We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
JW Marriott New Orleans
Ranked #64 of 164 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing service”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Very impressed with the cleanliness and the staff always going beyond what was expected out of them. The hotel is in a great convenient location and easy access to bourbon and canal areas. Will definately stay again on the next New Orleans trip.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RHofsass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,056
    840
    311
    99
    52
See reviews for
376
708
75
668
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (508)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

The JW Marriott, New Orleans, could be 5 star BUT for the aging of the guest room interiors. First, the good - really, the excellent! The staff members in the hotel, every single member, were gracious, friendly, and happy to do anything to meet guest needs and expectations. This team of staff rival the best I have seen at Ritz Carlton properties. The location was perfect for walking to many of the desirable locations - of course the Bourbon Street scene, but also the wonderful opportunities outside of the Quarter. And the streetcar stops are all "at the front door". So these positive features make the worn guest rooms tolerable - just barely. My room was on the 18th floor where I had a 5 night stay. The size of the room was very good. But when the first impression upon entering is carpeting with waves in it, and slightly sticky at that, things start downhill. The windows were like waterfalls, with condensation pouring down onto the sill and then flowing down the wall onto the carpet. Perhaps this we due to the warmer rainy weather, but the large amount of mildew/mold in the window gaskets leads me to think this is common. When asking a housekeeper for towels to mop up the water, she commented that this was a frequent problem. The thermostat in the room seemed ill-suited for a humid climate and apparently uses a water-chilling process that produces either cool, wet or warm, wet air. The mattress was actually laughable with a 6 inch thick foam mattress on a sagging foundation- so low to the floor that one must stoop down to get into bed. The worst part of the mattress experience was that when sitting in the middle on the edge, the ends of the mattress actually sprang up as if to envelop me into a mattress sandwich! Please note that my body is of normal size and proportions. Why, in one of the Marriott Corp high end properties would there be such apparent neglect of the mattresses? Even Fairfield Inns type properties understand the importance of superior bedding. Looking at the comments from other reviewers, perhaps some rooms have been updated, while others have not.
In summary, as fond as I was of the staff, in the future I would likely seek another property in the same area, one where the interiors have been updated within the recent past!

Room Tip: Before booking a reservation, ask if the hotel has brought in new mattresses, new carpeting and addr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BLSRichmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsManager70130, Director of Operations at JW Marriott New Orleans, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear BLSHouston,

One behalf of the entire staff here at the JW Marriott New Orleans, I'd like to personally thank you for reviewing your five-night stay. We appreciate that you chose to stay with us, but we regret to learn of your disappointing experience. We're very troubled by the various issues you encountered. These shortcomings don't represent our hotel as a whole, and certainly don't reflect the level of quality that typifies JW Marriott properties. While it sounds as though our staff was able to salvage your stay with fantastic service, there's simply no excuse for discomfort or inconvenience. I hope that you'll give us a chance to regain your trust next time you're in New Orleans. If you need anything at all, please don't hesitate to contact me directly.

Sincerely,

Cole Wallace

Director of Operations
JW Marriott New Orleans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

Visited the New Orleans area during Mardi Gras times. Check inn was fairly quick even with the large number of people. Staff was friendly and accommodating. Beds were very comfortable and the view was amazing from the room. Disappointed in the showers, hardly any water pressure. Overall great stay, would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AHP2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, KS
Level 6 Contributor
767 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 398 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

Hubby and I came here on a business trip right after Mardi Gras. This venue Is in a fantastic location for shops, restauarnts, streetcars Bourbon St, and more. It looks like it was recently renovated. Very stylish. The staff at the front desk and the bellmen are top notch! They all went out of their way to make our stay special. We travel often and are used to polite and friendly staff, but this crew took it up a notch - they seemed to really love their jobs and interacting with their guests. Other positives included the super fast elevators, the view from our room, and the location. Negatives - I only have two. One was the hot water. They had plenty of it and the water heated up quickly. Maybe too quickly. And it was HOT - I'm talking McDonalds coffee hot. Within seconds of washing my face, the water turned to scalding. My hubby had the same experience with the shower. The second negative was the alarm that we heard three nights in a row. One night was a fire alarm which was followed by a very loud PA announcement at 3:30 in the morning. The other two nights we heard alarms that seemed to come from another floor - to faint to pinpoint but loud enough to wake us up. Overall, we had a positive experience and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank breoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsManager70130, Director of Operations at JW Marriott New Orleans, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear breoni,

Great to hear from you! We're so glad you and your husband enjoyed your time at our hotel. I'd like to personally apologize for the early morning disturbances. Though we cannot control when an alarm goes off, we do our best to resolve any related issues as quickly as possible. In regards to the hot water, I can certainly understand how that might be unpleasant. I am confident that our building engineers, after looking into the matter, will be able to effectively control the temperature in the future. We're always looking for ways to improve, so hopefully next time your experience will be 100% positive. We look forward to hosting you again soon.

Sincerely,

Cole Wallace

Director of Operations
JW Marriott New Orleans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Everyone at this hotel goes out of their way to help you have an enjoyable time. the location is in the middle of the action. you can be in the French Quarter on one side of the street or cross over Canal Street and you are in the artistic warehouse district. The service is slow in the restaurant for breakfast-it is best to stick to their buffet, get a pick-up coffee and pastry at the bar, or go out of the hotel. The rooms are clean and comfortable, but nothing fancy. There was always water and a snack in the lobby.

Room Tip: you will need to book early to be able to have a room during the two week celebration of Mardi Gras...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roamingpics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

Look no further for your place to stay. My wife an I stayed here while our friends stayed at the Windsor Court. The JW Marriott was better located for all of our adventures. We enjoyed the view of the French Quarter and all of us were impressed with the cleanliness and appointments in our room to include the mini-fridge. The beds are fantastic and we had a quiet and restful sleep. All together - well done! We will certainly stay here at the JW again (and so will our friends).

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank SlotF16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, VA
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

I checked into the hotel around 3 PM. The valet called out the names to desk before I reached the desk. Check in was smooth.

room was just the right size. The access to bathroom was odd -through a small alley type.
next to French quarter. Loved ot

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerFairfax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#75 of 164 in New Orleans
3,451 reviews
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#22 of 164 in New Orleans
1,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
#80 of 164 in New Orleans
2,256 reviews
Central Business District
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
#23 of 164 in New Orleans
2,934 reviews
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans French Quarter/Iberville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott New Orleans

Property: JW Marriott New Orleans
Address: 614 Canal St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2308 (Formerly Le Meridien Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#24 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#31 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#36 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott New Orleans
New Orleans Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing