We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightfully whimsical!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
New Orleans Guest House
Ranked #63 of 142 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed over the Easter weekend 2013 and had a delightful time. There is 24 hour staffing so when we came home late at night after our visit to Bourbon Street there was a friendly face to greet us. Breakfast was in the pink courtyard with charming flowers and the resident gargoyles festooned with beads. Classical music along with pink flamingoes- a great start to anyone's day! Alvin always kept our coffee cups full and was quick with suggestions for tours and dining out. We stayed in room 8 as my husband is 6" 4 and needed the king sized bed. The rooms are eclectic and full of whimsy. Everything is within walking distance and we enjoyed our strolls through the French Quarter to all the sights. We loved this little pink guesthouse and already are planning our next stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeeN624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (181)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 181 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2013

Stayed here over Easter 2013 and it's a great choice, especially as we had a car (leave keys with reception as the parking can get full so they may need to move cars around but will happily rearrange them if you need to get out quickly).

Guest house has real charm and the owners do everything they can to ensure you have a good stay. We stayed in Room 5 which has it's own semi private balcony facing the side road (semi private as although we had a door from our room there was also side door that other guests can also access but we never had any issue with this). Breakfast of coffee, juice, croissant and fresh fruit is served in their delightful courtyard where you mingle with the other guests. It's a five minute walk to Bourbon Street and Frenchman street although downtown is still only 10 minutes further on.

Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again, free wifi another bonus.

Room Tip: Room 5 has it's own balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrisedge1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

My boyfriend and I along with our couple friends stayed at The New Orleans Guest house. We LOVED every part of it!!! The staff was as sweet as could be and I felt like I had known them my whole life! The property was very well taken care of and has that "new orleans vibe" we were looking for. The staff remembered every guests name and always made sure we were having a good time and had everything we needed. I can honestly say we will never stay anywhere else in New Orleans........The New Orleans Guest house is our go to B&B!! Thank you Alvin and Bill for being so good to us!!!!! :)

Room Tip: The two rooms upstairs and out back are very nice and secluded!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meghann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

It's on the fringe of a bad area but we would stay there again. It was within walking distance of Cafe Du Monde and all other touristy type places. The two employees we spoke to were very nice. We needed a room for an extra night and they worked their magic to be able to accommodate us during the Super Bowl when every hotel in town was sold out. This is a no frills place but so quaint and friendly. Each room is different. Definitely worth a look.

Room Tip: The door to our room was right outside the courtyard. So nice! #9
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ck01019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We stayed one night in this B&B before our cruise left out of New Orleans. It was a great value for the price as it is right in the French Quarter just a few blocks from Bourbon Street. We were able to walk everywhere and the staff was very friendly and nice. Definitely recommend for those who want to stay in the French Quarter for a good price.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brittany K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

You should know before you go that the New Orleans Guest House was built in 1848. So if you are expecting all the conveniences of a Marriott, it's not that. However, if you arrive expecting a quaint, friendly, and clean bed and breakfast style hotel, then this is a very nice place. It has so much character, and southern charm. The people who manage it are as friendly as any people you will ever meet. They gave us some excellent suggestions about places to eat and where go for great music. They were always more than helpful. The breakfast was small, but nice. Our room was very pleasant with a nice little balcony; very old, but very clean. The bed was nice and firm. Located about one half block North of Rampart Street, they are within easy walking distance of any place in the French Quarter, without being in the middle of it.

So if you want a taste of the real old french quarter, and some true southern hospitality, then this is a good place to visit.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank salupm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Authentic New Orleans style and incredibly warm, southern hospitality make this B&B a wonderful experience. The rooms are beautiful and comfy and you feel like you live in New Orleans during your stay. I love the location, which is quiet (a rare thing in the French Quarter) and has a parking too! We walked everywhere and left the car safely behind. I first came to New Orleans in 1990 and had intended to stay at another B&B. My husband and I were coming to get married. The other B&B that we had reservations had overbooked and turned us away when we got there on a very busy weekend. The entire French Quarter was booked up. After calling dozens of hotels and such we lucked onto the New Orleans Guest House and although they didn't have a room that first night, they did for the rest of our stay. We stayed at a cheap hotel outside the Quarter for the first night then arrived early the next morning. Our room was not ready, but they stored our luggage and helped us with our bearings of the city, and had many great suggestions for dining and authentic N.O. experiences. When we got back to our room they had brought us a beautiful bouquet of flowers, knowing of our intended nuptials. They helped us order flowers for the wedding and get reservations for a fabulous restaurant afterwards. We had such an amazing time, thanks in large part to the owners and staff of the NOGH, that we came back each and every year for our anniversary and stayed in the same room (#3). We consider the owners to be good friends and love the house. We had our 10 year anniversary party there and had 20 friends come to stay. They even let us have a catered party with a 5-piece jazz band in the lovely courtyard. We have never known such gracious hosts. You'll always see someone you know there, as most of the guests are return customers. I recommend this place to everyone I know and was doing just that when I saw the last post on Trip Advisor. I think that they have this place confused with somewhere else, the manager is a man, not a woman, and they would never be so rude. I had to write to let everyone know that this is a great B&B!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Treme
New Orleans Courtyard Hotel
New Orleans Courtyard Hotel
#98 of 167 in New Orleans
337 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Olde Town Inn
Olde Town Inn
#92 of 142 in New Orleans
289 reviews
Rathbone Mansions
#40 of 142 in New Orleans
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Balcony Guest House
Balcony Guest House
#38 of 142 in New Orleans
280 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast
Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast
#42 of 142 in New Orleans
235 reviews
Garden District
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Orleans Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Orleans Guest House

Address: 1118 Ursulines Ave, New Orleans, LA 70116-2306
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Treme
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 142 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range: $112 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — New Orleans Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your New Orleans Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Orleans Guest House Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing