We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Outstanding customer service and comfortable hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott New Orleans

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
JW Marriott New Orleans
Ranked #48 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding customer service and comfortable hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I started by showing up before check-in time thinking that maybe I could stow my bags but they checked me in early and into a beautiful room with the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. The staff was accommodating and helpful (even when I wasn't asking for anything), it was like they read my mind. The location is great, the pool was nice and that bed was absolutely wonderful after walking all day. Also, I had booked at priceline - which sometimes gets you less that the best room & service, this was definitely not a problem at the JW - NOLA.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mimi1791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsManager70130, Director of Operations at JW Marriott New Orleans, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Mimi1791,

Reading your review was so refreshing! It sounds like we were able to exceed your expectations and we are so pleased to hear it. Our highest priority is to provide unbeatable service and quality to all our guests. We hope you enjoyed some sightseeing around New Orleans once you hopped out of that cozy bed—we know it can be hard to start the day when you're so comfortable!

It's our hope that we have the opportunity to be of service to you again and show you more attentive JW service. Our doors are always open to you.

Sincerely,

Cole Wallace

Director of Operations
JW Marriott New Orleans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,048 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    937
    742
    257
    79
    33
See reviews for
311
614
69
583
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (459)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Outstanding weekend! Cole Wallace, Gersan Paz, Natalia, Tamya & Madeline provided by far the most outstanding customer satisfaction to guests that we've had the opportunity to experience during all of our many Marriott stays. The property is spotless, the rooms are spacious and very comfy. The location is excellent! Great Father's Day weekend with our family! Thank you JW our experience during this visit has surly led to our return to your magnificent property!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sims F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Paul R was very nice and friendly. He provided us with great southern hospitality. The hotel was located in a great location. The quality was superior and the room had a great view. We really enjoyed all the staff making us feel welcome.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Felicia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

we had booked 2 nights with 3 rooms We were not disappointed in our rooms or our service
staff very friendly and helpful had requested baby beds they were in place by the time we got to rooms we requested adjoining rooms that was done as well i will stay here again i like the location and the staff

Room Tip: end rooms they are larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mmt50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsManager70130, Director of Operations at JW Marriott New Orleans, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear mmt50,

Thank you for your kind words. As one of the top hotels in New Orleans, we make it a priority to cater to each and every need of our guests. We are happy that we were able to personalize your experience by delivering your request to your guest room prior to your arrival. I hope you'll return to our fair city soon, because although two nights is nice, a longer stay opens up all kinds of new possibilities. We'd be happy to set up a fun-filled itinerary to maximize your time. Please let me know if I can be of any help booking your next trip.

Sincerely,

Cole Wallace

Director of Operations
JW Marriott New Orleans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Steven the bartender at the bar and grill was awesome. Great service great drinks and great personality. Made the stay at the j w Marriott even more enjoyable. Thanks Steven and good luck on future endeavors!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kdra11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I usually stay at 2-3 star hotels and motels, so I was definitely looking forward to my stay at the JW Marriot. But they exceeded my expectations. Not only were the rooms spotless and very comfortable (I don't think I've ever slept so well in any bed other than my own), but the service was exceptional. Every doorman, bellhop, desk clerk, and housekeeper was friendly and eager to help, going out of their way to get us anything we needed, be it an extra bathrobe, advice on outings or transportation, or even duct tape! I wasn't really considering a swamp tour until the doorman suggested it. The concierges were especially helpful regarding tours. There are so many tours available in New Orleans, it can be overwhelming. Some of them are really cheesy...how to you know which ones are good? The concierges Isabelle and Daisy provided us with a city tour, a cemetery tour, and a swamp tour, all of which were fantastic with excellent, knowledgeable, entertaining guides. The concierge Andrew showed us where the best art galleries and boutiques were. The location of the JW Marriot couldn't be better, right next to the French Quarter, on the trolley line, near the casino. I fell in love with New Orleans, and I've been spoiled by the JW Marriot. I don't think I could stay anywhere else if (when!) I return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsManager70130, General Manager at JW Marriott New Orleans, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Kristen H,

Thanks for your feedback in regards to your stay here at the JW Marriott New Orleans. I am so happy to hear that your trip was everything you hoped for—and more. It's encouraging to hear such high praise, and it inspires us to try even harder in the future.

Knowing the city of New Orleans in and out is a part of our job. That includes all of the exceptional tours, events, and hidden gems. We're always willing to make recommendations, and it sounds like you enjoyed many of the attractions the city offers.

You are always welcome to stay with us, and we look forward to seeing you again, sooner rather than later. Let us know know if we can be of any help in planning your next stay here in the Big Easy.

Sincerely,

Ted Selogie

General Manager
JW Marriott New Orleans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
162 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

The JW is right on Canal near the French Quarter and the Central Business District. I moved up from the Hilton Reiverside after my convention ended and couldn't have been more happy. The service is friendly and efficient and the room was very comfortable and spacious. The Exec Lounge was nice with a seperate meeting area for conducting business. The lobby bar seemed lively but the restaurant appeared to be under populated. Not surprising in an area like NOLA with som many great food options. The hotel was a welcome piece of respite in a what can be a very chaotic city.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank whereaminow14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#69 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 2,946 reviews
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans French Quarter/Iberville
Central Business District
The Saint Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
#24 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 2,101 reviews
Central Business District
Hyatt French Quarter
Hyatt French Quarter
#16 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 1,687 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott New Orleans

Property: JW Marriott New Orleans
Address: 614 Canal St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2308 (Formerly Le Meridien Hotel)
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#24 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#31 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#36 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your JW Marriott New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott New Orleans
New Orleans Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing