We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“JW Marriott NOLA”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
JW Marriott New Orleans
Ranked #61 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“JW Marriott NOLA”
Reviewed January 17, 2010

Great Hotel. Right by Bourbon Street and close to the French Quarter.

Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank ddlembo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,053
    833
    311
    98
    48
See reviews for
373
703
75
663
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (504)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
usa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2010

My expectations for JW Marriott Properties must be too high! Our 2 night stay (which we shortened from 3 nights) was very bad. The room was unclean, the trash cans had not been emptied, there were no towels in our room when we checked in...the heat was not working properly and we happened to be there during a cold spell. NOT a good experience. I would NOT recommend this hotel to anyone. My business partner has allergies and the customer service was awful when we tried to get a "non" down pillow for her. As a long time rewards member I was very disappointed in our stay. The exterior doesn't event look like the online photos and it was much farther from the convention center than we were lead to believe. We were with a group at the convention center and could have stayed at one of their group rate hotels but as a Marriott rewards member I thought we would have much nicer accommodations if we stayed at a JW Marriott. The property in general needs some TLC. The bathroom was tiny and cramped and the wall outside our room was banged up and scuffed. Not impressed at all!!!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brideinmex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
1 review
Reviewed January 12, 2010

We stayed here for a long weekend trip. Arrived 2 hours early and we were able to check in right away. The desk clerk was very nice and helpful. We were very happy with our room. It had all the amenities that a person would need- iron, hairdryer, safe, boutique toiletries. The bed was very comfortable- feather bed overlay and high count sheets. The rooms were very clean and the housekeeping staff efficiently cleaned our rooms daily. The hotel is located CBD a block from Bourbon St- easy to walk to the French Quarter. A trolley stop is less then a block away and and inexpensive ($1.25 one way) way to get to the Garden District. The only negative- the hotel room doors close loudly- so you can hear other guests doors slam shut when they leave their room. Seems like this is a combination of poorly made doors and inconsiderate guests. Other than the hallway noise, the rooms were pretty well insulated- while I could hear our neighbor putting things away in his/her closet, I didn't hear any tvs or conversations from the next door rooms. I didn't use the room service, gym or hotel restaurant or bar, so I can't make an comments. This is a great place if you are looking for a reasonable priced hotel that is clean and close to city sites.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank citychick76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2010

First let me start by saying that we had a wonderful time in New Orleans. We were going to do that no matter what. When we called after arriving in the area near the hotel earlier than expected my wife called about early check-in and where we should park. We were told to drive around to the back of the hotel where we were greeted with no self-parking garage, but a $35 dollar a day valet parking option only. There was no early check-in but the staff was wonderful and took our things to a storage are while we went out for lunch. A few hours later we went to check into our room. Still no room available NEARLY 1 1/2 HOURS after our scheduled check-in time. The staff again was very nice and we were given a 25 dollar certificate to be used in the hotel restaurant. 30 minutes later we still had no room, so we sat in the lobby and waited for some sign that a room that I had paid good money for would become available. When we did get a room I tried to get online to download a map to be better oriented. WIRED INTERNET COSTS $14.95 PER DAY. Most economy hotels offer their guests at least free wired internet. Once again the STAFF IS GREAT at this hotel. However if management is not able to budget how much time is needed to clean and ready a room for this next guest then they should be in a new line of work. I was overall disappointed since I have had more professional experiences with hotels like La Quinta and Econolodge than this so-called "better" hotel.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brenttcumbaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2010

The hotel has the perfect location with easy access to French Quarter, trolly lines, restaurants, etc. The Concierge is wonderful!! Parking is expensive, but that is the case with all hotels in the area. The beds are just average... no nice bedding and hard mattresses.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hmlars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, OH
1 review
Reviewed December 31, 2009

I did a lot of research before visiting New Orleans, including checking out many hotels. TripAdvisor was one of my sources. Thankfully, I selected the J.W. Marriott because it was a thoroughly delightful experience from the front desk, to the concierge, to room service, the incredibly comfortable bed, other amenities, the beautifully decorated lobby areas, ideal location for walking to the French Quarter, Harrah's, the bus and the streetcar. I did not use the pool or gym, but both areas were impressive - pristine. Oh, okay, I do have 1 criticism. The walls 'are' very thin. Fortunately, I had good neighbors on the 26th floor because had I not, it could have been miserable. (Doesn't make sense that a hotel would not use soundproofing in the construction - or at least in upgrading a place where many people spend time there trying to sleep). But, again, my experience was great. Paper thin walls seem to be a common complaint in reviews of hotels in New Orleans. The J.W. should be high on your list of places to stay.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarCleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2009

Spent a week at the JW Marriott and was very pleased with my stay. The hotel is perfectly located between the French Quarter and the Central business district so exploring the city on foot is very convenient. My room was spacious, clean and nicely appointed. The gym was well equipted with both cardio and free weights. I found the staff to be extremely friendly and helpful (not always the case in NOLA). I will definately stay at the JW Marriott on future visits to the Crescent City and would recommend this property without reservation.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luck-o-the-Brirish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#73 of 163 in New Orleans
3,426 reviews
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#17 of 163 in New Orleans
1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter
Central Business District
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
#80 of 163 in New Orleans
2,227 reviews
Central Business District
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
#22 of 163 in New Orleans
2,875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott New Orleans

Property: JW Marriott New Orleans
Address: 614 Canal St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2308 (Formerly Le Meridien Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#24 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#31 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#36 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott New Orleans
New Orleans Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing