We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
JW Marriott New Orleans
Ranked #62 of 164 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Not bad”
Reviewed October 7, 2009

It's a pretty old building and is probably due for a renovation. Overall it was fine. Great location.

Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank kangle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,056
    840
    311
    99
    52
See reviews for
376
708
75
668
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (508)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2009

Perfect getaway place. I got a great deal on this awesome hotel, so it made everything even better. Very close to Bourbon St for night life, safe to walk around. Also recommend Mother's restaurant few blocks away. The rooms was amazing,clean, comfortable, and even a little view of the river! I love the French Quarter, and love this hotel. Parking can be a little expensive, but you know your car will be safe!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karol_monteiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lima
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2009

My experience at this hotel was the best. The location is perfect, their advices were the best , and Christina ( the manager) and Kim ( agent at night) made our stay memorable.
Breakfast buffett is very complete, amenities are high end.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinzonero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2009

The hotel was great very nice, they gave us a room in the top floor and I was able to see the area from there, across from the french quarter, we were able to carry drinks from the hotel into the street and back to the room. the staff was friendly and it is a relatively short drive from the airport. Walking distance to the casino. The only bad thing was the Shula's steakhouse not really worth it for the price we paid!!!

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank favargas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, USA
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2009

Great Location, with all the Ameneties you need.
Pool was reall nice and required for the hot weather.
I could not find any good pics before I went so I uploaded some.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ebuzzm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
1 review
Reviewed September 1, 2009

You can't go wrong if you decide to stay here. We asked for and were upgraded to a corner room with a magnificent view! The breakfast buffet is fantastic--I don't think you'll find a better one anywhere, anytime. The location of the hotel is just a blip away from the French Quarter--easy walking distance for this out-of-shape 50-something. The room was perfect and the staff were tremendous. We even asked for a little fridge and they delivered one in just minutes. The roof-top pool was nice and private at times. I wish I were there now. 4 stars for sure but at a real bargain rate.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bja1386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2009

Stayed here for 3 nights, booked the room through Priceline for $46 a night.

I'm not sure if hotels have select "Priceline" rooms that are lower quality, but i did notice the key card insert part of the door more worn down than the other rooms around me. I did see some grout that could be repaired in the bathroom and a few ants crawling around, but nothing of any trouble. Given that it was the top of the line of Marriott, I guess I expected close to perfection.
Overall the room was in good solid livable condition, though it was a bit small. We did have an issue with the television and it's reception, there were a few nights that the satellite reception could not receive a signal on most stations, it was especially bad during a small rain storm. The room was really nice to stay in, but I would not call it luxurious. Entering the lobby floor was very impressive looking (also had great lemonade), but the rooms did not carry that glamor. The exercise room was quite large and gave free mini water bottles and complementary towels for the pool. The pool was a little smaller than expected.

The staff was typical and friendly, didn't really interact with them.

The location is across the street from the French Quarters, so it was very walkable to anywhere we wanted to go. It was a great location for not being in the French Quarters.

Overall, it was a great stay, and especially for only $46 a night, it was a great deal. I don't think I would pay full price to stay here though.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msukevtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#74 of 164 in New Orleans
3,451 reviews
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#22 of 164 in New Orleans
1,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
#81 of 164 in New Orleans
2,254 reviews
Central Business District
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
#23 of 164 in New Orleans
2,929 reviews
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott New Orleans

Property: JW Marriott New Orleans
Address: 614 Canal St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2308 (Formerly Le Meridien Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#24 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#31 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#36 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott New Orleans
New Orleans Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing