We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
JW Marriott New Orleans
Ranked #61 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
99 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

My husband and I booked a 4 day vacation to New Orleans through Southwest Airlines vacation packages and JW Marriott was one of the hotel choices. We picked this hotel because it was close to the French Quarter and Harrah's Casino and had good reviews. Overall, it was a good choice as far as location for walking to many of the sights.

We were given a corner room on the 18th floor which was very spacious with a very comfortable king size bed. We had plenty of room to relax and make ourselves at home for a few days. I was very disappointed to learn that the internet service was 15/day in the room. However, WIFI was free in the lobby areas. We also discovered that there was a place for a refrigerator that must have been removed for some unknown reason. I always find it odd that when I stay at a lesser nice place like a Super 8, I can get free WIFI and a frig/microwave. The bathroom area was very clean and the tub/shower had nice hot water. There were plenty of white fluffy towels and our room had one white fluffy robe hanging in our closet. I found the maid down the hall and she gave me a second robe. Not sure why there is only one robe per room when you have 2 people staying in a room. Anyways, it was very nice of the maid to get us another one.

There was a safe in the room closet. I was going to leave some money inside the safe until my husband discovered that the top part of the safe in which you place your valuables was not bolted down to the bottom half and could be earlier lifted from the room. I found this very odd.

As far as the first two nights of our stay, there was not much noise outside of room. However, during the last two nights, there were several noisy guests right next door that woke us up about 3:30 am each morning with their loud talking. I don't know if the walls in all the rooms are that thin but we could literally hear what they were saying word for word. I really did not enjoy being woken up!

As is stated in many reviews, the hotel staff included the doorman, front desk, bartenders and concierge are all very nice and very helpful. That's always a plus.

Overall, we really liked this hotel for the location to the French Quarter and the Casino. We like to gamble and I won $1000 the first night playing Deuces Wild!

We never ate at the hotel restaurant as there are too many fine restaurants in the area to choose from. We were able to walk to the WWII Museum and the Civil War Museum in the warehouse district, which I will leave reviews on separately.

Enjoy New Orleans!!!! What a fun place.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carol F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsManager70130, General Manager at JW Marriott New Orleans, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Carol F,

Thank you for sharing your review of your recent stay--guest feedback is so important to our staff! We're so pleased that you chose the JW Marriott New Orleans for your vacation.

You're absolutely right that our location is among the best, as we're easy walking distance to countless places you'd want to go.

While we're glad to hear that you found your room comfortable and enjoyable for the most part, we do apologize that your guest room was not entirely up to satisfaction. Our front desk staff makes every effort to accommodate any room changes, especially for in-room amenities like the safe or refrigerator.

We're also concerned to hear about outside noise in your room and always encourage guests to call the desk about such disturbances. We do everything we can to place our guests in a suitable space.

We'll be sure to pass your compliments onto our staff--they truly are the best in the business! We hope that when you're ready for another getaway (and perhaps another successful day at the casino!) you'll keep us in mind.

Sincerely,

Ted Selogie

General Manager
JW Marriott New Orleans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,041
    824
    305
    96
    48
See reviews for
368
698
73
655
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (498)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

We had some frequent flyer miles about to expire, so we treated ourselves to a stay at this hotel. And a treat it was! Beautiful rooms, comfortable beds, wonderful staff. Everyone from the Concierge to the Door Men, to the Desk Staff, were just so helpful.
The hotel was just around the corner from the French Quarter. Everything was within walking distance.
I'd stay here again if we ever come back to NOLA. It was quite a treat!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zisahmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsManager70130, Director of Operations at JW Marriott New Orleans, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Zisahmom,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. A special trip to New ORleans is always a spectacular getaway, no matter what the occasion! Our entire staff strives to provide the best service and amenities for our guests, to create an unforgettable experience. We're very pleased to hear that your stay was so enjoyable. As you mentioned, our location simply cannot be beat. Whether you're spending your trip in the French Quarter or the Garden District, we're just a hop, skip, and a jump from anywhere you'd want to be.

When you're ready to treat yourself to another vacation, we hope you'll make your way to the JW Marriott New Orleans again.

Sincerely,

Cole Wallace

Director of Operations
JW Marriott New Orleans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sulphur, Louisiana, Usa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Clean, quiet, spacious room and comfortable mattress and bedding. And they even provided organic shampoo, conditioner, body soap and facial soap! The on site workout facility is the best one I have ever seen in a hotel. It is definitely worth a visit just to look around even if you don't workout. We needed to add an extra night to our stay and it went off without a hitch and we got to keep our same room. The staff was also very nice and helpful.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

I spent two nights there for the thanksgiving and was very satisfied. The location is perfect to visit the French quarter and the other interesting spots, everithing is at walkable distance but the hotel isn't noisy at all as it's on the opposite side of Canal St., almost in front of Bourbon St.
In case you like gambling, the Casino is few blocks away.
My room at the 18th floor was quite large and very clean, same for the bathroom.
Kind staff, excellent service, good breakfast for 25 $.

Room Tip: Higher floors rooms are quiter and you could have a nice city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victorky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Great hotel, location, and staff. Our room had a King size bed on the 29th floor. We had a great view of the city and its location could not be better as it was within walking distance of great restaurants and entertainment. The St Charles streetcar was a short block away. We had 4 great days in this place.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

I came here for a fun weekend trip with my best friend and my sister and we did not regret staying here! The location was great. It is great to be close to Bourbon street, but also out of the annoying hustle and bustle of it all. Canal St. is pretty busy, but in a good way. You feel safe walking to and from your hotel at late hours of the night. I do not feel the same way if you stay in the French Quarter where it is fairly dead at wee hours of the morning. It is so close to the French Quarter though too and that is great. There is also a street car stop right in front of the hotel that is great. The rooms are nice and the staff is wonderful and inviting as most people of NOLA are :) We had breakfast sent up to the room and the breakfast buffet downstairs during our stay and both were good and enjoyable. The shops in the hotel are nice as well. The hotel is extremely pretty. One of the coolest amenities is the roof top pool. It is a lot of fun to go and cool off in and there are a lot of fun people to meet and mingle with. Loved this hotel! Loved the staff and loved the stay! Will be returning.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaughingD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsManager70130, General Manager at JW Marriott New Orleans, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Laughing D,

Thanks for taking the time to review your weekend stay. We are so glad to know that the three of you enjoyed your time at the JW Marriott; we always love to be a part of a special trip with friends and family.

You certainly picked the perfect place for exploring all that New Orleans has to offer. As you noted, we're just steps from the action while simultaneously enjoying a bit of peace and quiet. It's a unique combination that continues to surprise and delight guests from all over the world.

From the sound of it, you experienced a little bit of everything that makes our hotel stand out, from the rooftop pool to room-service breakfast. We hope to see you again soon so that you can discover even more to love.

Sincerely,

Ted Selogie

General Manager
JW Marriott New Orleans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level Contributor
74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

The JW Marriott on Canal is a gorgeous hotel with excellent service. The rooms are nice although small, and the bathrooms were also small and the ceiling in the bathrooms is very low. Concierge lounge is very nice, and includes one of those illy automatic coffee machine, yum. Also had a nice dinner of penne with bolognese, or chicken something something that also looked delicious. Changed out at 8 pm to a wonderful desert assortment. Location is close to CBD as well as the FQ.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mayan_Brian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#70 of 162 in New Orleans
3,378 reviews
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#18 of 162 in New Orleans
1,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
#83 of 162 in New Orleans
2,186 reviews
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans French Quarter/Iberville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott New Orleans

Property: JW Marriott New Orleans
Address: 614 Canal St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2308 (Formerly Le Meridien Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#24 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#31 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#36 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your JW Marriott New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott New Orleans
New Orleans Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing