We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay at the JW New Orleans”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
JW Marriott New Orleans
Ranked #67 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 9, 2012

I was lucky to bid on this hotel through Priceline and won at a great rate of $75/night – when the hotel was going for $279 - $309/night. I really try to present a balanced review when I go to hotels and this review will be short, because this property was definitely on the level. The reception from the front door to the hotel room itself was exceptional. All the hotel employees seemed to be very warm and friendly, going above the normal call of duty to make guests feel welcome. I purchased 4 rooms for 2 nights and all of our family was pleased with their rooms.

Issues during our stay: One of our rooms had a toilet that was stopped up. The hotel sent someone right up who resolved the issue in about 30-45 mins. We were hoping for doubles, but the hotel ran out of them. The management did sent up a roll away bed within 10 mins of check-in. Parking was a WHOPPING $35 night, which I later found out was cheap, because I saw hotels charging $45 a block away. We ended up using a parking garage 2 blocks away overnight that was about $17. All our rooms had a refrigerator except one – I didn’t raise it as a problem, I simply placed our goods in another room. But it would have been more convenient to have a fridge in all our rooms. The restrooms are awkwardly situated in such a way as you cannot access the toilet without stepping completely into the restroom and closing the door -- a minor inconvenience.

Other than the issued noted above, this hotel was clean, friendly and a value for the money we spent. My mother and sister-in-law couldn’t stop talking about how comfortable the beds/pillows were. Our rooms had great views of the city from the 19th floor, which added to the delight of the higher floor. Not to mention a short 2 min walk from the hotel right to the action on Bourbon St.

I’m very critical when it comes to hotels, but this one definitely had (most of) their stuff together. I’ve stayed in some 4* hotels that were not NEARLY as nice as this. In fact, just stayed in a South Beach, FL hotel that could take a note from these folks. Kudos!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MusicalTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,406)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,800 - 1,806 of 2,407 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2012

This hotel is great for a business trip and is walking distance to go out and eat on French Quarter/Bourbon Street.

Located at Canal St and Royal St, so just across Canal St and go one block down to Bourbon St to plenty of great restaurants.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I loved the JW Marriott New Orleans. Every single person working at this hotel from the front desk to the bell hop to housekeeping always had a smile on their face. Southern hospitality at its best. Unfortunately the lobby was under construction, so we didn't get to enjoy the lobby as much as we would have liked, but the daily spread of complimentary cookies more than made up for that! The rooms were spacious and clean. After a long work day, it was great to just melt into a comfy bed with nice crisp, clean linens and have a solid night's sleep.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ELNY575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The customer service and location are unparalleled! I originally considered this hotel to plan a business meeting and ended up staying an extra few days for pleasur because me experience was so enjoyable. The event planning group for planning the meeting made my job so much easier andtook care of all the details. The Concierge Lounge offers the best food I have encountered at any hotel and the rooms were large and comfortable. Great location with easy access to French Quarters. The charge for internet was on the expensive side, and the lobby was small, but the friendliness and helpfullness of the concierge and staff made up for it. I got a rate cheaper than the Marriott, so don't assume the luxary implied with JW means higher price. I will stay there on every future visit to New Orleans!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennifer b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We only spent a single night while waiting to move into a house rental for the ensuing week, but to be honest I did not want to leave. We were immediately greeted, had our car parked and luggage moved inside. The person at the reception desk for check in was extremely pleasant and professional. The spacious room more than met our expectations. Our rooms were spotless with high quality linens. This, along with the excellent location just steps from the French Quarter and a direct easy distance from the Garden District made it a perfect stay. I'd highly recommend this hotel for your stay in New Orleans.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ricks20_59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Front desk staff was very friendly. Great views! I thought it was the perfect location, as it was in the thick of things, but far enough from rowdy crowds. Also, this was probably THE COMFIEST bed I have EVER slept in!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sydelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

I expect the JW Marriott to be a higher level but this one just seemed like an average Marriott. Rooms were fine, decent gym, small pool area. The lobby/lower levels were under construction so there were fewer places to lounge outside of your room and the business center was closed. The staff was nice and accomodating and the warm cookies in the afternoon are a nice touch. The hotel is in a great location to hit the french quarter and steps from the bus that goes to Magazine Street. I was there for business but I imagine I would go again if the rates were great. They did have great conference food.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
Thank ti727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#74 of 166 in New Orleans
3,551 reviews
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#19 of 166 in New Orleans
1,523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
#23 of 166 in New Orleans
3,078 reviews
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#16 of 166 in New Orleans
2,615 reviews
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott New Orleans

Address: 614 Canal Street, (Driveway Entrance on 611 Common Street), New Orleans, LA 70130-2308 (Formerly Le Meridien Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#24 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#31 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#36 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $147 - $429 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott New Orleans
New Orleans Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing