We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely love this hotel, courtyard, & balcony room.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Place d'Armes Hotel
Ranked #38 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Absolutely love this hotel, courtyard, & balcony room.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

We had a balcony room and the view was of Jackson Square and the front of the St. Louis Cathedral. They had an intercontinental breakfast but Cafe Dumonde is a short walk so we got beignets and cafe ole and sat on our balcony to have our breakfast overlooking Jackson Square. When we checked out we were able to check our bags so that we could finish sightseeing. The rooms, courtyards and balcony were gorgeous and the service was excellent. You will love the location.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimothy393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,040
    824
    189
    90
    66
See reviews for
420
950
90
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (629)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2012

My freinds and myself stayed at Place d'Armes 4 days in January The staff of the hotel was freindly and outgoing it was like staying with freinds we were steps away from everything in the quarter If you or your freinds are looking for a safe clean hotel just footsteps away from everything is is the place for you Place d'Armes will be my hotel of choice when staying in New Orleans LA

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ivoryk
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2012

We love the Place d Armes hotel. The rooms are clean , and the Staff are always friendly and eager to help. The location can't be beat. Mario, one of the Bell Hops was always willing to go the extra mile to help with anything you ask of him. The Lady that works in the Breakfast area is very nice and keeps evrything going there.
Can't wait for our next visit.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ivoryk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2012

We loved our stay at Place d'Armes December 26-29th, 2011. It is located in a perfect spot--close to everything you will want to do in the French Quarter. The Mississippi river is a block or so away, there is a park right down the street where artists set up their artwork everyday, and musicians play all day. The famous Cafe du Monde is a block away where people wait for the delicious beignets they make fresh everyday. It is a short walk to Bourbon street in one direction, the French market in the other direction. The room was so beautiful! It is worth it to get a room with a private balcony. The staff was wonderful--so friendly and helpful. We walked all over the quarter and saw other nice hotels, but I believe we stayed in the best one there. It is historic, beautiful, charming, safe and comfortable. I loved our room! It was very clean, and decorated in a warm, cozy way. We were celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary, and we had a perfect stay there. I would go back to New Orleans and stay at Place d'Armes in a heartbeat. We loved it. If you want to experience the French quarter with charm and beauty, stay here. I highly recommend this place and staff. The staff were always friendly and helpful and made us feel welcome. This is a great place to stay with a family as well.

Room Tip: Pay the extra to get a room with a private balcony overlooking the street. It is worth it! We love...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pass Christian, Mississippi, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2012

Our entire family loved the hotel. It was the first experience for our two kids to visit New Orleans, and this hotel was perfect for that. The hotel has a wonderful and friendly staff and the location was perfect and safe. Anyone traveling with kids I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a court yard view, it is peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelby123_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2012

A fab little hotel just a short walk from Bourbon street. Stayed for 3 nights in October 2010 and after reading a few reviews was a little dubious of staying here as I'm terrified of the supernatural!!! Thankfully, I never experienced anything remotely frightening or scary. We stayed on the 2nd floor overlooking the courtyard and pool and our room was nice. All I can complain about is the ceiling fan and air con, they were both really noisy keeping us awake even after a very long trip from the UK. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karistargel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2012

Charming boutique hotel just steps from Jackson Square; very clean and true flavor of New Orleans! Staff couldn't have been nicer. Could see Jackson Square from the balcony. Stay here if you want the true French Quarter experience; choose another hotel if you are looking for the Holiday Inn experience with modern and sterile rooms. Intimate courtyard. Would have given it an "excellent" rating, but the tv is kind of small and out of date. Otherwise, would DEFINITELY return!! Stayed in room 322 in a king bed room.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#16 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,192 reviews
French Quarter
Olivier House Hotel
Olivier House Hotel
#18 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
French Quarter
Bienville House
Bienville House
#51 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#19 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,430 reviews
French Quarter
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
#42 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,979 reviews
French Quarter
Prince Conti Hotel
Prince Conti Hotel
#53 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Place d'Armes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Place d'Armes Hotel

Property: Place d'Armes Hotel
Address: 625 St Ann Street, New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#38 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#39 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Place d'Armes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Hotel situated in center of French Quarter & comprised of 9 restored 18th century buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Place d'Armes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Place d Armes Hotel
Hotel Place d Armes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing