We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best Christmas Ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
JW Marriott New Orleans
Ranked #57 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
1 review
“The Best Christmas Ever”
Reviewed July 15, 2009

The staff were friendly, the room spectacular, and the location convenient. We had a beautiful Christmas here.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shawnhowes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,018
    806
    292
    92
    45
See reviews for
352
682
72
640
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (492)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2009

This hotel is spotless, comfortable with an extremely professional and courteous staff. Location is excellent, just across the street from Bourbon street. There can be noise from the street (we heard drums into the night) depending on room location. Breakfast at the restaurant was not as excellent as you would expect in New Orleans. Overall it's a perfect place for a fund vacation in NOLA. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmedeoDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2009

The JW Marriott isn't the fanciest of hotels, nor is it the worst of its class. Just steps from a cable car stop that will take you to the Garden District in less than 10 mins, and a quick jog from Cafe Dumont I'd recommend this hotel if you book a room reservation at a heavily discounted rate (e.g. Priceline).

Location:
Bordering the French Quarter, its location keeps this otherwise outdated hotel at par.

Decor:
The standard room barely meets the minimum requirements for the typical four star hotel rating. Nothing fancy, something that reminds me of your average business traveler hotel room.

Cleanliness:
Meets the four star minimum requirements.

Staff:
Front desk was not very friendly.
Concierge was not very knowledgeable.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diggsterny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
137 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2009

I travel for work and pleasure all over the world and I have to say that I was very, very disappointed with the J.W. Marriott hotel on Canal Street. The room charge was $269.00 per night and I had to change rooms three times until they showed me, "one of our new rooms with cherry furniture". When asked why they would rent a room with furniture falling apart, lamps that don't work, dirty carpet, scuffed walls, bathrooms with lavatories at hip height (I am 5' 4" inches) and generally dirty bathrooms, their reply was, "well we are upgrading our rooms and this used to be a Meridian Hotel, so its not our fault". (Just so you know J.W. Marriott has owned the hotel for several years, so its not a new purchase). To make matters worse, the Saturday evening front desk girl was rude and nasty when you checked in, called and asked to switch rooms or ask a general question. To further the horrible stay, the hotel had rented out a large number of rooms to pre teen/teenage girls on a choir tournament. The noise of young girls screaming in their rooms and in the halls until 2:30 a.m. each morning was unbearable! Did hotel staff help? Not much and these girls were chaperoned by middle aged adults! Where were the adult chaperones while the girls ran wild, on Bourbon Street? I recently stayed at a Hotel Intercontinental, which is Holiday Inn's "Ritz Carlton" and their rooms and staff were far superior. In fact, I have stayed in Hampton Inn's and Holiday Inn's that are better than this hotel. Marriott's room service food was marginal, but the wait staff were great. Although trays of food and dirty dishes sat in the hall for 2 to 3 days without being picked up! The Shula restaurant located inside the hotel property was horrible and New Orleans is known for its fabulous food. Try Brennan's Palace Cafe across the street from the hotel, its fabulous. In fact any Brennean's restaurant in New Orleans is fabulous. Trip Advisor members, this is a J.W. Marriott, and is quote the "the Ritz of the Marriott's". If this is the Ritz of Marriott's, save your money and stay in a Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelHistory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, LA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2009

I got a room at the JW Marriott for Mother's Day so that my mom and I could relax and spend some time together. I got a good deal on priceline ($50), but being that it was a 4 star hotel, I didn't have $50 expectations. The room was sort of clean, but not dusted. The bathroom had hair chips and dust on the marble countertop, so it could have blended in if my mother wasn't such a clean freak. The pool is rooftop, but on the shady side of the bldg so we were a bit chilly. I got a new room bc of the bathroom situation, but still had the same problem. I'm guessing the room attendant was just a slacker. I also think the room was a bit outdated. I would stay at the JW again for $50, but I would not pay the regular rate of $200 a night.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZarieRiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destin, FL
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2009

I stayed at the JW Mariott on Canal during the month of May and was extremely pleased. A room rate of $99 / night was very affordable for the high quality of the room. The location is a great one and within easy walking distance to many excellent restaurants and French Quarter attractions. All staff members I met were extremely pleasant and polite.

The front desk offered us a room on the concierge suite with a nice view of the French Quarter. The room was very clean and surpassed our expectations. The bed was particularly comfortable with a large, HD flat screen (though not many HD channels). Large bath-tub was a nice feature.

The only down-side to our stay was the expensive parking. My wife and I had met and driven separately. The hotel charges $32 per vehicle per night. However, I think this is fairly common in the French Quarter.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FloridaStateNole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lsumccoy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2009

Decided to take our 3 yr old boy and 1 yr old twin girls to the aquariunm and Zoo. Booked a room for two nights. Our trip was a last minute so I booked through priceline. Booked the room on 6-12-09 for the 12th and 13th, a Friday and Saturday. The rooms were clean, beds were comfortable and we were given a playpen and a stroller to use for the weekend free of charge. The Vallet, Bellmen and front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. The location was great for walking to the aquarium and French Quarter. Could not have been happier and the fact that a last minute room was booked for $50.00 a night for a Friday and Saturday in New Orleans was great!!
The only negative is the $35.00 a night parking charge.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lsumccoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#70 of 161 in New Orleans
3,297 reviews
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Saint Hotel, Autograph Collection
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#14 of 161 in New Orleans
1,240 reviews
Central Business District
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
#78 of 161 in New Orleans
2,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott New Orleans

Property: JW Marriott New Orleans
Address: 614 Canal St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2308 (Formerly Le Meridien Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#24 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#31 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#36 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott New Orleans
New Orleans Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing