stay here, that you get the newer part of the property for your room. We stayed here twice. The first time was a very pleasant stay. Our room was very quaint and had the old French setting. The second time, we were in a very old part of the property and our room was not so nice. Our mother wound up being able to be moved and they gave her a wonderful suite. They do have the most wonderful crescents for their continental breakfast. The staff is very helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryHeedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

We found the Place d'Armes Hotel to be in a fantastic location, well priced and comfortable.

Room Tip: Altho this hotel is located well off Bourbon street, if you want a REALLY quiet room you can save a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank artnbarb1288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

We didn't choose to pay for a balcony room, so our room was rather dark. Otherwise, the room had the charm of New Orleans. Very comfortable bed, air conditioning worked very well (great due to the warm and humid weather), nicely updated bathroom. The courtyard was a beautiful place to relax morning, afternoon, or evening. Since we really don't want a huge breakfast, we enjoyed the continental breakfast that was available. Good coffee, juice, and fresh muffins and other pastries in a cozy room with windows looking out on St. Ann Street. The hotel is in a great location, just steps from Jackson Square and easy walking distance to everything in the French Quarter.

Room Tip: If you don't want to pay for a balcony room, the courtyard is a beautiful place to sit outside a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missinggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#15 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 922 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#20 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 2,039 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#8 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
#32 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 2,409 reviews
French Quarter
Bienville House
Bienville House
#41 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 1,391 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel St. Marie
Hotel St. Marie
#56 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 1,721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Place d'Armes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Place d'Armes Hotel

Property: Place d'Armes Hotel
Address: 625 Saint Ann St, New Orleans, LA 70116-3287
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#18 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#38 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#39 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Place d'Armes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Hotel situated in center of French Quarter & comprised of 9 restored 18th century buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Place d'Armes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Place d Armes Hotel
Hotel Place d Armes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing