We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb location, friendly staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of JW Marriott New Orleans

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
JW Marriott New Orleans
Ranked #57 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
163 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Superb location, friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

I had a great four night stay at this hotel. The location is wonderful for visiting the business district and the French Quarter. Rooms were comfortable and clean. Meet my expectations for a JW. Concierge lounge had great food and a wonderful view.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeffcarp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,008
    795
    285
    91
    44
See reviews for
345
672
70
634
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (487)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Klosterneuburg, Austria
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

stayed 4 nights during my work visit to New Orleans. Room was not that big but very clean and tidy with good service. Although no breakfast was included in the booking, but they served fresh confectionery and coffee for few hours in morning. Staff was helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: no special preference
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rajiv K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Prime location, only a short walk to French Quarter and other attractions. The room was very clean and spacious. King bed was very comfortable. We had a late flight- so it was nice they could accomodate a late check out. Restaurant and lounge were great. Will stay again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MVP2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Stayed 5 nights first week of August. Check in was fast and efficient handled by Ariadre. She was friendly and happy to welcome us to the hotel. Our room was on the 30th floor. All staff during our stay were helpful and friendly. Even when we had to call the front desk to inform them that the guests in the next room had their TV extremely loud at 11:30PM, it was dealt with promptly and without any fuss.
We used their pool during our stay. It is a small pool and does get busy later in the afternoon. It was well worth staying at a hotel with a pool especially in August as it gets really hot and it is nice to cool off at the end of the day. Loretta who manages the pool area is extremely friendly and willing to assist where needed.
Hotel location is great - close enough to the French Quarter but far away enough not to hear the loud music/sounds at night.One of the stops for the Hop-On-Hop-Off bus is right outside the hotel on Canal Street. In fact the St. Charles street car stops right by the hotel too. Overall, it is located conveniently to a lot of the tourists attractions - all within walking distance.
Service at the hotel was incredible. Cannot say enough about the staff from the front desk to housekeeping.
We would definitely return to this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

We did a one night stay without an issue. Valet is on Common St side(back of Canal): quick, professional and willing to meet any need or request. Once I arrived at the front desk I was greeted right away, gave my name and in less than 2 minutes I was out to get gather my belongings and go up stairs. I asked for a high room in order to get a great view and that's what I got. I was located on the 26th floor and the view was better than great. We had a french quarter view and king bed. The room and bathroom were clean and fresh. The bathroom is small so don't be surprised that you can not use the toilet and open or close the door at the same time, the door opens to about an inch from the toilet. I do wish though that the beds were a little higher off the floor and a little more plush. They were comfortable but they can be better. This hotel had shops, a spa, and a spot to get something to eat. The area(library) on main floor is a nice touch with computer stations to use your own laptop, tables and couches to relax or work. There is plenty of seating in the lobby to wait for your car or if you are waiting for tour/cab pick-up. You are provided with cold water outside the valet door and wonderful fruit water in the lobby, so with summer heat this is a nice touch. Also note that when you check out, if you have things that you want to do and dont want to have to search for parking, your car can remain valet parked until 4pm. Bourbon St, the casino, stores, french quarter, bus, trolley, food, and anything you want or need are out the front entrance and within walking distance. Thought: because of the great views, Marriott should replace the two stiff chairs in the rooms with either window seats or modern sofas.

Room Tip: High room with french quarter view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cynthia o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsManager70130, Director of Operations at JW Marriott New Orleans, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Cynthia O,

Thanks for choosing to stay at the JW Marriott New Orleans, and for taking the time to share your thoughts. It sounds like one of the highlights of your stay was an amazing view, and we can promise you, there's more where that came from! A number of our upper-floor rooms and suites enjoy spectacular views, so perhaps next time, we look forward to providing you with a view that catches the Mississippi River. And we greatly appreciate your suggestion regarding seating, and the bed in your guestroom, as we're always looking for ways to improve.

We're happy to hear that your stay, as a whole, was "easy as can be." We know that with short one-night stays, it's imperative that everything goes smoothly. Our commitment to great service starts with your arrival experience and, carries through to the front desk and your room. Hopefully that is apparent in everything we do. We'd love the opportunity to host you again—whether for business or pleasure, in the summer or winter—so that we can continue showing you what makes the JW Marriott New Orleans so special.

Sincerely,

Cole Wallace

Director of Operations
JW Marriott New Orleans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, LA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Stayed there for 2 nights and have little to complain about. Most of the staff was very friendly and helpful. The room had a decent view even though we stayed on the 10th floor. The hotel was less then a mile from the Superdome and about 2 blocks from Bourbon St. The place was pretty quiet after hours which is a big concern when you are down in the mix. I will probably stay there again if I go back to the Big Easy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mizong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed at the JW Marriott New Orleans last week for 3 nights. Its location is really great, can't beat that. Mr. Manuel Perez, the supervisor, made sure all of our requests were met promptly. Have to say their services were excellent. Will definitely recommend this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#73 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,242 reviews
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Saint Hotel, Autograph Collection
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott New Orleans

Property: JW Marriott New Orleans
Address: 614 Canal St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2308 (Formerly Le Meridien Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#24 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#31 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#36 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your JW Marriott New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott New Orleans
New Orleans Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing