We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“After Four Prior Stays The Hotel has Taken a Downslide”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
New Orleans Guest House
Ranked #61 of 139 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“After Four Prior Stays The Hotel has Taken a Downslide”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

I have stayed at the New Orleans guest house about three times prior to this stay, maybe four. I chose it for its convenient location near some friends in the neighborhood. I always enjoyed the owners Ray and Alvin and found it charming, well kept albeit funky, and a decent price. This year I returned for the Jazz Fest and stayed 6 nights. I had friends and family take three additional rooms and they were there for 3-6 nights as well. We learned upon check in that the hotel had sold and was under new ownership. We all agreed that we would never stay here again. There were a litter of feral cats roaming the courtyard, the place was very dirty, the continental breakfast was a joke and the coffee was not drinkable. The rooms were musty and the sheets were never changed in 6 days. The towels were thin and scratchy. The building looked in disrepair. We paid $239 for weekend nights per room and found a new hotel doors away for $209. A rip off!

Room Tip: If you have to stay here, avoid the annex....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonnaandSimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    50
    24
    24
    10
See reviews for
13
90
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

The pictures of the New Orleans Guest House are very dated. What looks clean and charming is actually tired, and dirty. No air conditioning in our room, rug was filthy and never vacuumed the 3 days we stayed. The bed was old and broken along with pillows that resembled a brick in a pillowcase. A great location, and the staff was very nice but that is where the positive remarks end. Skip this Inn when making your travel plans to New Orleans.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank SheilaPennsylvania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forestburgh
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

ROOM was filthy and shared with giant cockroach! LAdy at desk was nice. Location was good but the insect almost ruined the trip.NO hairdryer as advertised. WAy overpriced for JAZZ FEST. Cats and kittens were I'm

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarianP1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

3rd time staying here for the French Quarter festival. Previous time were a pure pleasure with the owners, Alvin and Bill ( I believe) tending to every need, offering assistance without being a PITA. This time, rooms were not cleaned, outside area in need of just 10 minutes cleanup, that was never done. Breakfast was less than enjoyable. Will not be going back to this location.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Flanaganspoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 13, 2014

If you stay here, bring your own shampoo. Breakfast was pre-packaged blueberry muffins along with other pre-packaged items. The bed squeaked whenever you moved. Coffee was always available so that was nice. Quality of service fluctuated depending on the staff's mood. We stayed a week and had to take care of the room maintenance ourselves. If those things don't bother you then you will like it. Personally, for the price, I won't go back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danceinthewin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Stayed for 3 days for our anniversary. Perfect location for the french quarter! Wendy and Phillip are amazing, Most friendly hotel staff we have ever had the enjoyment of meeting!!! We will definitely be staying here again in the near future. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tbason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We came to this hotel at the suggestion of a nearby hotel that was full. It was quite easy to get into and the very friendly owner gave us a discount right off the bat. We were able to renew the next morning at the discounted rate. It is cute enough from the outside and the main lobby is decorated nicely. It is safe in that you have to be buzzed in by someone from the front desk or use a key, it is unsafe in that an old fashioned key system is used and doors obviously are not rekeyed between guests. The room itself smelled horrible--just so muggy and damp and could really have stood an air freshener. The bathroom fan was broken, which made matters worse. The sprinkler system was dismantled on the ceiling, which made me feel less than safe. The bathroom was very clean, thankfully. The curtains and edges of the rug were caked with dust, however. The whole room could have used a good scrub and it occurred to me that I would never pay someone to sit and the front desk and buzz people in when they could be on their hands and knees scrubbing that room down! Our room backed up onto the courtyard, where drunken older guests laughed into the night. I can't blame them but it definitely cut into my sleep. The breakfast buffet was sadly nothing more than prepackaged baked goods and fruit cups and cream cheese which I am guessing were for the bagels that never appeared. The vending machines were out of order. Decent place in a pinch, but I wouldn't write home about it.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Treme
New Orleans Courtyard Hotel
New Orleans Courtyard Hotel
#102 of 163 in New Orleans
324 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Olde Town Inn
Olde Town Inn
#66 of 139 in New Orleans
284 reviews
Rathbone Mansions
#47 of 139 in New Orleans
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Garden District
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast
Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast
#34 of 139 in New Orleans
232 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Barracks Guest House
Royal Barracks Guest House
#35 of 139 in New Orleans
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Orleans Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Orleans Guest House

Property: New Orleans Guest House
Address: 1118 Ursulines Ave, New Orleans, LA 70116-2306
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Treme
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 139 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — New Orleans Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your New Orleans Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Orleans Guest House Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing