We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Really nice, right near Bourbon St. and Convention Center” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of JW Marriott New Orleans

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
JW Marriott New Orleans
Ranked #53 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, NC
Level Contributor
110 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Really nice, right near Bourbon St. and Convention Center”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

Was in town for a Convention. Hotel staff was very friendly at check in, room was clean and well mantained. Beds were very comfortable. Location is a major plus as it's within easy walking distance to Bourbon St. and tons of great restaurants and activities. Was able to walk to the Convention Center in about 10 minutes. Only downside to the room is the door to the bathroom opens awkwardly and you have to get completely in before you're able to close the door. Otherwise the hotel and room were excellent.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    974
    771
    276
    82
    41
See reviews for
325
642
70
617
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (475)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

I was lucky to bid on this hotel through Priceline and won at a great rate of $75/night – when the hotel was going for $279 - $309/night. I really try to present a balanced review when I go to hotels and this review will be short, because this property was definitely on the level. The reception from the front door to the hotel room itself was exceptional. All the hotel employees seemed to be very warm and friendly, going above the normal call of duty to make guests feel welcome. I purchased 4 rooms for 2 nights and all of our family was pleased with their rooms.

Issues during our stay: One of our rooms had a toilet that was stopped up. The hotel sent someone right up who resolved the issue in about 30-45 mins. We were hoping for doubles, but the hotel ran out of them. The management did sent up a roll away bed within 10 mins of check-in. Parking was a WHOPPING $35 night, which I later found out was cheap, because I saw hotels charging $45 a block away. We ended up using a parking garage 2 blocks away overnight that was about $17. All our rooms had a refrigerator except one – I didn’t raise it as a problem, I simply placed our goods in another room. But it would have been more convenient to have a fridge in all our rooms. The restrooms are awkwardly situated in such a way as you cannot access the toilet without stepping completely into the restroom and closing the door -- a minor inconvenience.

Other than the issued noted above, this hotel was clean, friendly and a value for the money we spent. My mother and sister-in-law couldn’t stop talking about how comfortable the beds/pillows were. Our rooms had great views of the city from the 19th floor, which added to the delight of the higher floor. Not to mention a short 2 min walk from the hotel right to the action on Bourbon St.

I’m very critical when it comes to hotels, but this one definitely had (most of) their stuff together. I’ve stayed in some 4* hotels that were not NEARLY as nice as this. In fact, just stayed in a South Beach, FL hotel that could take a note from these folks. Kudos!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MusicalTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

This hotel is great for a business trip and is walking distance to go out and eat on French Quarter/Bourbon Street.

Located at Canal St and Royal St, so just across Canal St and go one block down to Bourbon St to plenty of great restaurants.

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I loved the JW Marriott New Orleans. Every single person working at this hotel from the front desk to the bell hop to housekeeping always had a smile on their face. Southern hospitality at its best. Unfortunately the lobby was under construction, so we didn't get to enjoy the lobby as much as we would have liked, but the daily spread of complimentary cookies more than made up for that! The rooms were spacious and clean. After a long work day, it was great to just melt into a comfy bed with nice crisp, clean linens and have a solid night's sleep.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ELNY575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenixville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

The customer service and location are unparalleled! I originally considered this hotel to plan a business meeting and ended up staying an extra few days for pleasur because me experience was so enjoyable. The event planning group for planning the meeting made my job so much easier andtook care of all the details. The Concierge Lounge offers the best food I have encountered at any hotel and the rooms were large and comfortable. Great location with easy access to French Quarters. The charge for internet was on the expensive side, and the lobby was small, but the friendliness and helpfullness of the concierge and staff made up for it. I got a rate cheaper than the Marriott, so don't assume the luxary implied with JW means higher price. I will stay there on every future visit to New Orleans!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jennifer b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastham, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We only spent a single night while waiting to move into a house rental for the ensuing week, but to be honest I did not want to leave. We were immediately greeted, had our car parked and luggage moved inside. The person at the reception desk for check in was extremely pleasant and professional. The spacious room more than met our expectations. Our rooms were spotless with high quality linens. This, along with the excellent location just steps from the French Quarter and a direct easy distance from the Garden District made it a perfect stay. I'd highly recommend this hotel for your stay in New Orleans.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ricks20_59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago IL
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Front desk staff was very friendly. Great views! I thought it was the perfect location, as it was in the thick of things, but far enough from rowdy crowds. Also, this was probably THE COMFIEST bed I have EVER slept in!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sydelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#70 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,089 reviews
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter
Central Business District
The Saint Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
#22 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,317 reviews
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#13 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott New Orleans

Property: JW Marriott New Orleans
Address: 614 Canal St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2308 (Formerly Le Meridien Hotel)
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#24 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#31 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#36 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your JW Marriott New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott New Orleans
New Orleans Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing