We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Concierge Lounge hors d' oeuvres”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
JW Marriott New Orleans
Ranked #61 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
san diego, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent Concierge Lounge hors d' oeuvres”
Reviewed October 18, 2011

I have stayed at Marriotts all over the U.S. The quality of the evening hors d' oeuvres at JW New Orleans was superb. Typical fare at most locations is greasy, salty happy hour bar food. This location provided such superb quality entrees, and I do mean entree that they would rival any quality restaurant. Every day was a new epicurean adventure. Our lounge staff was excellent.

The hotel itself is smaller than the large Marriott convetion hotel across the street and provides a more intimate atmosphere.

The front door bellman was very friendly and helpful to all.

The rooms have been remodeled with granite counters placed over the existing furniture, making for a
slightly updated look.

The beds are comfortable with individual reading lights on the headboards.

On the greener side, the toilets have been replaced with 1.6gpf low flow models.

Room Tip: Ask for corner room. Larger than standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jefinsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,042
    824
    305
    96
    48
See reviews for
368
698
74
655
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (498)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richardson ,Tx
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2011

Very upscale hotel with prices to match but service was great and most comfortable hotel bed ever. Service was very friendly but do not waste your money for dinner at Shula food was good but wine list was outrageous an portions way to big.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank salesgirl40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2011

I am also puzzled by the negative reviews of this wonderful hotel. My wife and I just got back from an anniversary trip to New Orleans, and were dazzled by the JW Marriott. From the doorman to check-in to concierge to waitstaff and housekeeping, the service was simply impeccable. On top of that, the staff seemed to truly enjoy what they were doing - smiles and jokes all around made the trip even more fun. Add to that a great location (two blocks to Bourbon street, walking distance to the Riverwalk and French Market), great food and drinks, beautiful and spacious rooms, terrific lobby....well, not much more to say. Highly, highly, recommended - I literally cannot think of a single negative thing to say about this property.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank melbyed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2011

My family and I just returned from the JW Marriott in New Orleans. The staff was all very nice and extremely helpful. The Canal Streetcars were literally across the street, so getting around was very easy and economical. The St. Charles Streetcar was just around the corner. It's on the outskirt of the French Quarter, which for us, was perfect. Just across the street was Bourbon and Royal. So, it was close enough to get in on all the fun, yet far enough away from it that we could sleep in a quiet location.

The rooms were a decent size, very clean and very comfortable. We didn't spend much time there, but, were very happy with the accomodations. I'd definately stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kstvlagnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

My husband stayed here for 3 nights for a conference and I joined him for two additional nights to celebrate our anniversary. We had a spacious corner room which was recently updated: nice linens, large flat screen TV, very thick bathrobes and towels. The location was excellent being one block from the French Quarter and one block to the street car to the Garden District.

It is the staff which makes this hotel something more than your typical Marriott. The doorman Albert was exceptionally friendly and helpful. He greeeted us by name whenever he saw us. Isabelle the concierge not only secured a hard to come by reservation for us, but sent champagne and chocolate covered strawberries to our room for our anniversary. Our stay here was made memorable due to their efforts.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are more spacious and far from the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bensalem, PA
Level Contributor
180 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

I'm puzzled by the negative reviews because I stayed here from Oct 5th-9th and had a wonderful experience. I was on the 19th floor and it was quiet. The room was clean, spacious, and the bed was super comfortable. The staff was pleasant at all times and very welcoming. There is nothing negative to be said about the hotel itself or the rooms. The location is on Canal St, within walking distance to the major French Quarter locations, Bourbon St, and the streetcar lines. I liked the free WiFi in the lobby and there were 2 computers guests could use (in the lobby) to check email or print airline boarding passes (free). They also gave out free newspapers at the front desk along with free apples. I would recommend avoiding the gift shop as it is small and has basically nothing (except candy and clothes) for sale. There are other shops for food and soda right on Canal St. Also, the hotel restuarant (Shula's) had a rather pitiful breakfast buffet with poor service. Instead of eating here, go across the street, as there are tons of restaurants open 24 hours. Aside from the food and gift shop, everything else was FLAWLESS. Do not hesitate to stay here. I am a VERY PICKY customer and I loved it!!!!! A great location and a clean, comfy room.

Room Tip: I had a corner suite on a high floor and it was quiet and clean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank msspungen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
87 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights in Oct 2011. The hotel is very well located tithe French quarter but far enough away that it's quiet at night.

The rooms are clean and facilities food. However the whole hotel is very 1980's and is due for a refit. In particular the bathrooms are very small and although clean are a little dingy.

The Restarant and bar are fine and we may stay here again but will probably try the ritz or somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieBlazers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#70 of 162 in New Orleans
3,382 reviews
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#18 of 162 in New Orleans
1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
#84 of 162 in New Orleans
2,186 reviews
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans French Quarter/Iberville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott New Orleans

Property: JW Marriott New Orleans
Address: 614 Canal St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2308 (Formerly Le Meridien Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#24 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#31 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#36 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your JW Marriott New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott New Orleans
New Orleans Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing