We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
JW Marriott New Orleans
Ranked #60 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
San Ramon, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“What a great stay”
Reviewed June 15, 2005

We stayed here with a group of friends for a recent New Orleans getaway. What a great hotel!

The location is fabulous (just across Canal Street from the French Quarter, and only a few blocks down Canal to the riverfront area). Every staff member we encountered was friendly and went out of their way to be helpful. The rooms are very nicely furnished.

The only complaint I can think of is that the bathrooms are a little small, but very typical of downtown business hotels. But all the good aspects of this property far outweigh that one nit-picky detail.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank BradCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,049
    831
    309
    98
    48
See reviews for
372
701
75
662
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (502)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 22, 2005

I've stayed at Marriots before and had top-notch service, but this was one of my worst hotel experience ever. I left a message for the hotel to allow my sister, who would be arriving from San Francisco 3 hours before I would be checking in, to be able to check-in and get access to my prepaid room. The message was never given. She in turn left a message at the front desk to let me know she was in the hotel restaurant waiting for me. The message was never given. I checked-in and got settled in my room. My sister does not have a cell phone in case you're wondering. I decided to go to the restaurant and eat, but wanted to leave a message at the front desk for when she arrived. I was told a paper message would be thrown away and given the impression that a message would be ineffective. Obviously this JW Marriot has inefficiency issues with messages. The list goes on: a rude and discourteous valet, had to call for housekeeping at 3:30 in the afternoon because the room hadn't been cleaned, had to call for toilet paper, short-circuited iron, short-handed bar staff, took 30 minutes to get my car out of valet at check-out. New Orleans was great, but the stay at this JW made the trip a disappointment.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
33 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2005

During my arrival for the Bayou Classic weekend in November i was looking at the buliding like its small but when i step in we got our keys and headed up to the 12th floor once we step in the room it was awesome the bed the sofa even the bathroom and a nice view of Canal Street/the beginning of Bourbon St the workers were so friendly and the ice manchine was even in a good location! overall the hotel was awesome being that the regular/orginal Marriott was booked up i thought this once was not like the other one but it prove me wrong, i held a party and it turn out nice! Go Grambling! overall its outstanding! its 2 things that may get you! 1 the location its kinda hard to find the place and plus the parking is crazy! 2 is during special events they may give you a wristband but pretty much after 9pm if you bring someone up to your room if she/he dont have a wristband security may give her/he a hard time. It's worth it.

The Carter
New Orleans,LA

Helpful?
23 Thank Whoadie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2005

While at a conference in NO, stayed at JW Marriott for 5 days this past week. Quick note - had a great time in New Orleans! It has been several years since last visit and that won't happen again.

The Good:
The staff is mostly topnotch and customer oriented.
Location - the hotel is on Canal, which is easy for getting around.
Quick check-in and check-out.
Room furnishings were nice and room was kept very clean.
Housekeeping staff was excellent!
Room service was quick, but food was average at best.
The Bad:
The rooms have paper thin walls. Called front desk several times at 3, 4, 5 am to complain about this as I had no chance to sleep.
Heard parties in several rooms just walking down the halls 24/7.
You'll hear doors opening (loud clunk noise) and closing all day/night.
The concierge was always busy and wait time was 15 - 30 minutes.
The Verdict:
Would not stay here again for free.
Thankfully the Sheraton was a 30 second walk for Starbucks and several better choices are within a couple of blocks here for next visit.

  • Stayed May 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
27 Thank Jody B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 3, 2005

I stayed at the JW during a conference I was attending. My husband came with me. We both found the hotel to be excellent. It is only 2 blocks to the French Quarter, very clean and the staff is excellent. The staff goes out of their way to make your stay fun and comfortable. The hotel itself is beautiful and the elevators are quick. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed April 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
24 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 26, 2005

I can't say more about this place. The room was fantastic, the service was great, and it's extremely close to all French Quarter and riverfront activities.

Helpful?
23 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 1, 2005

A very nice hotel, close to the french quarter. The staff is excellent, rooms are great, location is fantastic. I stayed for week on business in Oct. 2004. Very good for business travelers. Crawling distance to Bourbon Street. The trolly is right next to the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2004, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#73 of 163 in New Orleans
3,420 reviews
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#17 of 163 in New Orleans
1,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
#80 of 163 in New Orleans
2,217 reviews
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter
Central Business District
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
#22 of 163 in New Orleans
2,861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott New Orleans

Property: JW Marriott New Orleans
Address: 614 Canal St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2308 (Formerly Le Meridien Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#24 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#31 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#36 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott New Orleans
New Orleans Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing