We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
JW Marriott New Orleans
Ranked #63 of 164 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Collierville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Everything was terrific from the service side. The staff here is highly interested in your satisfaction and go out of their way to help make your stay perfect.

The property is perfectly located for easy access to anything and everything you may want to see or do in New Orleans. The Executive Lounge is perfect, the workout room is beyond compare, but the pool leaves MUCH to be desired.

The room was on the small side for a premium property and the air conditioner...frankly is the sole reason for my unsatisfactory rating. Although we called and a service person showed up immediately....his work proved to make no difference and my family and I continued to freeze every moment we were there...and I LOVE rooms on the cold side!!! In most properties I stay at (I am a Platinum Rewards member with Marriott who also stays quite a high number of nights at non Marriott properties) you can at least turn the air conditioner off completely...not in this case. I was never able to solve for the frigid condition in the room and as such was very displeased.

Would I stay here again? Most certainly as the property and location are wonderful...I mean all the rooms can't have the same air conditioner problem...can they?

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcunningham61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsManager70130, General Manager at JW Marriott New Orleans, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear mcunningham61,

Thank you for your kind words about the JW Marriott New Orleans. We are thrilled that you experienced the terrific, caring service typical our our luxury property. It is also fantastic that you enjoyed our convenient location, Executive Lounge and well-equipped fitness center. Thank you for your feedback regarding the pool and room temperature. We are so sorry to hear that this situation was not resolved to your complete satisfaction during your stay and we would very much like to make that right, should we have the pleasure of hosting you again.

Sincerely,

Ted Selogie
General Manager
JW Marriott New Orleans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,056
    839
    311
    99
    52
See reviews for
375
708
75
668
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (508)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

The rooms are cozy, comfortable, COLD :) and the staff is very friendly and always helpful. The only area of improvement I might suggest is people at the concierge lounge. They could be a little more friendly. The food is decent at the lounge. I would surely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Always get the corner room they are large and much nicer views. The higher floors are better for vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajcredit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsManager70130, Director of Operations at JW Marriott New Orleans, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear ajcredit,

It's wonderful to hear that you had such an enjoyable visit from Florida. We are glad that you found our rooms extremely cozy and comfortable, which is important when we are your home away from home! We pride ourselves in helpful service to our guests. While we are delighted that you found the staff very friendly, please accept our apologies that the executive lounge service did not deliver the same level of warm service. Your feedback will be used to improve our guest experience. We eagerly await your return.

Sincerely,

Cole Wallace
Director of Operations
JW Marriott New Orleans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

First time vacationing in the South and J.W. Marriot in NOLA was a great place to start. It's just between the Central Business District and French Quarter area off of Canal Street. The hotel building is attractive pretty much what we expect from the J.W. Marriot property. The staff , however, is what will keeps us coming back. Their professionalism and attention to detail were exceptional. Looking forward to our next visit. NOLA Jazz Festival 2015!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ginger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsManager70130, Director of Operations at JW Marriott New Orleans, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Ginger,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at the JW Marriott New Orleans. We are delighted that you found our hotel attractive and up to the high standards of the JW brand. It is such a pleasure to hear about the fantastic service you received during your stay, as we pride ourselves in delivering an exceptional, detail-oriented luxury experience to our guests. We can't wait to exceed your expectations again in 2015!

Sincerely,

Cole Wallace
Director of Operations
JW Marriott New Orleans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Belvoir, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed July 8, 2014

This was our first time staying here at the JW Marriott. I am truly impressed. We come here to the essence festival every year and this truly was our best experience thus far. Gary and Catherine among all others there are truly what you called great customer service. I was not only comfortable but truly pleased with everything . Thanks you have won me over. See you next year!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsManager70130, Director of Operations at JW Marriott New Orleans, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Michelle,

Thank you for your kind words! We are thrilled to hear that our service made your Essence Festival stay one of the best so far. Gary and Catherine will be very happy to hear that they contributed to making this stay an exceptional one for you. We're eagerly awaiting your return in 2015!

Sincerely,

Cole Wallace
Director of Operations
JW Marriott New Orleans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, TN
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

I've stayed numerous weeks at this location. It's nestled between the Central Business District and French Quarter area right off Canal Street. The hotel building is very classy and what you would expect from a typical J.W. Marriot branded property; however, the staff of this hotel makes it my first choice for my New Orleans lodging needs.

The executive lounge is managed by Tom and Earnesto. Their attentiveness to detail and true professionalism are superb and should be recognized and compensated as real assets to the New Orleans J.W. Marriott.

Room Tip: The corner king suites are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeffcox800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsManager70130, General Manager at JW Marriott New Orleans, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Jeff,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are delighted to hear that our professional, superb service is what truly makes this a terrific hotel for you. Tom and Ernesto are indeed wonderful examples of the kind of luxury service we provide, and we deeply appreciate them as well as the rest of our exemplary staff members. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Ted Selogie
General Manager
JW Marriott New Orleans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
348 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Lets face it, there are a lot of hotels in New Orleans. From the small and intimate up to the large convention hotels. The JW here is normally my first choice when I come to the city for a lot of different reasons - that are important to me at least. First in my book is that its not known as a convention hotel, however it has the same location as many of them do. The large Sheraton is right next door and the even larger regular Marriott is directly across the street. If you want that really large, crowded experience (albeit with a few more amenities), just go there instead of here. While the JW isn't necessarily a small hotel, its very small comparied to its competition that surrounds it. It feels cozy and the staff are very friendly and available. Yes at times it can be a little pricey, but gracious it is right in the heart of everything. The location can't be beat. Just steps from the french quarter, a couple blocks to the river and the shopping malls, but protected and quiet at the same time. Hard to beat.

If you are an elite member or have access to the executive lounge, it is done better than most. While not extremely large (it can get a bit crowded at peak breakfast time) the food is fresh and good and the evening snacks are almost meals upon themselves.

loose ends: No reason to rent a car here if you are staying primarily in the downtown areas, taxis are plentifull and reasonable while parking is difficult and expensive. lots of good restaurants within walking distance.

Highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RC30319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsManager70130, Director of Operations at JW Marriott New Orleans, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear RC30319,

We are honored to be your first choice hotel in New Orleans! We could not agree more about the serene, luxurious environment that we offer our guests in the heart of downtown New Orleans. With all of the nightlife and daytime activities available in the French Quarter, it is important to many of our guests that they can retire to a quiet, pristine and luxurious environment. It is also pleasing that you mentioned our Executive Lounge, which boasts spectacular views, delicious meals and genuine service. We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again on your next trip to New Orleans.

Sincerely,

Cole Wallace
Director of Operations
JW Marriott New Orleans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Stayed at the JW Marriott last April 2014 for the Easter week-end. We had two rooms, both were impeccable. The staff was professional, sooo friendly and helpful. The customer service lady booked our Bayou Tour in no time, the bellman greeted us at the door every day with bottles of cold water and a huge jar of fresh fruit punch was available in the entrance on a daily basis. Its location is perfect; from there you could walk or take the trolleys or buses to anywhere you want. The price was reasonable, the swimming pool is located on the roof top which was a plus for our teenagers. One tiny complaint: there was only one bathrobe in the room when we arrived and received one right after we asked. We would not hesitate to book there again and very much appreciated their Southern hospitality. New Orleans should be on your bucket list!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank juanjuanita2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsManager70130, Director of Operations at JW Marriott New Orleans, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear juanjuanita2014,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your April stay at the JW Marriott New Orleans. We couldn't be more pleased to hear that you found your rooms impeccably maintained and the service excellent. We are happy that we were able to immediate deliver you an additional bathrobe as soon as it was requested and please accept our apologies for any inconvenience. We certainly hope you return to New Orleans!

Sincerely,

Cole Wallace
Director of Operations
JW Marriott New Orleans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#73 of 164 in New Orleans
3,450 reviews
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#19 of 164 in New Orleans
1,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
#81 of 164 in New Orleans
2,252 reviews
Central Business District
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
#22 of 164 in New Orleans
2,925 reviews
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott New Orleans

Property: JW Marriott New Orleans
Address: 614 Canal St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2308 (Formerly Le Meridien Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#24 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#31 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#36 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott New Orleans
New Orleans Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing