We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location trumps service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott New Orleans

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
JW Marriott New Orleans
Ranked #51 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
105 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Location trumps service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The JW is located on Canal Street about a block down from Bourbon Street in the French Quarter. In terms of going over to the waterfront, the French Quarter, or to some of the museums, the location is excellent. We were able to walk to all of our destinations never having to take a taxi or rent a car.

The hotel itself is clean and modern. The lobby is small, but comfortable with lots of sofas and chairs for lounging. Going out to Canal Street is a bar area, Shula's steakhouse and several high-end shops. Check-in was literally a breeze. Our name was radioed into the lobby upon arrival and there was a woman waiting with our keycards who then sent us directly up to our room. It couldn't have been easier. From there, unfortunately, the service was less even.

I really liked our corner room especially the layout with the closet and bathroom situated behind the bedroom area. The shower and toilet were separated from the sink area. Overall it was a small area, but certainly functional. We are platinum members and we had requested extra towels which we never got on any of the days we were there. The toiletries were good quality when we could get them. More often than not we would get conditioner, but no body wash or shampoo. When we've stayed at other JWs, they would provide toiletries during the regular serivce and at turn-down if they were needed. The sink was also clogged up but they did come and fix that as soon as we called.

After checking out we asked to have a taxi to the airport and the bellman sent us out to the main road to get our own taxi. It was disconcerting. We ended up standing on the side of the road for about 10 minutes with hardly any traffic going by hoping for a taxi. Fortunately one came by with a really nice driver and we were scooted off to the airport. We were only somewhat surprised at the lack of service at this point as it seemed to be the hallmark of the trip. Sometimes the service was excellent; at other times, it was really lacking.

Overall I think that the location of the hotel made up for the uneven service. If we ever come down to New Orleans again, however, we might look into staying at a different hotel given the price point.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have a great layout.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Todnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsManager70130, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott New Orleans, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Todnik,

Thank you for taking the time to complete an assessment of our hotel and services at the JW Marriott New Orleans. I apologize on behalf of the entire staff for the inconsistent service that you received during your stay at our hotel. The issues related to the guest room amenities and the improper manner in which the bell stand handled your requests is extremely disappointing. I have forwarded your comments to the department leaders for immediate follow up. We pride ourselves in delivering an outstanding experience for all of our guests, especially Platinum Marriott Reward Members, such as you. There is no detail to small and I again apologize that we missed several important details during your stay. We will use your feedback to better train our team, so that the service within the hotel will exceed our location and you will consider returning to our hotel. We look forward to having that opportunity. Please contact me directly if I can be of additional assistance.

Sincerely,

Cole Wallace
Director of Operations
cole.wallace@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,078 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    948
    750
    265
    81
    34
See reviews for
317
623
69
590
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (462)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
montreal
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The hotel was perfect except for the pool, very small for the size of the hotel I suggest the Marriott on canal street instead...much more interesting if you want to have a nice pool to use.
Also the Wifi was disappointing...we had just come back from Europe and even the smallest hotel had free wifi...15$ a day is outrageous..
Other than that the staff were wonderful and the service excellent , the breakfast at the hotel was really good, some people would find it expensive but the quality of the food was so good ...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carmen514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, NC
Level Contributor
105 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Was in town for a Convention. Hotel staff was very friendly at check in, room was clean and well mantained. Beds were very comfortable. Location is a major plus as it's within easy walking distance to Bourbon St. and tons of great restaurants and activities. Was able to walk to the Convention Center in about 10 minutes. Only downside to the room is the door to the bathroom opens awkwardly and you have to get completely in before you're able to close the door. Otherwise the hotel and room were excellent.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I was lucky to bid on this hotel through Priceline and won at a great rate of $75/night – when the hotel was going for $279 - $309/night. I really try to present a balanced review when I go to hotels and this review will be short, because this property was definitely on the level. The reception from the front door to the hotel room itself was exceptional. All the hotel employees seemed to be very warm and friendly, going above the normal call of duty to make guests feel welcome. I purchased 4 rooms for 2 nights and all of our family was pleased with their rooms.

Issues during our stay: One of our rooms had a toilet that was stopped up. The hotel sent someone right up who resolved the issue in about 30-45 mins. We were hoping for doubles, but the hotel ran out of them. The management did sent up a roll away bed within 10 mins of check-in. Parking was a WHOPPING $35 night, which I later found out was cheap, because I saw hotels charging $45 a block away. We ended up using a parking garage 2 blocks away overnight that was about $17. All our rooms had a refrigerator except one – I didn’t raise it as a problem, I simply placed our goods in another room. But it would have been more convenient to have a fridge in all our rooms. The restrooms are awkwardly situated in such a way as you cannot access the toilet without stepping completely into the restroom and closing the door -- a minor inconvenience.

Other than the issued noted above, this hotel was clean, friendly and a value for the money we spent. My mother and sister-in-law couldn’t stop talking about how comfortable the beds/pillows were. Our rooms had great views of the city from the 19th floor, which added to the delight of the higher floor. Not to mention a short 2 min walk from the hotel right to the action on Bourbon St.

I’m very critical when it comes to hotels, but this one definitely had (most of) their stuff together. I’ve stayed in some 4* hotels that were not NEARLY as nice as this. In fact, just stayed in a South Beach, FL hotel that could take a note from these folks. Kudos!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MusicalTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This hotel is great for a business trip and is walking distance to go out and eat on French Quarter/Bourbon Street.

Located at Canal St and Royal St, so just across Canal St and go one block down to Bourbon St to plenty of great restaurants.

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I loved the JW Marriott New Orleans. Every single person working at this hotel from the front desk to the bell hop to housekeeping always had a smile on their face. Southern hospitality at its best. Unfortunately the lobby was under construction, so we didn't get to enjoy the lobby as much as we would have liked, but the daily spread of complimentary cookies more than made up for that! The rooms were spacious and clean. After a long work day, it was great to just melt into a comfy bed with nice crisp, clean linens and have a solid night's sleep.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ELNY575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenixville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The customer service and location are unparalleled! I originally considered this hotel to plan a business meeting and ended up staying an extra few days for pleasur because me experience was so enjoyable. The event planning group for planning the meeting made my job so much easier andtook care of all the details. The Concierge Lounge offers the best food I have encountered at any hotel and the rooms were large and comfortable. Great location with easy access to French Quarters. The charge for internet was on the expensive side, and the lobby was small, but the friendliness and helpfullness of the concierge and staff made up for it. I got a rate cheaper than the Marriott, so don't assume the luxary implied with JW means higher price. I will stay there on every future visit to New Orleans!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jennifer b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#69 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 2,985 reviews
Central Business District
The Saint Hotel, Autograph Collection
Central Business District
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
#24 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 2,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans French Quarter/Iberville
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Central Business District
Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott New Orleans

Property: JW Marriott New Orleans
Address: 614 Canal St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2308 (Formerly Le Meridien Hotel)
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#24 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#31 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#36 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your JW Marriott New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott New Orleans
New Orleans Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing