We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally located very nice hotel...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
JW Marriott New Orleans
Ranked #68 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 25, 2013

This is nicely located in downtown New Orleans. the rooms are well decorated and comfortable. The hotel itself has a central bar and upscale restaurant. Easy access and within walking distance to all the the sites in the downtown area. Restaurants and casino close by so walking is not a big deal at all. The pool and workout room is available. Overall I would recommend this property to anyone. The staff was very efficient and friendly. It made you feel like you were coming in to visit them. I liked the place and would highly recommend it if you want to impress or just be impressed.

If you find this helpful please mark it so.
thanks Berny

Room Tip: Higher rooms are much better. Road noise a problem for the low floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BaronFoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,394)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,622 - 1,628 of 2,395 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2013

This was my first time in the beautiful city of New Orleans and I chose to stay at the JW Marriott. I was greeted by friendly staff outside the hotel, as well as at the front desk, concierge desk, and the bar. Everyone had helpful suggestions about what to do and see throughout my stay. Whenever necessary, the staff coordinated taxis/shuttles so that I was easily able to travel around the city. George (at the hotel bar) introduced me to some new drinks while I was there. He kept me entertained and was always upbeat and friendly, even when I was only passing the bar to go somewhere else. Overall, I had a great experience at this location and will definitely come back here on my next trip to New Orleans.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

This was my 5th stay at this hotel. The official address of the hotel is on Canal Street, but the car entrance is behind Canal Street. It is a great location for business or pleasure trips. Like a lot of things in New Orleans, it may seem odd to have the main entrance on a side street, but you get a feeling of intimacy when you turn the corner off the busy streets and the only indication of activity are the JW flags fluttering over the entrance. When you arrive in the hotel, you are greeted with enthusiastic warmth and lots of authentic New Orleans drawl. The whole staff makes you feel very welcome. The front desk staff are particularly professional and very helpful. The rooms are 100% JW Marriott - elegant, comfortable, and quiet. The hotel has a salt water pool and tight, but well done fitness center. The bar is elegant, modern, and quite large. My only criticism of the hotel has been that there is not a good restaurant here. There is a restaurant, but the menu is tiny and doesn't appeal to me. When I'm staying here, I usually dine at the Palace across Canal Street from the hotel. I imagine that the hotel is struggling to find someone to open a good restaurant here since they would have to compete with some really great restaurants in the area that have been established for decades. I don't dock the hotel any points for not having a restaurant under the circumstances. Most people wouldn't spend much time in their hotels anyway. I like this JW and the people who work there.

Room Tip: The king corner rooms are large and not much more expensive than a basic room. Wwll worth the extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank rwaites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsManager70130, Director of Operations at JW Marriott New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Dear rwaites,

Thank you for taking the time to review your fifth and most recent stay. We've found that return visits always reveal something new to love about the JW Marriott. One thing that remains the same, however, is our commitment to service. As you noted, we welcome all guests with open arms and send them on their way with a smile. In your review, you've also touched on a number of our unique facilities and amenities, including the saltwater pool. I am pleased to know that you were able to experience all that our property has to offer—in addition to all the wonderful businesses located within walking distance.

We look forward to hosting you again soon. Please let me know if there's anything I can do to help plan a visit.

Sincerely,

Cole Wallace

Director of Operations
JW Marriott New Orleans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Stayed 3 nights at the JW on Canal just steps away from the French Quarter. Made some special requests for a feather free room and a small fridge and microwave and everything was in place upon our arrival thanks to Ms Morris. Kimberly at the front desk took care of us at check in and moved us into an upgraded suite as I am a platinum elite member. The staff was incredibly friendly. We will definitely stay again the next time we hit the Big Easy.

Stayed: May 2013
Thank Proudpapa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

I have been a Marriott Honoreg Guest member (several different levels including Platinum) since 1979. Following a stay at the JW in Washington, D.C. last year I vowed not again. I had stayed at the downtown Marriott in New Orleans, but didn't know they had a JW. I was in New Orleans for an American Bar Association conference last weekend and stumbled upon a JW in the French Quarter 4 blocks from Bourbon Street. You'd barely notice it on Canal but its there. I had a wonderful experience restoring my faith in the brand. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FhayzeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Great rooms, ideal location, and fantastic breakfast. But what made this stay stand out the most was the service. From the multiple emails I received prior to our stay, to our experience with the bellmen, front desk staff, management, and the restaurant staff, I was so impressed with the kindness and attentiveness of the hotel's staff. They consistently went above and beyond to make sure we were comfortable and enjoying our stay. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scottm247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Good location, nice room although the bathroom is quite small, a great staff. The trolley stops right outside the door, just a few blocks from the French Quarter, great restaurants and much more. We enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#72 of 167 in New Orleans
3,515 reviews
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#22 of 167 in New Orleans
1,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
#77 of 167 in New Orleans
2,316 reviews
Central Business District
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
#21 of 167 in New Orleans
3,028 reviews
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans French Quarter/Iberville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott New Orleans

Address: 614 Canal Street, (Driveway Entrance on 611 Common Street), New Orleans, LA 70130-2308 (Formerly Le Meridien Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#24 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#31 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#36 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $166 - $444 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your JW Marriott New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott New Orleans
New Orleans Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing