We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
JW Marriott New Orleans
Ranked #68 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 6, 2013

The JW Marriott on Canal is a gorgeous hotel with excellent service. The rooms are nice although small, and the bathrooms were also small and the ceiling in the bathrooms is very low. Concierge lounge is very nice, and includes one of those illy automatic coffee machine, yum. Also had a nice dinner of penne with bolognese, or chicken something something that also looked delicious. Changed out at 8 pm to a wonderful desert assortment. Location is close to CBD as well as the FQ.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
Thank Mayan_Brian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,392)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,448 - 1,454 of 2,392 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2013

This hotel is ideally located. It is just a walk across the street to the French Quarter and a couple of blocks from the waterfront. All of the staff were helpful and friendly. My husband and I had a great time with George the bartender. He was helpful with suggestions regarding where to eat or tour and overall just a fun, friendly gentleman. My husband was actually excited when he came back from his days off!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

First and foremost, the staff was very nice and helpful. The hotel and rooms were clean. We had access to the lounge on the 27th floor. The breakfast and afternoon food was very good. It did get quite crowded around mealtime, and the air conditioning was not adequate for the amount of people. It felt like a steam bath. I would recommend going early or late to avoid the crowds. Otherwise, we enjoyed our stay, and I would recommend staying here.

Room Tip: If you have concierge access, go early or late to avoid crowds and air conditioning problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Nice Hotel, Clean Rooms and close to the French Quarter (a block or two). Can't beat the Marriott rooms. On this trip, discovered the "JW" is a more "exclusive" brand of Marriott, so that welcoming basket of apples on arrival, or in the mornings, just wasn't there. But overall this was a great stay for the 4 nights. Seemed like nice restaurant, but never did get to try it. Coffee was good, too! Everyone at hotel were very helpful!

Room Tip: 20th Floor facing French Quarter, room was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingFool4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

I stayed at the JW Marriott the weekend of the Bayou Classic and, maybe not to the hotel's entire fault but, the hotel was noisy, the corridor was dirty (empty room service trays, garbage, etc.). Other than that the hotel was fine, people were nice but I don't feel this is to the standard I'm expecting from a JW Marriott.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank GemmeFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsManager70130, Director of Operations at JW Marriott New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Dear GemmeFamily,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at the JW Marriott New Orleans. We're so glad you chose to stay with us while you were in town for the Bayou Classic. With basketball, football, and the holiday season in full swing, it's a very popular time to travel to New Orleans, and we've taken all the necessary steps to be prepared. Regardless of how many guests are here, we strive to provide the same level of exceptional service that you've come to expect. It sounds like we didn't quite achieve that during your visit, and for that I'd like to personally apologize. There's no excuse for a lack of cleanliness, and you can rest assured that all the issues have been addressed internally. As you noted, our staff is dedicated to providing great service, and we would love nothing more than to earn back your trust.

Sincerely,

Cole Wallace
Director of Operations
JW Marriott New Orleans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We loved staying in this hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. When we discovered that the carpet in our room had a huge bump in it, they handled the switching to another room effortlessly. We just had to show up in the new room; they moved all our belongings. The hotel is lovely, and the location couldn't have been better. We were there for the French Quarter festival, and we just had to walk a few blocks to get to all the music. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank devenich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsManager70130, General Manager at JW Marriott New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Dear devenich,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. All year long, New Orleans plays host to a variety of events and celebrations, and the annual French Quarter festival is among the most beloved. You picked quite a year to visit as well, since the festival recorded its largest single-day crowd ever. Of course, crowds are great until they interfere with plans. Since we're familiar with larger crowds and busy periods, we're well equipped to handle such record turnouts.

It sounds like you experienced that readiness and professionalism firsthand during your stay. We do apologize for the inconvenience of having to change rooms, but we're glad that the issue was resolved swiftly. We look forward to seeing you again soon, so if there's anything we can do to help plan a return visit, please don't hesitate to let us know.

Sincerely,

Ted Selogie
General Manager
JW Marriott New Orleans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed the week prior to Thanksgiving which is a great time in New Orleans as it is not crowded at all. Hotel is in good location facing Canal street and an easy walk to everything. We had large corner room which was nice with a frig and all amenitites. Front desk check in was quick and the doorman remembered us each day. Club floor lounge was very crowded but they did their best to keep it stocked. I wouldn't pay top dollar for this property but for a good rate it is great. The room was spotless clean!!

Room Tip: Try to get a larger corner room with more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GolfRocks1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsManager70130, General Manager at JW Marriott New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Dear GolfRocks1972,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the JW Marriott New Orleans. You're absolutely right about picking a great time to visit; with December right around the corner, guests are treated to a fine fall weekend without the hustle and bustle of holiday crowds. It sounds like there was plenty to love during your time here, including an ideal location, spotless accommodations, and signature JW Marriott service.

As you found with our doorman, we're committed to make each and every guest feel at home. Personalized touches and attention to detail are two keys to the special experience you'll only find at a JW Marriott property. We hope to host you again soon so that you can discover some of the other unique features in and around our hotel.

Sincerely,

Ted Selogie
General Manager
JW Marriott New Orleans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#72 of 167 in New Orleans
3,512 reviews
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#22 of 167 in New Orleans
1,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
#78 of 167 in New Orleans
2,314 reviews
Central Business District
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
#21 of 167 in New Orleans
3,021 reviews
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans French Quarter/Iberville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott New Orleans

Address: 614 Canal Street, (Driveway Entrance on 611 Common Street), New Orleans, LA 70130-2308 (Formerly Le Meridien Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#24 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#31 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#36 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $165 - $442 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott New Orleans
New Orleans Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing