We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So glad I didn't change my mind about staying!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
New Orleans Guest House
Ranked #60 of 137 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Riverside, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“So glad I didn't change my mind about staying!!”
Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

What this little place lacked in a few areas...it more than made up for with character and great service. I read a few recent reviews on here after the management change and had almost decided to stay somewhere else...but we are very happy we discovered this little hideaway. The location is perfect. Far enough away to not be bothered...but close enough to walk to everything. The rooms are old! The house is OLD (And amazing)! The bed was comfortable. It is like visiting Grandma's house. Philip was so helpful...He more than made up for the need of a few touch ups here and there. We will definitely make this our home while in NOLA. Can't wait to stay in all the rooms and pick a favorite. We stayed in 10 this trip.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jeannie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    49
    21
    24
    9
See reviews for
10
89
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Definitely plan on staying here again - We came to New Orleans for a weekend getaway and loved staying here. It isn't a 5-star experience by any means but so perfect for what we were looking for. Comfortable room, clean, and a quick breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beckhow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 1, 2014

The management at New Orleans Guest House doesn't seem to care about customers at all. They're rude and condescending, even when correcting their mistakes (e.g. no toilet paper in the room), or asking a simple question (like "what time does breakfast close?"). Housekeeping is vitually non-existent. All they do is make the bed and fold the towels. The towels are so old and scratchy I couldn't tell if they were given us new towels or just folding up our old ones. They never vacuumed during our stay, not even to remove dead insects. They never once replaced the toilet paper, soap, or any other basic necessity.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Murs2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

The previous reviews are glowing, so it must be the new management. We were charged extra for double room occupancy presumably for the "continental breakfast" which consisted of packaged pastries (honey buns) and Otis Myer packaged muffins. There were stale croissants as well. All were served on the very dirty patio where the owners also had out cat food and garbage.

The room was in ill repair, the electrical outlets did not even work. There were holes in the towels and bed spread. The sheets were like sand paper and the mattress was very old and uncomfortable. The shower curtain, shower curtain rod, and shower curtain rings were dirty. They do not have central air and heat so the rooms have window units. The carpet is stained and frayed.

Finally, DO NOT PAY $20 to park a day. There's free parking on the street right in front of the hotel.

The location is pretty good, but the rest of it feels like a rip off.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Whitneynoelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea, Alabama
Level Contributor
119 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed here because it was pretty cheap, decent location and good reviews. Upon arrival, we learned that the front desk manager had just started that day and the original owners sold that morning to a competitor. So needless to say, the front desk was attendant was new. We stayed in Room 5, upstairs with a balcony. The room was fine, bed was comfortable, had a flat screen TV with decent reception. The bathroom was dated and not very clean. The toilet had dry urine on the back and the bathtub had “stuff” that eventually found its way down the drain. My wife wanted me to say that the bed skirt was ripped that did not bother me. The breakfast out in the court yard was very good, hot croissant and fresh fruit with juice of juice, coffee, milk etc. The lady who prepped it was very nice. The location is ok, it gets a little “shady” or ghetto late at night, but this is NOLA so I can’t say I found that surprising. On the other hand, it is far enough out that you don’t have to listen to Bourbon Street but can easily walk the few blocks to it. It is also a 2 minute drive from Frenchman. Last, it seemed to me that the manager allowed his friends to wallow around, one of them sat on the stairs as we came down and did not get up and move, that kind of ticked me off, but some people are lazy.

I would not say “don’t stay here”, but would caution anyone that you get what you pay for. We did not feel like paying $200 for a hotel and this suited us just fine.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roxanneandrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasper, Alabama
1 review
Reviewed July 1, 2013

It was a quaint place with a beautiful garden. 14 bedrooms and we stayed in Rm. 5 which has a balcony. The service was personal. The owner had some free time to orient us more of NOLA especially about the Mardi Gras. It worth it to stay there as it is just walking distance to most important places especially my favorite, Jackson Square (St. Louis Cathedral).

Room Tip: Room No. 5 because it has a balcony wherein you can also see some mini-hotels
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nanette16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Based on the glowing reviews on this site, I stayed here for a 3 nights a few weeks ago.
The staff was very nice and helpful, but this place needs a good cleaning. I will never understand why more care is not taken... When I walked in, I was greeted by a cockroach which pretty much ruined my stay from the start. Maybe it was just my room, but the shades, the baseboards, everything just needed cleaning. It doesn't cost much to clean, just get off the couch and get it done. No way I would ever stay here again. It is very close to the Quarter, and parking if free.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uhsig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Treme
New Orleans Courtyard Hotel
New Orleans Courtyard Hotel
#100 of 161 in New Orleans
314 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Olde Town Inn
Olde Town Inn
#64 of 137 in New Orleans
268 reviews
Garden District
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rathbone Mansions
#48 of 137 in New Orleans
353 reviews
French Quarter
IHSP French Quarter House
IHSP French Quarter House
#5 of 35 in New Orleans
65 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Barracks Guest House
Royal Barracks Guest House
#36 of 137 in New Orleans
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Orleans Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Orleans Guest House

Property: New Orleans Guest House
Address: 1118 Ursulines Ave, New Orleans, LA 70116-2306
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Treme
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 137 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — New Orleans Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your New Orleans Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Orleans Guest House Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing