We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Perfect Stay at Place D'Armes”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Place d'Armes Hotel
Ranked #33 of 164 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Pflugerville, Texas
1 review
“Another Perfect Stay at Place D'Armes”
Reviewed March 20, 2011

We just returned from our Spring Break Trip to New Orleans and had another wonderful stay this year again at Place D'Armes. We plan to go to New Orleans and stay at Place D'Armes again next year on Spring Break. The room was great, the staff was great and the location is perfect. You can't go wrong by staying at this hotel. Our parents went with us this year also and they enjoyed the visit and hotel very much also. Fun in NOLA! See you next March 2012!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaserBevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,083
    841
    194
    91
    66
See reviews for
439
977
94
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (647)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2011

This was our second trip to NOLA in a year. Previously we stayed in the CBD, although a nice hotel, was just too far from everything. Place D'Armes was recommended to us by a friend and it didn't disappoint. The location was ideal! On Jackson Square, close to Bourbon street but not in the thick of the madness. A very charming hotel, and the courtyard was beautiful. A plus that there was a pool. Served a light sweet breakfast, but with Cafe DuMonde a block away, who could pass that up??? The rooms were a little small, but we were rarely in the rooms at all. Staff was very helpful and recommended some great local restaurants we wouldn't have been able to find. We love the city and this won't be our last trip to NOLA or Place d'Armes!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank norrisfam827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth TX
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2011

My family and I just got back from 4 1/2 visit to New Orleans and stayed in Place d'armes hotel. I had booked a room there with the understanding that I could get two beds and a sleeper sofa in their suite and thereby accomodate my wife and I and are children ages 19, 16, 12. The friday before we left I got an email that said we would have one kind sized bed. I called and complained and showed them the email conversation I had with a member of their staff which spoke to the 2 beds and they offered to put a sleeper in the room at no charge. When I get there and see the room it is clear the sleeper won't fit. So I feel as though I was lied to about the room and it nearly ruined the vacation. Beyond that there are some good things to say about the hotel. It has a real New Orleans feel and the courtyard that our room opened up on was beautiful and marred only by a swimming pool that was in serious need of a cleaning. The king sized bed was comfortable but the sleeper was not so bottom line is that if you are planning to put more than two people in the "suite" prepare the one who sleeps on the sleeper sofa to be uncomfortable. The staff was responsive and the valet parking was a breeze and well worth the price. Your car goes up a lift to a higher floor so security for your vehicle is never an issue. The continental breakfast is pastries and crosants (spelling?) of the quality you would expect from a grocery store and the coffee was fine and it was convenient to have that option in the morning. The hotel has a real New Orleans feel to it and I can't imagine a better location to stay if most of your plans focus on the French Quarter. Half the places we were told were must visits were a short walk from the hotel. Room was quiet enough but then we went during lent and most of the other guests appeared to be senior citizens so no telling how it is during Mardi Grass. So bottom line is that for a couple if you can get a good rate give it a try. If you are family and you care about comfort for your kids try someplace that has real suites that can accomodate 4-5 or get two rooms.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alpx5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayesville, NC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2011

Great location. You can just park your car and go. We walked and walked. It was two blocks to Cafe du Monde and about the same to Bourbon Street. The hotel is made up of about 5 older buildings surrounding a lovely courtyard. You do have to pay $28 a night to park in their valet lot. However, we never took the car out. The breakfast is sweet rolls/ croissants and cofffe, juice, tea or hot chocolate and fresh fruit.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hoganc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Ridge, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2011

Went to N'awlins for Mardi Gras. Some guys @ work suggested the hotel, but I had read some reviews that complained of musty smelling rooms & sure enough our room smelled funky (it had poured rain that morning). I asked if there was a room to switch to, but it being busy they did not. A day or 2 later however we saw someone leaving & Lyn @ the front desk was absolutely wonderful in granting our request. I would definitely return there. Free continental breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bcof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2011

If you're wanting to stay in the French Quarter, but away from the stench of Burbon Street (let's be real -- it's a prolonged dive bar), you can't beat the Place d'Armes hotel. It's about as close as you can get to Jackson Square without passing out on a park bench. It's incredibly convenient to a number of fantastic restaurants (including Cafe du Monde), the shops of the French Quarter, and even a corner grocery.

There's an attached parking garage, so you won't have to worry about your sweet ride while you're staying here either.

It wasn't perfect, though. The rooms were a little small -- like, where-am-I-going-to-put-this-second-suitcase small. Also, we had a room with no windows. (Let's reflect upon that a moment: a vampire-ready hotel room in New Orleans. Giggle.) It wasn't too much of a hassle for my wife and I, but be advised. If you rely on the sun to help you wake up, you may not have it.

On a repeat visit, we'll certainly keep these guys in mind. The only reason we wouldn't come back here is that it's not altogether convenient to the Garden District. It's a bit of a trek over to Canal Street, and if we want to focus on the Garden District next time, we might choose to stay out there. For the French Quarter, though, this place just can't be beat.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erickolb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2011

Not sure what hotel the other good reviews on this place are talking about, the one and only good thing about this hotel was the location- if you want to be by Jackson square. Plenty of other nice hotels in the quarter that have a great location. We did opt for the cheaper room with no windows so maybe that was the reason that the room was so horrible??? Needed major renovations, was tiny, bathroom was horrible- didn't want to sit in the bathtub, carpet discusting. I really can't say anything good about the room, it was pretty bad- really old. The courtyard and pool area was ok, pretty but old and pool filled with drunk college kids. The front desk staff never did or said anything to us that was friendly-just checked us in and that was it. I was so disappointed after reading reviews that said great rooms and friendly staff- some even called this place a gem?? Sorry, far from it. You are better off staying somewhere else, we love the Moteleone on Royal- a little more expensive but you get what you pay for!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juju571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#21 of 164 in New Orleans
1,307 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#18 of 164 in New Orleans
2,591 reviews
French Quarter
Olivier House Hotel
Olivier House Hotel
#13 of 164 in New Orleans
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#10 of 164 in New Orleans
3,199 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 164 in New Orleans
5,842 reviews
French Quarter
Prince Conti Hotel
Prince Conti Hotel
#53 of 164 in New Orleans
1,639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Place d'Armes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Place d'Armes Hotel

Property: Place d'Armes Hotel
Address: 625 Saint Ann St, New Orleans, LA 70116-3287
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#38 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#39 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Place d'Armes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Hotel situated in center of French Quarter & comprised of 9 restored 18th century buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Place d'Armes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Place d Armes Hotel
Hotel Place d Armes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing