We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Beautiful property, good location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott New Orleans

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
JW Marriott New Orleans
Ranked #50 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
City of Angels, CA
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Beautiful property, good location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2010

We stayed at JW Marriott for 2 nights. The property is very nicely decorated with crystal chandelier in the front lobby. The hallway leading from Canal Street to the lobby via the bar and the sitting area is beautiful with lots of art work on the walls. The front desk staff was friendly and attentive.
The room was quite roomy and modern and the bed was VERY comfortable. There were complimentary water bottles and coffee maker, and you can get also the complimentary newspaper from the lobby.
The very good restaurant, the Palace Cafe, is on the over side of the street. We had a Sunday brinch there ans the food was delicious, - the best eggs benedict ever.

Only negatives: The hotel did not offer free internet access, and the breakfast was not included in the room price.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tramp08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,080 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    950
    750
    265
    81
    34
See reviews for
318
624
69
590
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (463)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greater Metro NYC
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

I travel frequently to New Orleans and find this hotel to be consistently excellent. The bell hops and front desk teams are appropriately polite and excude southern charm. I have seen them treat business travelers and tourists with children equally with respect. I find the roooms to be clean and represent the JW Marriott brand very well. As a returning guest, I am often greated with a "wecome back" note, handy concierge lounge schedule and my preferences honored. I find the quality of bed linens and bath toiletries inviting and the views of NOLA from the upper floors wonderful. This last visit, I was on the 27th floor with views of Canal Street and the French Quarter. The location is an easy walk to the Central Business District, French Quarter, French Market and Harrahs. While there are some great restaurants in walking distance, I have also enjoyed the room service menu. During this visit I sampled the Shrimp Po Boy and Chicken Tenders with the Pepper Jelly. My server was very personable and helpful; and my meals came piping hot and prepared as requested. This is the only hotel I would stay at in New Orleans.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Homechef01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niceville, Florida
Level Contributor
93 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2010

Thoroughly enjoyed the stay - staff could not have been more hospitable. Was in New Orleans for a quick family get-away and this location was perfect. Easy walking distance to the Riverwalk, the Quarter, and Jackson Square ( I've reached the age where the frozen coffee at Cafe DuMonde is easier than a hurricane!). Realy liked that you drop the car at the rear of the hotel and a main entrance at the front puts you right onto Canal Street at a prime spot.

Really pleased with the room - very lush accomodations throughout the hotel. Bathroom is a little bit of a squeeze if you've got multiple toiletry kits but not a major impact. Outdoor pool on 8th floor is really nice as we were able to actually catch a breeze and escape the mugginess after a long day. The hotel was pretty full due to a Saints/Texans pre-season game but there were never crowds or problems getting where you needed to be - maybe that's why it's the Big Easy.

The parking is a little on the high side of price ($32/night), but it was worth it to not hassle with parking and to worry about your vehicle's safety. I also like the Country Inn and Suites down on Magazine, but the JW is a class above.

Nawlins is back, folks - go check it out and stay at the JDub.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rwethereyet850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

Right by the french quarter and trolley lines to get you to the garden district. Seems to be surrounded by other hotels. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Beds very comfortable and nice view down canal street. Used the pool--pretty small but wasn't too busy when used. Seems furniture was new and nice. Would stay here again

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BadgerbadenATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

The location of the hotel is great. It's a block and a half away from Bourbon Street. It's close enough but far enough away from the noise.

I was a little worried about the previous reviews regarding bed bugs, but thankfully no bed bugs during my stay. Our room was clean and plush. The only cons???? No free internet and no HBO on TV.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gnalay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2010

Traveled to the area with 3 of my girlfriends for the annual Essence Music Festival over the 4th of July weekend. The hotel was in a perfect location, close to everything....shopping and sightseeing within walking distance!
Hotel staff was professional, prompt and accomodating. Hotel was clean and comfortable. A little pricey, but that was due to the events/festival that was taking place that weekend. Hotel was the perfect location, but tucked away enough to avoid the rush of noise from the surrounding areas. Would stay here again and definitely recommend to other travelers.

Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank shaq78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

I recently returned from a trip to New Orleans and stayed at this hotel. The hotel staff was phenomenal and the hotel itself is beautiful. I stayed on the 25th floor with a corner view and it was great! The hotel amenities are nice and I absolutely loved the fitness center and pool area. I will definitely be returning back to this hotel during my next visit to New Orleans!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank encognito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#69 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 2,989 reviews
Central Business District
The Saint Hotel, Autograph Collection
Central Business District
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
#24 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 2,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans French Quarter/Iberville
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott New Orleans

Property: JW Marriott New Orleans
Address: 614 Canal St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2308 (Formerly Le Meridien Hotel)
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#24 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#31 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#36 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your JW Marriott New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott New Orleans
New Orleans Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing