We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
JW Marriott New Orleans
Ranked #63 of 165 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Within close walking-distance to Bourbon and Royal in the French Quarter, but not in the middle of all the craziness. Helpful staff and decent accommodations. Very small bathrooms. Enjoyed the library/lounge area.

Had a beautiful view of Canal Street and the Mississippi River from room #2612.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jrintexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsManager70130, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Thank you for choosing the JW Marriott New Orleans! I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our location so close to Bourbon Street and the French Quarter. What a wonderful area to be able to stroll over to! I am happy to hear that you found our staff to be helpful and attentive, as we take great pride in our guest services and work to make the guest experience wonderful for all. Thank you for your positive feedback on the lounge area and the views as well. I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future!

Cole Wallace
Director of Operations
JW Marriott New Orleans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,376)
There are newer reviews for JW Marriott New Orleans
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,381 - 1,387 of 2,376 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2014

Spent 5 days in the French Quarter and stayed at the JW Marriott. Fantastic hotel. Arrival experiece was great. When I checked in, the front desk already had my key packets ready to go and also informed me that I had been upgraded to Concierge level. ( this was a nice touch) The staff was very friendly and responded to cues. I will certainly make this my destination hotel when I travel to New Orleans.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patrick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsManager70130, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Thank you for choosing the JW Marriott New Orleans for your Mardi Gras celebration! It is so wonderful to hear that your arrival experience was run so smoothly and you were upgraded to the Concierge Level. Thank you for offering a review and I look forward to passing along your kind comments to our staff. We look forward to your next visit!

Ted Selogie
General Manager
JW Marriott New Orleans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in a great location for all you need to see in the City all in walking distance or by the bus tour available at the front door
The staff are very friendly laid back and attentive
Unfortunately the rooms are outdated and do not justify the rates being charged

Stayed: January 2014
Thank Weldge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsManager70130, General Manager at JW Marriott New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Thank you for your positive comments regarding our location and staff. Our location is prime. We are, as you noted, walking distance to much the city has to offer. In addition, I will pass along your favorable comments related to our staff. Our staff strives to create experiences that celebrate the authentic culture and soul of New Orleans. Thank you for your feedback concerning our guest rooms. Your feedback is vital to decisions we make to improve the overall hotel experience for our guests. We sincerely hope you will choose the JW Marriott New Orleans if travel brings you back to the “Big Easy”.

Ted Selogie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Close enough to Bourbon Street to walk but far enough to avoid noise. Parking of course is expensive. We had access to the Club Level and the food there was excellent. The employees were very helpful. We had a little problem with the room temperature but the serviceman responding quickly to the problem.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobI799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsManager70130, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Thank you for choosing the JW Marriott New Orleans! It is wonderful to hear that you were pleased by the location near Bourbon Street. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the Club Level experience! I apologize for the room temperature issue but I am glad to hear that our staff was efficient in resolving the issue. Thank you for your kind comments on our staff overall. I sincerely hope you will consider staying with us in the future!

Cole Wallace
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

If you are looking for opulent rooms, this may not be the place for you. They are nice enough, but average-sized, and the bathrooms are small. But we did like the location -- on Canal Street, close enough to Bourbon St. but not too close. We also enjoyed taking the trolley to the Garden District, and walked over to try our luck at Harrah's. What's best about the hotel itself is the service -- relaxed, friendly and efficient. It permeates every encounter with hotel staff, and made the stay special.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelbMd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsManager70130, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Thank you for your kind comments on our hotel location, as you experienced we are a short walk to Bourbon St. and many great restaurants in the French Quarter. It is great to know that you were able to take advantage of the nearby trolley and experience the city! I also thank you for your comments regarding our service. Each of our staff take great pride in providing thoughtful and genuine service. It sounds like our team accomplished that for you! I am looking forward to passing your positive feedback along. Again, thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I hope you will join us again in the future, should your travels bring you back to New Orleans!

Cole Wallace
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

I almost stayed elsewhere after reading reviews complaining the hotel was out of date and the rooms were too small. My room is well sized and looks exactly how a JW room should look---inviting, comfortable and luxurious. even better is the great gym with lots of machines and plenty of room for stretching or yoga. Concierges was super helpful and was bereft of any attitude that you sometimes find with the position. I will stay here again for my next trip.

Room Tip: top floors reduce exterior noise.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oskiwow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsManager70130, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

It is absolutely wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your room, our fitness center, and our concierge service. I am quite pleased to hear that your stay exceeded your expectations. Thank you for taking the time to review your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future!

Cole Wallace
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for four nights to attend the Sugar Bowl. We had two rooms on the 21st floor. Unfortunately, there are three facades to this hotel, and ours faced the Business District and Casino, not the French Quarter and Canal Street. You could get those views with access to the Executive Business Suite on the 27th floor, but that Suite was rarely open when we stayed.

The hotel staff was high quality, and room service was quick and tasty. The rooms were clean. However, they are no better than you would get at a Comfort Inn on Highway 64. The carpet was dated and the bathroom was tiny.

The restaurant/bar/lobby was very drafty and cold. We had appetizers and drinks in the bar and the bartenders were very service-oriented.

The concierge service is worth the wait in line-they had great dining suggestions. However, don't use Dixie Tours. We balked at the suggested high-dollar tour, settling for the $45/person three hour tour, over half of which was not history, but sight seeing the Katrina ravaged neighborhoods, listening to our guide (who was obviously from New Jersey but swore he was a native New Orleans resident) say, "You see that water mark there? That's how high the water was."

The location is great, but there are a bunch of high end options on Canal Street, and next time we will choose one of those.

Room Tip: Ask for a room high up that faces the French Quarter and Canal.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soonertourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsManager70130, General Manager at JW Marriott New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the JW Marriott New Orleans. I appreciate your honest feedback, both positive and negative as we are constantly working to improve the hotel experience for our guests. All of our concierge are wonderful as you stated, collectively they do not miss a beat. I sincerely hope you will reconsider your statement regarding choosing other hotel options upon your next trip to New Orleans. We would love the opportunity to be of service to you to make your trip memorable.

Ted Selogie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#72 of 165 in New Orleans
3,481 reviews
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#23 of 165 in New Orleans
1,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
#20 of 165 in New Orleans
2,978 reviews
Central Business District
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
#77 of 165 in New Orleans
2,286 reviews
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott New Orleans

Address: 614 Canal St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2308 (Formerly Le Meridien Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#24 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#31 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#36 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $171 - $441 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott New Orleans
New Orleans Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing